We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Known Quantity” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   530 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28202 (Second Ward)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 15%
Ranked #21 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Buffalo, NY
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A Known Quantity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Hampton Inn always meets a certain standard, regardless of location. The beds are comfortable, the rooms clean, the breakfast has good choices - both healthy and not. We were there for 5 days in November - part of the time with family. We found the location to be fine and the hotel staff very accommodating. We liked the free parking and proximity to downtown Charlotte, which is a good destination.

Room Tip: If you are in a connecting room and strangers are on the other side, you may have noisy neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    127
    33
    14
    9
See reviews for
70
100
18
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

The hotel has a convenient location in Uptown, right next to the Nascar Hall of Fame and 5 minutes' walk from the convention centre. There are many restaurants, museums and attractions within walking distance, but there are few shops in Charlotte city centre. To get to the hotel from the airport, take the Sprinter bus ($2.40) and then the hotel is a 10 minutes' walk from the central bus station.

As I arrived at the hotel at 7.30 am, they kindly stored my luggage whilst I went to a conference, before checking-in later in the afternoon. I stayed for four nights. On the first day, the hotel offered a complimentary dinner (three courses), completely free of charge. That was my first pleasant surprise.

The second pleasant surprise was that guests could make themselves tea and coffee in the dining room at any time, also free of charge.

My room was large and nicely decorated with a large window, and being on the 11th floor facing the street I had a great view of Uptown and the government district. The room was furnished with a large comfortable bed with clean linen, a desk and chair, an armchair with foot stool, a large flat screen TV with many channels, tea and coffee maker (replenished well daily), iron and ironing board. The bathroom was large with a good shower. Soap, shampoo, conditioner and hand creme was provided and regularly replenished. The heating/air conditioning was effective and individually controlled.

Each morning, the hotel provides a complimentary breakfast - not common in Charlotte - which was very good. There was a choice of cereals, breads and pastries, waffles, eggs, sausages, bacon, fresh fruit - with the main hot dishes different every day. This was another pleasant surprise, although the dining room could get full at peak times (the hotel was completely full whilst I was there).

The hotel has a small business centre, where you can do printing etc. Also, you can use the computer free of charge (another pleasant surprise), which I was grateful for as I was travelling light, without my laptop (and there is no Internet cafe in Charlotte if you don't bring your own computer). The Internet was fast and reliable during the day, but it was very slow when I tried to use it one evening.

During my four night stay, EVERY time I entered or left the hotel I was greeted by the reception staff. If I did not look rushed they made conversation and asked if everything was okay. Another pleasant surprise, although by nature I would prefer to move about unnoticed.

In the UK, hotels with the word "Inn" are usually pretty average, but this Inn was excellent and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: High floor facing the street if you want a good view of Uptown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollsopple, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

In town for a conference at the convention center, the location was great. I was upgraded to a nicer room, had a DVD player, and a very nice staff. The breakfast was the typical Hampton fare, and i always enjoy and appreciate it. Unfortunately, there were a few things that made my stay just average. The first three nights of my four night stay there were problems with the internet. I started trying around 9pm and wouldnt be connected until 11 or 11:30pm. Because i was in town on business, that was EXTREMELY inconvenienct, not to mention annoying because i couldnt access my email and network files. When i called the front desk, they implied it was my computer on 2 occassions (they didn't even suggest using the ethernet cable, which i had tried and it was not working either.) On the third call, someone finally reset the router and things were fine after that. Another inconvenience was the unpredictability of housekeeping. The first day, housekeeping showed up around 3:30pm, while i was already back in the room. another morning, they knocked on my door at 8:30AM to service my room. it would have been nice to have a little consistency to plan accordingly. Last, i was staying on a conference rate, but after reviewing my folio they charged me full price for 3 nights and only gave me a reduced rate for one night. I had to call and have this changed. Overall, the hotel was comfortable and clean, but i could have done without the aggrevations.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

I stayed here because it was a good deal for a hotel 2 blocks from the convention center, where I was attending a conference. Free wireless internet and budget-style breakfast added to the attraction. The rooms are comfortable but you shouldn't expect a spacious lobby or luxurious furnishings.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

This is not an old hotel, but you would never know that. One if the most worn- down dirty Hampton Inns that we have ever stayed at. We are local to Charlotte, but stayed here because my husband was running in a race that started and finished outside the hotel, so we stayed here for the convenience. I wouldn't recommend it to friends or family coming in to visit.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We were in Charlotte to go to the Nascar Hall of Fame and this hotel was a great choice for us.it is walking distance to Hall. The hotel has a friendly staff, great rooms and breakfast was very good too. I would definently stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Great hotel close to downtown with very friendly staff, comfortable rooms and free parking. Unlike most Hampton Inns, you can even get room service from the restaurant in the adjoining Hilton Garden Inn. If you like to run, check out the Little Sugar Creek Greenway which is not far from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown

Address: 530 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#15 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#25 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lord Cornwallis called Charlotte a "hornet's nest" in 1780—we took that as a compliment and today remain a town full of activity. Today, the area around the Hampton Inn® hotel in Charlotte-Uptown is a magnet for business and innovative thinking. Yet the Queen City also hosts amazing restaurants, museums, sports and shopping. From golf to great art, you'll find it all just minutes from our hotel in Charlotte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.