We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   530 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28202 (Second Ward)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 15%
Ranked #14 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Albuquerque, NM
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I attended a conference in Charlotte recently and stayed at the Hampton Inn. Located right next door to the NASCAR museum, it's definitely within walking distance of almost everything you want to see in the center of town. In fact, I rode the Sprinter bus in from the airport and walked the six blocks to my hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff, and I loved the view!

Room Tip: The higher up you stay, the better your view. My room faced east, which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    114
    29
    10
    8
See reviews for
60
88
16
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bessemer, Alabama
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel appears to be an older property but very well maintained. Very clean & comfortable but nothing extraordinary. This property is very convenient to the Nascar Hall of Fame probably about 1 block away. There weren't any restaurants convenient enough to walk to & we couldn't find any place to park for the ones we found by driving. Be aware that you have to check in to the hotel & get your key card to be able to access the parking garage to park. There is a charge for parking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A friend and I were recently attending a women's conference in Charlotte, NC. We chose to stay at the Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown, as we have stayed there before for the same conference, several times over the past few years.

Never have I experienced any problems whatsoever with this hotel. The customer service there is above and beyond. If there is anything you need that they don't have, they will do their very best to get it for you. If there is an issue with your accommodations, they will correct it. Their customer service is among the very best I have ever experienced, and this is an area that is very important to me personally.

The accomodations at this hotel are first class. Clean, fresh rooms, all the comforts you require, and a very nice breakfast in the a.m. They always have cookies and coffee available in the main lobby. The hotel is coveniently located, close to Time Warner Arena, as well as the Nascar Hall of Fame, and the downtown (Uptown?) area in general.

My friend and I had different times when we had to be at the Time Warner Arena that weekend. So we needed transportation at different times, different places. No worries with this hotel! I was able to park my car at the hotel, and come and go as I pleased. My friend was able to take their shuttle whenever and wherever she needed to be. She was treated with the utmost courtesy, and the shuttle was always prompt, going and coming.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough! I will certainly be enjoying their hospitality in the future. While it is a bit more pricy than many hotel chains, it is a blessing to know that you will receive the greatest bang for your buck, along with many smiles and 'Hello's', at the Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown.

Room Tip: Different rooms have different amenities. Simply let the booking staff know what you need, require...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed there 2 nights while in NC and chose this Hampton based upon glowing reviews from TA readers. We were not disappointed! The hotel has a location next door to a Hilton Garden Inn and share a common parking garage. It costs around $15.00 to park in it...UNLESS...you self park in which case it is FREE. Unlimited in and out privileges too! Good tip if you want to avoid the parking fees. The garage is connected to the hotel on the 4th floor, so use your room key, open the door and there is the elevator which whisks you to your floor...could not be easier!
Getting to the city center (downtown) is about a 10 minute pleasant walk through park-like settings, safe and well lit at night. The first night we used their free shuttle service but after that, chose to walk everywhere and didn't take the car out but one time, to visit Southpark with a giant shopping mall and a very good bunch of restaurants. The city center is amazingly clean and pleasant and a great place to wander around, day or night.
The Hampton's breakfasts were so pleasant...every one had a smile and a greeting for us and it was not forced. The breakfast itself was above average and the room it was served in was sunny and so comfortable, especially the small little nook next to the windows where the sun came in every morning and we could have stayed there all day. Free newspapers, TV tuned to other than FOX, what more could one wish for.
Of course, there is always something that a guest could nit-pik on and for us, there was one desk clerk that was a little surley and unhelpful, you know the type. Otherwise it was all great. I Recommend you stay there for sure.

Room Tip: Upper floors offer the (duh) best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Great nights stay!!! We took our daughter to see the Kellogg's Tour of Gymnast Champions. I chose this hotel based on reviews here & location to The Time Warner Arena. The shuttle took us to the arena & one call they picked us up when it was over. Very fast & efficient.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottville Nc
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

This was perfect location for fashion focus weekend , very friendly staff and acted quickly when i was wakened up @3am due to loud guest in next room security was there within a minute after about 5-10 min everything was good just trying to go back to sleep was the thing... :)
Breakfast was great. I will be back! Thanks Hampton, the beds are always the best.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I can't say enough about the Hampton, I have stayed here multiple times over the past few months and have never had a single complaint. The hotel staff are always very courteous and welcoming. It starts as soon as you pull in the parking lot, greeted every time with a great smile and wave from the valet guys. Then when you go inside, I am almost always greeted on a first name basis by almost the entire hotel staff.

The rooms are all in great shape and the hotel is very modern. I have stayed in multiple double queen rooms, king rooms, king suites, and king suites with jacuzzi tub in the room. Point being that I have never stayed in the same room twice, every room was great. The beds and linens are some of the most comfortable beds I have EVER slept in. I never want to wake up!

The hotel is very conveniently located, it is within walking distance of downtown, but if its rainy or you don't feel like walking just hop a ride on the courtesy shuttle. They will drop you off and pick you up, usually within five minutes of calling. The shuttle drivers are always very personable and normally provide some great entertainment and jokes.

The hotel offers a free hot breakfast in the morning and it is great! They have a large selection and something for everyone, it's not your typical boiled eggs and bread only.

As you can tell I am very pleased with the hotel and service. I would recommend it to my closest family and friends!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown

Address: 530 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#11 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#16 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lord Cornwallis called Charlotte a "hornet's nest" in 1780—we took that as a compliment and today remain a town full of activity. Today, the area around the Hampton Inn® hotel in Charlotte-Uptown is a magnet for business and innovative thinking. Yet the Queen City also hosts amazing restaurants, museums, sports and shopping. From golf to great art, you'll find it all just minutes from our hotel in Charlotte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.