We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uptown Comfort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   508 E Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28202 (Second Ward)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 25%
Ranked #23 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Uptown Comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We have just completed our fourth stay at the Hilton Garden in Uptown Charlotte. This hotel is convenient to everything in the uptown area--shopping, nightclubs, sports events, and restaurants are within walking distance. For attractions that are a little farther away, the hotel offers free shuttle service.
The hotel itself is nicely maintained. The beds are ultra-comfortable and the rooms are clean. The views of the skyline are spectacular as are the sunrises. Request a suite for the best experience--they have at least three windows.
As we were leaving, (Oct. 15), the lobby and restaurant were undergoing a renovation.
The only catch to this hotel is that, if you want a specific room or view, call the hotel itself, not the national reservation service. We made that mistake on a previous visit, but this time, we were very happy to have the room that we requested.
We will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekohlenstein, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
It was a pleasure hosting you on your return trip to Charlotte. We are pleased we were able to exceed your expectations and locate you in a suite with a view this trip. Please note that the channel in which you book your reservation has nothing to do with what floor or room you will be assigned. It truely is random. We utilize Hilton's worldwide central reservations interchangably and there is absolutely no advantage in calling the hotel direct. We did begin lobby renovations on the day you left (10/15) and should be complete around Thanksgiving. Thank you to all that have endured this inconvenience as we make exciting improvements to our lobby, restaurant & bar area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    125
    44
    11
    4
See reviews for
59
87
18
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is everything you could want from a hotel - convenient location a short walk from everything in uptown Charlotte, well-equipped room (fridge and microwave as well as the usual coffee maker), and efficient staff. When we first checked in and went to our room, our room card would not work. In less than 10 minutes, a repairman arrived at our room to let us in and dismantle and reprogram the door lock. There is also free wi-fi in the room - an all too rare feature in hotels.
My only issue was trying to do online check-in for our flight from our room and not being able to follow the instructions for printing our boarding passes. The printer is in the business centre, and while the instructions say that you can send you document there to be printed from your room, it would have been easier to just go to the business centre and use the computer there to check-in and print.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekohlenstein, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Wow, you almost hit the brand tag line verbatim which is, "Everything right where you need it." We are thrilled that your experience exceeded your expectations. Our only regret is that your ability to print efficiently from your room was delayed. We would be more than interested in helping you navigate through the brand print from room function Printer On the next time you are here. We cherish your loyalty and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We showed up 3 hours early and was allowed to check in early, we had booked a room using Hilton Honors points but was still upgraded to a room with a whirlpool. The room had a living room with a couch and chair with ottoman, kitchen area had a fridge and microwave, sink and cabinet space, although there was nothing in the cabinets, bedroom had the whirlpool and the mattress that you could adjust to your sleep preferance. You could look out the window and see the city from 2 different views. If you walk from the hotel corner the Time Warner Cable Arena is about 3 blocks to your right. We opted for the free breakfast instead of points since our room was already free. Breakfast was nice, bacon potatoes, waffles, omelets, fruit bar, muffins, bagels, it would be worth it even if you paid the 10.95. Hotel was quiet and clean. Parking was $10, you could park behind the hotel in another parking lot for $5 but then you had to walk to your room where with the $10 parking you could park in the garage, go in the hotel and right into the elevator. ATM in hotel lobby. The gentleman at the front desk was very nice, didnt get his name but was great! Coffee and tea is available all day and night in the lobby, good cookies as well. People have wrote AC was noisy, ours wasnt, it was quiet and cool, people have also complained about beds, evidently they didnt realize you could adjust them. Definetely would stay again, we were going to stay at the Hilton Center City, a couple blocks away, glad we didnt as when we where there visiting some friends there were alot of people bumming right on the hotel property, out front by the fountain a woman was begging for money and I told her nicely sorry but I didnt have any cash on me, she said, "oh theres a ATM inside" tells me this goes on alot. A man told me if I didnt give him money to eat he would die tonight, not something I would want to endure so glad I didnt stay there.

Room Tip: Corner rooms you can get different views of city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekohlenstein, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We are so glad that we were able to exceed your expectations during your stay with us and are glad you are using those hard earned Hilton HHonors points to get away. We do appreciate the kind words about the property/staff and will be sure to celebrate them as a team. We look forward to your return stay and appreciate your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have stayed here 3 times, every time we go to Charlotte to see the Carolina Panthers play... and I always forget to review it. Since we have been there 3 times and it has almost been EXACTLY the same I am going to give you the pros and cons.

