We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two stays within 30 days we liked it so much!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   530 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28202 (Second Ward)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 15%
Ranked #16 of 170 hotels in Charlotte
Northbrook, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Two stays within 30 days we liked it so much!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The rooms are great, very friendly and helpful staff and a great breakfast and manager's evening meal on Tuesday/Wednesday - it easily works as dinner! We liked our stay so much in July we came back in September. The shuttle is a huge plus - can go anywhere within three miles which worked for both of our business trips. Excellent value!

Room Tip: ask for the upgrade - you often get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    102
    22
    10
    8
See reviews for
51
86
16
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The front desk personnel were the most helpful and pleasant of any I have dealt with in many years of staying in hotels. I have tried hard to find a fault with this hotel and its personnel but have failed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Makes you wonder when reviews run from one to five stars doesn't it. We found the hotel to be clean, the staff courteous, the complimentary breakfast good and the value exceptional. The hotel's location, considering what we were interested in seeing, was spot on. It was pretty much what I expected and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Sorry, but I have nothing to add.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Dead roach in the bathroom, large wad of hair in the shower curtain rings. Not offered complete refund, couldn't stay anywhere else, as the town was completely booked; believe me I looked and called around.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew J, Manager at Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Amy W,

I apologize for the unsatisfactory cleaning performed on your room prior to your arrival at the Hampton Inn Charlotte Uptown. Cleanliness is an important factor when it comes to the overall experience that our guests have at our property and it is apparent that your room was not cleaned to your standards nor our own. That is why we offer a 100% Satisfaction Guarantee that was granted for you as soon as you informed us of this issue. I am sorry to hear that the 100% refund of the first night, upgrade to our king whirlpool suite, and 50% discount for your additional night left you completely unsatisfied with your stay. I take full responsibility for customer service failure and hope this will not deter you from staying with the Hilton family of hotels in the future.

Sincerely,

Andrew Joyce
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Good location, easy access to major roads, great services provided at hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful. Well worth it. The only thing I didn't like was this survey. I shouldn't have to use 200 characters if I don't want to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Of all the hamptons ive stayed in, this was the worst. Facility seemed outdated. The rooms however were very clean but had an awkward smell. Parking ran out of space and they were "all out" of military rate rooms :/

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed for only one night during the Labor Day weekend. It was a really nice place to stay especially if you want to visit the NASCAR Hall of Fame. It was just across the street, about a 2 minute walk.

Our room was very clean and roomy. We did not have a fridge or microwave in our room. One thing I wasn’t crazy about was the ice bucket in the bathroom; I’m a germ-a-phob when it comes to things like that…..we put it out in the bedroom during our stay.

Sheryl at the front desk was awesome; she was very friendly and very helpful. We were heading out to dinner and told her, as we were passing her, that we were off to Rock Bottoms. She asked if we wanted the shuttle and also gave us coupons to eat there. We took the free shuttle there and walked back so we could check out the city. It was about a mile walk….we felt very safe in the area. There were lots of restaurants to choose from. Just an FYI Rock Bottoms was really good, too!

Breakfast was free and pretty good. Some examples would be oatmeal, omelets, do-it-yourself waffles, sausage, muffins, bagels, etc.

Parking was $10 if you self-parked and $15 if you valet parked. If you are self-parking, there is a place to park, for check in or the attendants outside will tell where to park while you check in. You will need your key card to open the gate to parking after that. The parking garage had plenty of parking. We also thought it was very safe seeing we had lots of things in our car because this place was a stop-over on our way to Georgia. Nothing was touched in our car the next day.

All the staff we encountered during our stay from the cleaning people to staff riding the elevator with us, were all so friendly. We really enjoyed our stay here, even if it was for only one day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown

Address: 530 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#14 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#16 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lord Cornwallis called Charlotte a "hornet's nest" in 1780—we took that as a compliment and today remain a town full of activity. Today, the area around the Hampton Inn® hotel in Charlotte-Uptown is a magnet for business and innovative thinking. Yet the Queen City also hosts amazing restaurants, museums, sports and shopping. From golf to great art, you'll find it all just minutes from our hotel in Charlotte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.