We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge to your Saves list
The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10000 Ballantyne Commons Parkway, Charlotte, NC 28277 (Ballantyne East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Raleigh
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Top notch customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed here one night for a conference. I was warmly greeted at reception and that warmth was seen in all employees from room service to turn down service to valet and beyond. I had a first floor room (my choice) and had a beautiful view of the golf course and its pond with ducks. The bed was so comfortable - I slept like a rock. The standard room was spacious and the bathroom was large. The towels were soft and thick. My dinner was delish - onion soup and a salad. I would love to return here again for a longer stay not related to work!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Jeana P,

Thank you for staying with us on business and taking the time to share your experience. Our associates are committed to providing our guests with warm, accommodating service, and we’re pleased you experienced that consistently firsthand. Thank you for your compliments regarding our accommodations and cuisine. We look forward to a future visit and hope you will be able to spend more time with us and perhaps have a chance to visit our spa.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    104
    27
    18
    2
See reviews for
92
161
19
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

This is a top shelf hotel full of luxurious upgrades and opportunities. Possibly the most comfortable room in NC, except for home. Surrounded by trendy restaurants and shopping opportunities. Only negative was traffic and congestion in the area, something the hotel has no control over.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear R_Seagle,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. We are delighted you had a comfortable stay, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We spent last weekend at the Ballantyne Lodge to celebrate a 95th Birthday. The birthday boy could not have been more pleased with all 90 of his relatives in attendance. We found the lodge very clean, comfortable and welcoming. Even though it's intent is to be used as a conference space it was absolutely perfect for the party/reunion. The event planning department was helpful and knowledgeable. Once we arrived, the staff could not have been more wonderful, nothing was too much trouble. There were 38 kids and they had a ball running around without disturbing others as they might have in another setting. The meals were all served in situ and were terrific...on time, at temperature and served by a staff that was always smiling. We brought in our own entertainment and the staff was happy to accommodate a set up for them with tables, chairs, microphones, etc. Would I recommend the Lodge for a party, reunion, wedding or meeting space? The answer is: absolutely.

The hotel and lodge also provide a shuttle service between facilitlies and it was always available for those who wanted to go to the pool. The pool area was beautiful and well kept with clean towels aplenty.

We arrived the night before the festivities and stayed at the hotel...lovely; dinner at The Gallery...delicious; drinks by the fireplace that night...warm & cozy. And again, the staff, the staff, the staff - they make your stay a pleasant one!

We booked a massage at the spa and it was glorious...among the best I have ever had.

The only downside was that the Village, where we went to shop and walk around one afternoon, was pretty much desserted and only 3 or so restaurants were open. Without a car there isn't much to do outside the hotel as the shuttle only takes you within a one mile radius.

But otherwise, pack your bags for a delightful stay in a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Ellen D,
Thank you for celebrating such a special occasion with us at The Lodge at Ballantyne. We are happy that the guest of honor had a great birthday with his extended family and The Lodge made for a perfect venue. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff, accommodations, spa and cuisine, and we enjoyed assisting your family on such a momentous event. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back for future visits.
Sincerely,

Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stopped here on our way from Toronto to Orlando. My husband had stayed here for work and wanted us to see how nice this hotel was. After a very long drive (14hrs) it was a great place for our family of 4 to relax. Our 2 and 5 year olds loved the pool area, room service was great and the beds were super comfy. Well maintained modern rooms. Wish we would have had more time.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear curls77,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your family trip and for sharing your comments. We were pleased to read that you had an enjoyable visit and appreciate your kind feedback regarding our pool area, room service and accommodations. Our entire team is dedicated to providing our guests with memorable and comfortable stay experiences, and we hope to welcome you back for another relaxing stay soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at this resort; It was nice with a very friendly doorman and great landscape. The check in lady was ok, not super personable but not rude either. The pool was heated and felt great. There was also a very nice looking spa, however we did not make use of it. The area has great eating and shopping within 15-20 minutes drive. The rooms were large and spacious, however the decor was old and needed updating (chairs and tables were tattered and needed replacing). The bathroom was also pretty nice, with modern styling. All in all, nice peaceful stay with a great view of the golf course and pond. would stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Emma M,

Thank you for staying with us at The Ballantyne. We are happy that you had a peaceful visit and appreciate your feedback regarding our hotel, amenities and décor. We have shared your feedback with our executive team. Thank you for sharing your comments, which will help us in our continuous efforts to improve the guest experience. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We went to charlotte for a quick getaway and the staff here was the most helpful of any hotel I stayed at ever! They even sent up my daughter a piece of cake and sang happy birthday to her. The area is very nice and there are plenty of dining options around the hotel but be inside during rush hour!

Room Tip: Facing Golf Course
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Playerham42,

Thank you for choosing The Ballantyne for a quick getaway. We are delighted you had a great stay and your daughter had a memorable birthday. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

My husband and I came to the hotel for a belated anniversary/birthday celebration. The staff at the hotel could not be nicer. They genuinely care about your experience and truly want to be helpful. They went above and beyond, especially in the spa and restaurant.. The spa features a nice salon (great mani & pedi) and the fitness room has great equipment. It was a relaxing weekend and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Laurie325,

Thank you for celebrating your anniversary/birthday with us at The Ballantyne. Our entire team is committed to providing our guests with the best in service and amenities, and we are delighted you had a relaxing stay. Thank you for your positive comments regarding our staff, spa, restaurant and fitness center. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge

Address: 10000 Ballantyne Commons Parkway, Charlotte, NC 28277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Ballantyne East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#9 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#9 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience hospitality at the Mobil Four Star and AAA Four Diamond Ballantyne Resort, in the heart of Charlotte, North Carolina. The Golf Course at Ballantyne offers 18-holes of Championship golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantine Resort Charlotte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.