We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for convention stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   530 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28202 (Second Ward)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 15%
Ranked #15 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good for convention stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Just came back from a 4-night stay,attending an event at the Convention Center. The Convention Center is a 2-block walk from the hotel. I picked this hotel because it appeared to be the least expensive one that was recommended by the convention organizers. It was a good,solid choice. The room looked virtually new and bedding was first quality. Gym was small but equipment was in top shape. Free breakfast was somewhat minimal but consistent with what one would expect at a chain hotel of its class. The front desk staff was particularly cheerful and helpful...or maybe everyone in North Carolina is like that! Only negative is that there is no post-breakfast dining on premises and you have to walk a little distance to find a bunch of reasonable restaurant choices. If you don't mind that, you'll find this hotel to be an excellent place to stay for your convention hotel needs.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    116
    30
    10
    8
See reviews for
60
89
17
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

guests on my floor partied until 4:00 am on a Sunday night. I stayed at this hotel because I had surgery scheduled at a hospital near the hotel. Did not sleep at all because of the noise from the other guests on the floor that were having a big party.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalzell, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed this hotel. It smelled great through the entire hotel (From the lobby to our room). Our room was very clean. I am definitly a person who looks throughly in a room before I even put my stuff down. They did a very good job at cleaning. Bed was comfortable and very clean (no stains or hair). Shuttle took us to breakfast and bought us back and the driver was very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This trip was for business in my family unfortunately. However, my stay was awesome and I would recommend anyone to stay here and relax for a weekend or a day. Please feel free to visit this hotel at anytime.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I have utilized this hotel over the past 4 years when I travel to the City of Charlotte for business. The price of rooms has increased by about 50% since I first traveled there. The hotel is always clean and the rooms are in great shape; the facility is centrally located to businesses in uptown with several restaurants within walking distance.

Breakfast is pretty good, but the wireless access is very weak, the workout room is rather limited, parking is costly and there is no airport shuttle (only a shuttle within 3 miles radius that needs advanced scheduling).

Yes, I would still stay there, but this facility has dropped from being my go to hotel and is now is my stand by while I shop for better alternative

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Downtown Charlotte is not a typical downtown area. There are no specialty shops in sight. Mostly hotels, financial district and restaurants. The Hampton Inn is in walking distance to all of the sights and it does offer a free shuttle if you don't want to walk. Also handicap accessible. The hotel has some age on her but the rooms were well maintained, clean and safe. They offer a nice free breakfast but have limited seating area. Only two elevators for a hotel of this size. There is complimentary free parking, free popcorn, and cookies. What I really enjoyed was their bed linen. Knowing that the duvet had been washed gave me peace of mind. The towels could stand to be a little thicker but I figured with wear and tear the towels would lose their thickness. My suggestion to all hotels, consider replacing the shower heads in the bathrooms with hand-held shower heads. I detest not being able to aim the water flow where I want it to go.
Staff were very friendly and personable. Would definitely go back.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Ah! Have you ever journeyed on a long trip only to find that your hotel stay was more like a nightmarish, loud convention with the desk clerk merely apologizing for the noise? Not so here at the Hampton Inn in Charlotte where we traveled for a Christmas get-a-way.

Staff was courteous, friendly and helpful. The Hampton Inn was beautifully decorated with festive ornaments, ribbons and a stunning tree. The room and bathroom were sparkling clean with a clean and comfortable mattress. The free Continental breakfast is very convenient and meticulously prepared.

Obviously, the management as well as all the employees here have a sense of pride that reaches far beyond their hourly pay rate. I can only hope the hotel recognizes this type of outstanding service and rewards appropriately.

Room Tip: We always ask to be placed away from sporting event and/or family reunion patrons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown

Address: 530 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#11 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lord Cornwallis called Charlotte a "hornet's nest" in 1780—we took that as a compliment and today remain a town full of activity. Today, the area around the Hampton Inn® hotel in Charlotte-Uptown is a magnet for business and innovative thinking. Yet the Queen City also hosts amazing restaurants, museums, sports and shopping. From golf to great art, you'll find it all just minutes from our hotel in Charlotte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.