We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Night's Sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   530 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28202 (Second Ward)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 15%
Ranked #13 of 168 hotels in Charlotte
Robbins, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Night's Sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Was in Charlotte for a student conference and had to use The Hampton-Uptown because the host hotel was full. Wonderful choice! Check in was less than five minutes and check out took less than that. Room was clean, comfortable and right next to the garage, but you couldn't hear anything from the cars. It was a little noisy on Saturday morning, the Thunder Road marathon ended right at the front door so the crowd cheering and announcer got a little loud. You do have to walk about six blocks to find a restaurant. NASCAR Hall of Fame and Convention Center is within three blocks of the hotel.

Room Tip: Fourth and fifth floor rooms have direct access to the parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    98
    19
    8
    8
See reviews for
47
76
14
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, NM
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I attended a conference in Charlotte recently and stayed at the Hampton Inn. Located right next door to the NASCAR museum, it's definitely within walking distance of almost everything you want to see in the center of town. In fact, I rode the Sprinter bus in from the airport and walked the six blocks to my hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff, and I loved the view!

Room Tip: The higher up you stay, the better your view. My room faced east, which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mc Calla, Alabama
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel appears to be an older property but very well maintained. Very clean & comfortable but nothing extraordinary. This property is very convenient to the Nascar Hall of Fame probably about 1 block away. There weren't any restaurants convenient enough to walk to & we couldn't find any place to park for the ones we found by driving. Be aware that you have to check in to the hotel & get your key card to be able to access the parking garage to park. There is a charge for parking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A friend and I were recently attending a women's conference in Charlotte, NC. We chose to stay at the Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown, as we have stayed there before for the same conference, several times over the past few years.

Never have I experienced any problems whatsoever with this hotel. The customer service there is above and beyond. If there is anything you need that they don't have, they will do their very best to get it for you. If there is an issue with your accommodations, they will correct it. Their customer service is among the very best I have ever experienced, and this is an area that is very important to me personally.

The accomodations at this hotel are first class. Clean, fresh rooms, all the comforts you require, and a very nice breakfast in the a.m. They always have cookies and coffee available in the main lobby. The hotel is coveniently located, close to Time Warner Arena, as well as the Nascar Hall of Fame, and the downtown (Uptown?) area in general.

My friend and I had different times when we had to be at the Time Warner Arena that weekend. So we needed transportation at different times, different places. No worries with this hotel! I was able to park my car at the hotel, and come and go as I pleased. My friend was able to take their shuttle whenever and wherever she needed to be. She was treated with the utmost courtesy, and the shuttle was always prompt, going and coming.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough! I will certainly be enjoying their hospitality in the future. While it is a bit more pricy than many hotel chains, it is a blessing to know that you will receive the greatest bang for your buck, along with many smiles and 'Hello's', at the Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown.

Room Tip: Different rooms have different amenities. Simply let the booking staff know what you need, require...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed there 2 nights while in NC and chose this Hampton based upon glowing reviews from TA readers. We were not disappointed! The hotel has a location next door to a Hilton Garden Inn and share a common parking garage. It costs around $15.00 to park in it...UNLESS...you self park in which case it is FREE. Unlimited in and out privileges too! Good tip if you want to avoid the parking fees. The garage is connected to the hotel on the 4th floor, so use your room key, open the door and there is the elevator which whisks you to your floor...could not be easier!
Getting to the city center (downtown) is about a 10 minute pleasant walk through park-like settings, safe and well lit at night. The first night we used their free shuttle service but after that, chose to walk everywhere and didn't take the car out but one time, to visit Southpark with a giant shopping mall and a very good bunch of restaurants. The city center is amazingly clean and pleasant and a great place to wander around, day or night.
The Hampton's breakfasts were so pleasant...every one had a smile and a greeting for us and it was not forced. The breakfast itself was above average and the room it was served in was sunny and so comfortable, especially the small little nook next to the windows where the sun came in every morning and we could have stayed there all day. Free newspapers, TV tuned to other than FOX, what more could one wish for.
Of course, there is always something that a guest could nit-pik on and for us, there was one desk clerk that was a little surley and unhelpful, you know the type. Otherwise it was all great. I Recommend you stay there for sure.

Room Tip: Upper floors offer the (duh) best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Great nights stay!!! We took our daughter to see the Kellogg's Tour of Gymnast Champions. I chose this hotel based on reviews here & location to The Time Warner Arena. The shuttle took us to the arena & one call they picked us up when it was over. Very fast & efficient.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottville Nc
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

This was perfect location for fashion focus weekend , very friendly staff and acted quickly when i was wakened up @3am due to loud guest in next room security was there within a minute after about 5-10 min everything was good just trying to go back to sleep was the thing... :)
Breakfast was great. I will be back! Thanks Hampton, the beds are always the best.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown Hotel
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown Hotel Charlotte
Hampton Inn Charlotte Uptown
Hampton Inn Charlotte
Charlotte Hampton Inn
Address: 530 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#14 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lord Cornwallis called Charlotte a "hornet's nest" in 1780—we took that as a compliment and today remain a town full of activity. Today, the area around the Hampton Inn® hotel in Charlotte-Uptown is a magnet for business and innovative thinking. Yet the Queen City also hosts amazing restaurants, museums, sports and shopping. From golf to great art, you'll find it all just minutes from our hotel in Charlotte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.