We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge to your Saves list
The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10000 Ballantyne Commons Parkway, Charlotte, NC 28277 (Ballantyne East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed here with my wife in a suite to get away for a night. The hotel room furnishings are impeccable and the bed was extremely comfortable. We ordered room service breakfast in the morning and it was delivered very quickly and was excellent. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Even President Obama stayed here for the Democratic National Convention in 2012.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear MLEEUNDERWOOD,

Thank you for visiting us at The Ballantyne and for sharing your feedback. We are delighted that you and your wife had a wonderful stay and appreciate your kind words regarding our accommodations and room service. Our staff works diligently to provide our guests with remarkable stay experiences. Thank you for recommending our hotel, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    99
    23
    17
    2
See reviews for
83
154
17
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Our organization chose the Ballantyne Hotel for a business event with 120 guest including executives of notable German and American corporations.

The Ballantyne event team did an excellent job - well organized, very flexible, friendly, and experienced. The food and wine was great, the service professional and discreet, and the whole event was very smooth.

It was an extraordinary experience for our guest and our organization as well. The feedback was nothing but positive and we will definitely return to the Ballantyne for future events.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear GACC S,

Thank you for choosing to host your corporate event at The Ballantyne and for taking the time to share your positive feedback. We are pleased that you and your guests had an extraordinary experience and value your compliments regarding our staff, food, wine and overall flow of event. Our team at The Ballantyne strives to provide our guests with memorable meeting and stay experiences, and we look forward to partnering with you on future events.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Beautiful spot for a conference or business meeting. Great conference facilities. Every business need provided by excellent and attentive staff. Hotel rooms are lovely. Food terrific. Great spa. Too cold to play golf but plenty to keep me busy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear wahini79,

Thank you for staying at The Ballantyne and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted you had an enjoyable visit and value your compliments regarding our hotel, meeting facilities, attentive staff, accommodations, cuisine and spa. At The Ballantyne, we are committed to providing our guests with wonderful stay experiences. Thank you for recommending our hotel for meetings and events, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at the resort to celebrate my daughter's belated birthday. My mother came from GA and requested something special be done for my 10 year old daughter's celebration when she spoke with Fabien at the time of reservation. None of us were prepared for all the care that had gone into our arrival! Upon arriving to our room we were met with a "Princess Happy Birthday Banner" and we were so impressed and the b-day girl was too excited. This was just the beginning to the very special surprises that Sandra w/ IRD had setup for Katie! Sandra had battery powered candle lights twinkling throughout the room, princess items adorned the foyer, a tiara, presents and candies covered the bed and furniture. A fancy beaded and feathered heart pen and a makeup bag were also left for our special girl. The bathroom was also done up for a princess: bath sponge, bubble bath and "candles" were right there and all ready for a
Royal bath! The attention to every detail made our stay a true celebration. Everyone we encountered on the Ballantyne staff was so helpful and kind. They made us feel very special. Ryan helped us at every turn and was so polite. He went out of his way to see that we had what we needed. And Sandra helped us before, during and after our stay~ we left something behind and she tracked it down. Thank you all for being so wonderful. Luxury resort with the finest staff!

Room Tip: Stayed many times and never had a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Paige C,

Thank you for celebrating your daughter’s 10th birthday at The Ballantyne and for sharing your positive feedback. We are thrilled we could make Katie’s birthday special and appreciate your kind words regarding Sandra and Ryan as well as the overall experience. Our staff is dedicated to creating truly unforgettable experiences for our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at the hotel shortly before Christmas and were treated to a fantastic experience from the second we stepped on property. The concierge Alan was engaging and made sure to deliver again and again. From explaining all of the various services to setting us up with more than one of them, he truly delivered the top-notch service the hotel is known for.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, General Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Jeff L,
Thank you for staying at The Ballantyne and for sharing your feedback. We are pleased you had an enjoyable visit and appreciate your positive comments regarding our helpful concierge, Alan. Our entire team is dedicated to providing our guests with wonderful stay experiences. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Brookville, NY
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stuck in Charlotte for the snowstorm and there was never a doubt where I would go to...have stayed here before for professional golf tournaments and it never fails to impress me. This is not merely a hotel but an event! It is all good....no, it is all fantastic! Even when there is no golf and no outdoor patios! This hotel needs no help from me but I am writing this now because we were stuck...really stuck...and they let us stay late without penalty as they knew of our predicament due to the snow storm...unheard of and completely unexpected. Beautifully appointed rooms and restaurants and common areas as well as the gym, spa, indoor pool etc...nothing around there comes close....do treat yourself! Bravo

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear amc10,
Thank you for staying with us at The Ballantyne and for sharing your feedback. We really appreciate your kind words regarding our guest rooms, common areas, restaurant and spa facilities and are happy that we were able to accommodate you during inclement weather challenges. At The Ballantyne, we are committed to providing our guests with exceptional stay experiences. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I stayed here for a seminar that I was attending. Sad to say that I only had 2 days there. I would have loved to have stayed for at least a week. We felt very pampered. The hotel felt like a castle. My mother and I had the entire pool/hot tub area to ourselves one evening and it was awesome! The meal that had at their restaurant was melt in your mouth delightful. The wait staff were pleasant and attentive. I really have nothing bad to say about The Battanytne.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear gypsytrvlr99,
Thank you for staying with us at The Ballantyne and for sharing your experience. We were pleased to read that you felt pampered and that you and your mother were able to enjoy some of our amenities. Thank you for your compliments regarding your dining experience at Gallery Restaurant. Our entire staff is dedicated to providing our guests with memorable stay experiences. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back (hopefully for a week next time!).

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge

Address: 10000 Ballantyne Commons Parkway, Charlotte, NC 28277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Ballantyne East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#7 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#15 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience hospitality at the Mobil Four Star and AAA Four Diamond Ballantyne Resort, in the heart of Charlotte, North Carolina. The Golf Course at Ballantyne offers 18-holes of Championship golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Starwood, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantine Resort Charlotte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.