We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   508 E Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28202 (Second Ward)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 25%
Ranked #21 of 170 hotels in Charlotte
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This property is always consistent. I have stayed here over a 7 year time period and they continue to provide excellant service. The cooks are terrific and breakfast is always cooked to order. Shuttle service is free to local areas in the city and the hotel is located in a great location to enjoy town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekohlenstein, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
We are truly grateful for the kind words. Thank you for choosing us during your visits to Charlotte, we do appreciate your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    86
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
40
54
14
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Two things would give this hotel an excellent rating. 1: Front desk 2: Parking The front desk person (a young man) was nice enough, friendly, chatty, but not extremely thorough. As a HH Gold Member, you can opt for extra points or free breakfast. After a long day of working, didn't think about getting the breakfast coupon and had to go back down after settling in to ask about it. He had automatically given me the points instead of offering breakfast. Small detail I know. The parking is something they can't really do anything about. It is in a deck that is connected to both hotels-Hampton and Hilton Garden Inn. It has a very closed in feeling and just seems a little creepy coming back in at night. There is a sign when you enter the deck that offers Valet Parking but I never saw an attendant. Everything else about this hotel is excellent. Rooms are nice, very clean, attractive. Beds are extremely comfortable. I probably would not walk uptown by myself at night from here, but would with friends. It is only a few blocks away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekohlenstein, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We do appreciate all the kind words and will make sure to celebrate them as a team. We do regret however that we did not have better visability at our valet podium which I am sure would have made you a little more comfortable. We just started offering a valet parking option less than 30 days ago and are still working out the bugs. You are completely correct that our guest service agent should have clarified your HHonors 'My Way' preference so that you did not have to return to the desk post check in. We will work to improve. Thanks again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at the Uptown HGI and from checkin to the quality of the room it was amazing. They offer free shuttle downtown so we didn't need a car. Cab from the airport was $29 each way. Downtown has lots of restaurant choices, some I noticed closed by 7pm or so but the upscale ones we ate at were open late. Beds were very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning had a nice selection and a reasonable price if you had to pay for it. I would stay at this location again and recommend it to others. Leroy at the front desk in the evening was a true joy !!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have some nice skyline views at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate the opportunity to make your experience memorable and anticipate your return. I think there may be some confusion as we do not have an employee named Leroy but I sure am glad he was here to provided you with the southern hospitality we pride ourselves in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here for one night while passing through Charlotte. The hotel was in a convenient location. Staff was very friendly, room was clean and quiet. Breakfast in the morning was excellent. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
It was a pleasure hosting you as you passed through and we hope you will return again when you have more time to stick around awhile. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunn, North Carolina
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights while attending Kenny Chesney concert at Bank of America Stadium. Just a few blocks to walk over. This hotel is next door to the Nascar hall of fame and Charlotte Convention center. We stayed on the 7th floor and had a nice view of the beautiful Queen city! Parking is available for $10 a night in the parking deck or you can park behind the hotel for $5.00 a day. Plenty of parking available behind hotel during weekend, however lot filled quickly on monday morning. Rooms were clean and and beds comfy. Bath & Body works and Neutrogena products in bathroom. Small indoor pool, Free internet access. Staff was very friendly. There is a shuttle available for use within a few miles radius of hotel. Southpark mall is just a few miles from hotel for those wanting to splurge a little while in town. Lots of great stores!! We will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the parking deck so you will have a view. request city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
We are excited to hear you had such a great experience during your time in Charlotte. The concert was the first of it's kind at Bank of America Stadium in at least 10 years and it was a blockbuster! We hope you do not wait another 10 years to come back and visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights while attending a conference across the street at the conference center. Very comfortable, clean rooms with microwave and refrige. Bath and Body Works, Neutrogena toiletries. Business center well equipped with office essenials, printers and internet access at no extra cost. We didn't have time to use the pool/whirlpool, was VERY small, just walked by, but appeared clean. Hot, made to order, breakfast buffett $11.85 was very good! Staff very attentive to our needs. Shuttle driver will drop and pick you up anywhere within a 3 mile radius.
Found a side door to the conference center, just across from the side fire exit door at the hotel, take steps or elevator once across the street up right outside of the Crowne Ballroom in the conference center, finally figured that one out 2 days before we were leaving. (Looks like you are going into the Nascar Hall of Fame), but there are small letters at the top of the enterance that indicated it's the conference center. May help out and save a few steps for you conference goers!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
I do regret that I have broken my streak and not responded specificly to each of the last few responses. We are humbled at the recent frequency of reviews this month and the positive feedback of the service/product we provide has been overwhelming. This review in particular could be used on our brochures! I could not have said it better. I would like to note that our complimentary shuttle will go MOST places within a 3 mile radius. I an effort to provide this service consistantly to all of our guests, we have identified a few locations within this radius that make it difficult to navigate without delay. We sincerely appreciate all of the recent responses and this one is the jewel in our crown. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed for only one night for a concert, and for the short time we were there it was a great stay. Front desk was super busy when we arrived but were still courteous and efficient. The room itself was super clean and the bed was very comfy! The room also had a microwave and a small fridge which was nice. We did use the hotel shuttle, the driver was knowledgable and friendly and prompt! The breakfast the next day was a small buffet and cooked to order eggs, omelets, pancakes - very good! The hotel is in a nice, safe location and I would not hesitate to book here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown

Address: 508 E Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#18 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#24 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown hotel is in the major North Carolina banking and financial district close to: The Charlotte Convention Center, Blumenthal Performing Arts Center, Bank of America Stadium, Over Street Mall and the new Charlotte Bobcat Arena are all just blocks away. The uptown area is home to many fine restaurants, museums and shopping malls. Charlotte Douglas International Airport is only 9 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown Hotel Charlotte
Hilton Charlotte
Charlotte Hilton Garden Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.