We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My dream wedding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge to your Saves list
The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10000 Ballantyne Commons Parkway, Charlotte, NC 28277 (Ballantyne East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charlotte, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“My dream wedding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Ever since I saw photos of weddings at Ballantyne, I knew I wanted to have my ceremony and reception there. It was the perfect place for our Old Hollywood theme. Our event manager was Alli and she was an absolute ANGEL!! She kept us so organized as far as payments, vendors, scheduling, and setting everything up. I could never say enough good things about Alli!
The food was absolutely amazing!!! Best food I've ever had at a wedding! The chef is brilliant. Our suite was so beautiful and the entire staff was so professional, accommodating, and kind! I literally had my dream wedding and I would recommend Ballantyne to anyone! Not just for a wedding but also to stay for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear kcshine234,

Thank you for hosting your wedding at The Ballantyne, and we are pleased we could play a role in making your dream wedding come to life. Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding Alli, our chef and cuisine, accommodations and kind staff. Our team is dedicated to providing our brides with an exceptional experience every step of the way. Thank you for recommending our hotel, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    101
    23
    17
    2
See reviews for
87
158
18
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Perfect for all seasons and all occasions. I've enjoyed being here for day trips, short and long overnight stays, spa, lounging and etc. Looking forward to coming back for more! Lovely, lovely place!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear sheila w,

Thank you visiting our hotel on multiple occasions and for sharing your feedback. We’re delighted you have enjoyed your experiences, as we work diligently to provide our guests with genuine hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here for a quick birthday trip. My husband had let them know it was both of our birthdays and had them get a flower arrangement and champagne for the room. Both were lovely. We went to sit in the lobby lounge in the evening and ended up staying for a light meal and drinks. The bartender Jessica was so wonderful and accommodating. She even surprised us with a small birthday treat. She made me the most amazing dessert martini of her own creation. It really was a highlight of the trip. We were able to enjoy the whirlpool and grotto pool in the morning followed by in-room breakfast which was fantastic. Overall, it was a great trip, and we enjoyed our nice quiet room very much.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear AmandaGrace,

Thank you for celebrating your and your husband’s birthdays with us at The Ballantyne. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Thank you for your compliments regarding Jessica and the dessert martini, indoor pool facilities, room service and accommodations. It was our pleasure to make your stay memorable, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I've stayed at Ballantyne at least a couple of times a year for the past five years or so. As a Platinum SPG member, I've been upgraded more than half the time and the suites are very nice. They have a private living room with a pull out sofa, and a separate bedroom, each with a balcony overlooking the golf course.

The rooms are very modern, the bathrooms spacious, clean, new.

I've always had good service, the staff is very pleasant and friendly. One year, they asked for my children's names, and when we got back from dinner, had custom pillow cases with each of their names on them. A few years later, and my kids still have them and talk about that hotel.

The pool is very nice as well. I've never been there when it's crowded. I like that my kids can play and splash around without feeling like we are disturbing anyone, and when I've been there alone, it's very peaceful, a nice spot to relax. There's a bar at the pool as well, and wait staff come by frequently to take orders.

I took my girlfriend this past year and she spent a few hours in the spa and said the massage and services were wonderful.

I also like the location. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. There's also the golf course, which I've played about a half dozen times. It's a nice layout, never have played it when it's crowded, so pace of play has been good. Some fun holes, not overly difficult but a nice challenge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Scott G,

Thank you for being a loyal guest of The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge. We appreciate your kind words regarding our rooms, attentive staff, pool, spa, location and golf course. Our entire team is committed to providing our guests with exceptional service, and we’re delighted you have consistently experienced this. Thank you for sharing your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed here with my wife in a suite to get away for a night. The hotel room furnishings are impeccable and the bed was extremely comfortable. We ordered room service breakfast in the morning and it was delivered very quickly and was excellent. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Even President Obama stayed here for the Democratic National Convention in 2012.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear MLEEUNDERWOOD,

Thank you for visiting us at The Ballantyne and for sharing your feedback. We are delighted that you and your wife had a wonderful stay and appreciate your kind words regarding our accommodations and room service. Our staff works diligently to provide our guests with remarkable stay experiences. Thank you for recommending our hotel, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Our organization chose the Ballantyne Hotel for a business event with 120 guest including executives of notable German and American corporations.

The Ballantyne event team did an excellent job - well organized, very flexible, friendly, and experienced. The food and wine was great, the service professional and discreet, and the whole event was very smooth.

It was an extraordinary experience for our guest and our organization as well. The feedback was nothing but positive and we will definitely return to the Ballantyne for future events.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear GACC S,

Thank you for choosing to host your corporate event at The Ballantyne and for taking the time to share your positive feedback. We are pleased that you and your guests had an extraordinary experience and value your compliments regarding our staff, food, wine and overall flow of event. Our team at The Ballantyne strives to provide our guests with memorable meeting and stay experiences, and we look forward to partnering with you on future events.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Beautiful spot for a conference or business meeting. Great conference facilities. Every business need provided by excellent and attentive staff. Hotel rooms are lovely. Food terrific. Great spa. Too cold to play golf but plenty to keep me busy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear wahini79,

Thank you for staying at The Ballantyne and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted you had an enjoyable visit and value your compliments regarding our hotel, meeting facilities, attentive staff, accommodations, cuisine and spa. At The Ballantyne, we are committed to providing our guests with wonderful stay experiences. Thank you for recommending our hotel for meetings and events, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge

Address: 10000 Ballantyne Commons Parkway, Charlotte, NC 28277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Ballantyne East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#12 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience hospitality at the Mobil Four Star and AAA Four Diamond Ballantyne Resort, in the heart of Charlotte, North Carolina. The Golf Course at Ballantyne offers 18-holes of Championship golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantine Resort Charlotte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.