We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel right in the center of downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Charlotte Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Charlotte Hotel to your Saves list
Omni Charlotte Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   132 East Trade Street, Charlotte, NC 28280 (Second Ward)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking!
Ranked #44 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hotel right in the center of downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

If you enjoy convenience, this is the hotel for you. One of the first things that really impressed me about this hotel was the communication and check-in process. I made this reservation about two weeks in advance. About a week prior to my arrival, I received an email from the hotel concierge offering assistance in making any arrangements I needed. A couple of days prior to arriving, I received an email allowing me to check-in online. This was great because upon arrival, all I had to do was pick up my room key which was already placed in an envelope by the desk. The hotel itself was very clean. The room was very comfortable with plenty of lighting, seating, and a nice bathroom. The hotel offers room service and has a nice restaurant in the lobby area as well as a bar. The gym has plenty to offer as well. Our server at the Trade Restaurant was most helpful. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet which had cold and hot foods and omelets made to order. The best part about the hotel is that is has it's own walkway from the hotel to the epicentre where most of the night activity is. The hotel was very quiet and after a fun night on the town, we were able to get some much needed rest.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    300
    154
    74
    39
See reviews for
123
231
55
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

From checking in to checking out staff was very friendly and courteous. The hotel is in the middle of everything we wanted to do so there was no need to drive. Parking is worth it if you get a package deal or just pay for it. It all comes out in the wash. Reservations were taken care of and instructions with a map was informative. We were given a room with a wonderful view...however it was right by the elevator...I should have known better, it was noisy! We took the smaller suite and this was all we need for space and sitting area. Clean and comfy.

Room Tip: Saturday nights are busy. Make restaurant reservations as soon as you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We are glad you had a great stay at the Omni Charlotte and found our location to be convenient for exploring the Queen City. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

While battling a snow storm to get home, we were delayed in Charlotte for a night, we stayed here. The location was awesome. Right in downtown, we ate at a pizza joint close by that was super good. Such a fun town. The hotel was amazing. The front desk girls were very nice and made small talk. My friend had made the reservations for us and told the desk that we were traveling home from our honeymoon. We were greeted with chocolate covered strawberries and champagne. Totally unexpected. Would love to come back again soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We are delighted that we could provide you with a great stay as you avoid the complications of a snow storm. Thank you for sharing all of your complimentary words and we look forward to a future opportunity to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Had problems booking as their website had a site security issue so i was reluctant to give my credit card details. Visited the site again to book and their rates had increased. I e-mailed to ask them to fix the security issue and honor the original rate but they denied any issue (which was mysteriously fixed a few days later) and refused to honor the lower rate. I asked them to reconsider and although they said they would get back to me, they did not. Once the site security issue had been fixed I booked and stayed 3 nights. Stayed in a Club room and was very disappointed with the quality. The room was tired and in real need of a refurb. I spent 1 night in an executive room at the Holiday Inn round the corner and the Holiday Inn room was much better quality. Major plus for the Omni is its operational staff (clearly not the customer service team who have still not responded). The people were great and very helpful and I would almost go back just for that reason.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Please accept our apologies that you did not receive a response to your reservation concerns. We will be sure to follow up with our customer service team to see what may have happened. We are glad that the service you received on property was exceptional and we hope that we will have a future opportunity to provide you with a great experience from start to finish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Easy check in after a long day of traveling. Wanted a glass of wine and room service but the limited menu offered nothing I could or wanted to eat. Upon request they brought me a sa
Mon Caesar. I specifically stated I was gluten intolerant and the salad was laden with croutons. Did I want to wait another half hour at 11:00 p.m. For a replacemment? No. I opened the mini bar and wanted to open a bottle of wine but as a matter of policy they do not supply cork screwsin the room and you have to call room service gain for that. No thank you. Oh and the worst, soggiest French fries ever were $8!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Please accept our apologies for your experience with dining in your room. We understand the importance of recognizing food sensitivities and will review this with our in room dining team. If you do return, please ask about our Gluten Free dishes. We have several different delicious options. We do appreciate your valuable feedback and hope that we will have a future opportunity to provide you with the great experience that you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Pros: Very good service, helpful staff, clean, large and comfortable room. Easy parking in garage under hotel, and an easy walk to everything downtown. Very convenient location.
Cons: Room was a little musty smelling and a little dated (not bad, just not brand-spanking-new).

I got a very good deal on the room through an online discount site (the one with Wm. Shatner) so overall it was a great deal, especially compared to other hotels downtown, and the non-discount Omni rates, which are quite expensive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We appreciate your review of the Omni Charlotte and are glad that overall you had a great stay. If you return to Charlotte, we hope you will once again consider us for your accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Agree with some that rooms are a bit dated and the bar is oddly located (exercise room also not up to much). However it is well priced, well located and completely comfortable.

As a review a few down says the Omni group in general have really cracked the issue of service. I am also a preferred guest (just join up) - and they treat you incredibly well (as I suspect they do all guests.

By the way - never been to Charlotte before - seemed a cool, clean city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We are glad you had a good stay at our hotel and in our city. Thank you for your compliments of our service and we hope to have you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Charlotte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Charlotte Hotel

Address: 132 East Trade Street, Charlotte, NC 28280
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#20 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#28 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#32 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Charlotte Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Uptown Charlotte, this luxury hotel puts you just steps from the Queen City's most popular attractions. Offering an ideal location, superior service, and an inviting atmosphere, this hotel is the perfect destination for exploring Charlotte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Omni Charlotte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Charlotte
Omni Charlotte
Charlotte Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Charlotte Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.