Pros:
LOCATION, Location, Location- A little less than a mile away from everything, great for walking to the stadium, great for walking to several bars and attractions, directly across the street from the NASCAR hall of fame if that is more your thing...
ROOM Aesthetics- Spacious, not horribly tacky decor, and each room comes with a tiny microwave and mini-fridge which I love when I stay in a hotel. I am not sure why but I love knowing that its there in case we want it. In the bathroom they had bath and body works products which was nice.
Breakfast is really good downstairs but I found it a little pricey... I like my hotels to offer a free continental breakfast... this one offers $11.95 breakfast buffet (so this is a pro and a con)

Cons:
THE BED SUCKS! I don't know if all the rooms have beds this bad but the last 2 times we stayed, they were terrible the first time we had a suite and it was very comfortable hmmmm... I am not sure how they go about changing the mattresses or what the deal is but we slept horrible. One half of the bed was no joke like sleeping on a blanket covered board, then the other half had a dent in the middle like is was molded for a hibernating bear to sleep in... Sleep is very important to me and on vacation I want to sleep well... I have stayed in several cheaper hotels and hotel brands that are rated lower than Hilton and never have I slept in beds that bad.
PARKING FEE: They charge you $10 a night just to park in their lot... and charge you to eat their breakfast... lots of extra charges in addition to the cost to stay the night... I believe that paying to stay at the hotel should include parking... silly me.

Overall the location makes it great but we will certainly look into a different place next year that has more comfy beds...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekohlenstein, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
It was a pleasure having you back again and we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We do regret that you did not get a good night's sleep on our Garden Sleep System beds (all of our king bedded rooms & suites). Were you aware it is adjustable to your personal settings? The dial is on the side of the bed. Each side of the bed can be adjusted by air bowels for your unique preferrence. We encourage our front desk staff to tell you about the bed dial at check in and I fear your dial may have been left at a softer setting than the other side of the bed rather than both at the "nuetral" setting we like to leave them at for your arrival. Next time you stay with us, please ask about it. We would be honored for another opportunity to prove our value in every aspect of your stay. Let's continue to hope for the best for our beloved Panthers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

...and the conditioned air is horrible. Makes so much noise! All the rest is good. Price is good, the staff is kind, the breakfast is ok, but i don't think it worth 10.95 - just if your breakfast is your main meal of the day.
If you're going to Nascar Hall of Fame, this is the perfect place to be.
Few minutes walking to the heart of the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekohlenstein, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
I’m so sorry you experienced some noise with your air conditioning unit during your stay. Our maintenance staff works diligently to keep them in excellent condition and we are sorry to hear you didn’t experience that. Please consider staying with us again the next time you are in the area. We’d love to make your stay with us the best hotel experience you’ve ever had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My son and I stayed here for one night to attend a Charlotte Hounds lacrosse game. This hotel has a great location in uptown and you can easily walk to many restaurants and attractions. It was very clean and reasonably priced but nothing fancy. The staff was polite and attentive. Parking at check-in is a bit strange and it wasn't clear to me where to go but that wasn't a big deal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekohlenstein, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We do appreciate your loyalty and kind words following your stay. We look forward to your return stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smoaks
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My first time staying at a Hilton hotel and found the rooms weren't that different from lower brands. Security here is top notch you can't even get into the parking garage without a room key. The beds are the nicest and you will definitely get a good nights sleep. Bank of America is about a fifteen minute walk and after getting lost comin back found out that the club and restaurant section is also about a 15 min walk from the hotel. Overall very nice

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekohlenstein, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Well, welcome to the Hilton Family! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience on our beds. Our Garden Sleep System beds allow each sleeper to adjust the firmness of their mattress with a dial located near the head of the bed which will inflate/deflate air bowels located within the mattress. We do take the security of our property very seriously, the gated parking deck being our first line of defense. We look forward to your return trip because when you come back, you will be a regular!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown

Address: 508 E Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#20 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#22 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown hotel is in the major North Carolina banking and financial district close to: The Charlotte Convention Center, Blumenthal Performing Arts Center, Bank of America Stadium, Over Street Mall and the new Charlotte Bobcat Arena are all just blocks away. The uptown area is home to many fine restaurants, museums and shopping malls. Charlotte Douglas International Airport is only 9 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown Hotel Charlotte
Hilton Charlotte
Charlotte Hilton Garden Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.