We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   530 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28202 (Second Ward)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 15%
Ranked #14 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

The FREE hot breakfast was great, the FREE shuttle to anywhere within 3 miles of the hotel was great, and the FREE parking was great. Other hotels in the area do not have these same FREE features, and cost more. The hotel and room were clean. I didn't go into the pool area, but I did see that there was also a hot tub. I would recommend this hotel if you're staying in the Charlotte Uptown area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    116
    30
    10
    8
See reviews for
60
91
17
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

How often after a long scorching day of motorcycling the freeways are you greeted by a smile, a cold bottle of water and these words, "Good afternoon. Welcome to Charlotte. Would you like to hydrate?" That was how we were greeted at the Charlotte Uptown Hampton Inn. During the remainder of our stay, we continued to be very impressed with the fine hospitality of the staff, particularly the young man at the front desk. Everyone was always ready to answer our questions and to make sure that our needs were met. Our room was comfortable, clean and well appointed. Breakfast was excellent. The location of this hotel is close to main highways, steps from the NASCAR museum and the convention centre and a short walk to lots of shopping, dining and entertainment opportunities. This section of Charlotte is beautiful and inviting to visitors. We would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We booked this hotel for a recent event in town. The staff was outstanding and very helpful when asking questions for around town. Hotel was very clean and well kept. Very close to various Charlotte Downtown sites. The Hotel shuttle around town really helps and the drivers are so nice and love to joke and keep you entertained. We have stayed next door at the Hilton as well and Hampton being a partner with Hilton they have to keep up and this hotel is doing. We will be glad to stay here again on our future trips.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We opted for this hotel rather than the expensive conference hotel and were so glad we did. This is a very nice hotel with great linens and flat screen TV. Close to the convention center and a few blocks from some nice restaurants (but not much right next to the hotel). Hotel offered a shuttle if you didn't feel like walking. They offered free bottled water and even a breakfast to go if you didn't have time for the buffet. Staff was very nice. There was an error on the bill when we checked out but it was easily resolved. Free parking in the garage. If you're a NASCAR fan, the Hall of Fame is across the street.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms are contiguous the the 4th floor garage so easy to go from car to room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I checked into the hotel where the front desk staff was exceptionally friendly. That was the best part of our stay. I asked for a room that was clean and refurbished because of my allergies. I was offered a can of disinfectant and was told I could open my windows. My windows opened onto an inner roof with the air-conditioning compressors. No daylight or air there. The room itself was below par for a Hampton--very worn. You can however count on their beds to be clean. My business trip was effected by the Internet and phone service being down. The ice-machine on my floor was broken. The worst part by far was the breakfast dining area. It was filthy!! No one cleaned the tables. I finally washed my own and watched the entire area go attended for the 1/2 hour I sat there. Dirty-dirty-dirty-sticky mess! Yuck.

Room Tip: Look before you unpack
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

My company booked this hotel for me when setting up travel arrangements for a convention in Charlotte. The first thing I thought was, well that address doesn't lok very desirable. Too my surprise this economy hotel was recently renovated and very neat and clean. The location is across the street from the Nascar Hall of Fame, one block away from the Convention Center, and 2 blocks off of College Street which has lots of restaraunts, bars and shops and about six blocks to the Carolina Panthers football stadium. They also run a complimentary shuttle to any locaton within a three mile radius which puts you anywhere in what is considered "Uptown Charlotte".

Don't be scared off by the address, the locaton is good, and for an economy hotel the accomodations are more then adiquate. Plus free hot breakfast!!

Room Tip: It appears they are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

this hotel is what I expect from a Hampton, clean rooms, comfy beds and wonderful staff. Breakfast includes fruit nice bonus. The Hotel front desk was very helpful in directing us to nearby restaurants.
And the hotel is close to downtown, great place

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown

Address: 530 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#13 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lord Cornwallis called Charlotte a "hornet's nest" in 1780—we took that as a compliment and today remain a town full of activity. Today, the area around the Hampton Inn® hotel in Charlotte-Uptown is a magnet for business and innovative thinking. Yet the Queen City also hosts amazing restaurants, museums, sports and shopping. From golf to great art, you'll find it all just minutes from our hotel in Charlotte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.