We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge to your Saves list
The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10000 Ballantyne Commons Parkway, Charlotte, NC 28277 (Ballantyne East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We wanted a short getaway for a long weekend and The Ballantyne was the perfect location! From walking in the doors, we knew we chosen the perfect spot. Everyone was friendly and accommodating to our needs and questions. The indoor pool was a great plus for the winter months and the in room dining was great! The food was excellent and the service was impeccable. We decided to leave a day early, and the only hiccup we had was we were still charged for the last night even though we left a day earlier. I kept putting it off to contract the hotel, but when I finally did weeks later it took less than 24 hours to alleviate this problem. Richard in the accounting department was quick to respond to my inquiry and did a great job at following up in a timely matter. The staff is amazing and I highly recommend enjoying a stay at The Ballantyne.

Room Tip: A view of the golf course is a plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Rachel K,
Thank you for choosing The Ballantyne to stay for your getaway and for sharing your wonderful feedback. We are delighted you had an enjoyable visit. Thank you for your compliments regarding our staff, indoor pool and in-room dining experience. We are glad we were able to resolve your billing issue in a timely manner. Our team is committed to providing our guests with the best experience possible. Thank you for recommending our hotel, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    100
    23
    17
    2
See reviews for
83
154
17
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Ballantyne's great advantage -- it's separation from city center and the buslte of the area -- may be a liability to some. But if you want a park like setting and a very attentive and gracious staff, the Ballantyne may be for you. Price was also very reasonable.

Lovely setting, upscale treatments, and a good restaurant. Beverly, the lunch and dinner hostess, was especially good. I imagine that the Ballantyne would be an ideal setting for business meetings/conferences.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear GSNUSMC,
Thank you for staying with us at The Ballantyne and for sharing your feedback. Thank you for your positive comments regarding our setting, value, treatments, restaurant, as well as the good service you received from Beverly. Our team is dedicated to providing our guests with warm hospitality and strives to create memorable stay experiences. Thank you for recommending our hotel for business meetings and events, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
391 helpful votes 391 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and had a great stay. The entire staff was friendly. It is a beautiful hotel and the rooms were fine. There were really only three very minor things that we felt was odd with the room. The room was beautifully decorated but had extremely cheap looking light switch wall plates. For the rest of the room to look so grand something as simple as this really took away from the overall splendor of the room. My suggestion is to run to Lowe’s, spend a few bucks, and switch these out. It would be a quick fix. Secondly, the lighting was poor especially in the bathroom. This makes it difficult for shaving. Third, the pillows were in poor condition. Nice room, nice bed, but thin uncomfortable pillows. Again this is an easy fix.
The Gallery bar and restaurant that they have on site was outstanding. We started at the bar for a drink. The bartender was polite and made friendly conversation while checking in at just the right intervals to make sure he had what we needed. The restaurant experience made our day. They had personalized the menu for my wife since it was her birthday. They had multiple waiters offering us the very best of service. And they ended the meal with a special birthday dessert for my wife as well. We appreciated the special care they gave to ensure that my wife had a great dinner experience on her birthday.
We felt that this was a great hotel and restaurant with a great supporting staff. We would recommend this as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear SteveMatthewP,

Thank you for staying with us at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff, hotel and Gallery Restaurant and value your feedback regarding the room details. We have shared your comments with our team for consideration. Thank you for choosing to celebrate your wife’s birthday at Gallery Restaurant, and we’re delighted you had a memorable experience. Our entire team at The Ballantyne is committed to providing our guests with wonderful stay experiences. Thank you for recommending our hotel, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Average stay. Nothing to write home about. Historic building, large rooms. Tired decor but nice staff. A bit fuddy duddy. Nothing memorable about the stay. Restaurant was ok, food was average. Location was ok far away from down town.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Tina E,
Thank you for visiting us at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for sharing your feedback. We apologize that we fell short of your expectations, as we strive to provide our guests with memorable stay experiences. Thank you for your comments regarding our staff and your observations regarding our décor, restaurant and location. We really appreciate feedback, and we have your shared your comments with our executive management team. Our entire staff is dedicated to continuous improvement, and your feedback will help us move forward in our quest to deliver the best experiences for our guests.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel has excellent customer service, which is important to me and made it worth it. Upon making our reservation online, I recieved a personal email offering any extra needed assistance. I requested late check-out since my husband and I had an engagement to get to later in the afternoon on our departure date. Got a quick response and it was no problem. Timely room service. We stayed in a King Suite which was nice- clean, comfy pillows, slippers, robes, in room Starbucks, nice bathroom, plenty of outlets etc. We used both the gym and pool while here. Gym has lots of up to date equipment and a good variety. Nice locker room with sauna. The pool was not as new as it appears the professional photos. It was okay. The hotel is located in a suburban area. This was fine for us since we liked having access to things to do off site but just be aware if you are looking for a retreat that is more off the beaten path.

I give 4 stars overall for a few reasons:
-Biggest downer is you have to pay daily for WIFI. This was very inconvenient because we wanted to be able to search reviews for/directions to places to visit throughout our stay.
-No (usable) refrigerator in the room. Just the one with weighted sensors for their for-purchase alcohol (my husband and I don't drink). We've stayed in resorts before (Cancun, Vegas, etc) so I understand that this is typically how resorts operate, but it is still annoying and inconvenient every time.
-Better fans in the gym would be nice. Not a real complaint, but it would definitely be an improvement.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear karabaty,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for sharing your experience. We appreciate your positive comments regarding our service, accommodations and fitness facilities and value your feedback regarding our internet charges, refrigerator and suggestion for the gym. We take feedback very seriously, and we have shared your comments with our executive management team. At The Ballantyne, we are committed to providing our guests with enjoyable and comfortable visits. We are pleased you had a nice stay, and thanks again for your comments, which will help us in ongoing efforts to improve the guest experience. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My daughter's ceremony and reception were held at The Ballantyne hotel on November 8th. Everything from the pre wedding planning to the service on the day was excellent. The staff, from the doorman to catering manager could not do enough to ensure a memorable day and night at this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Linda C,

Thank you for hosting your daughter’s wedding ceremony and reception at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for sharing your feedback. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable experience from the planning process through the wedding celebration. Thank you for your compliments regarding our staff. Our entire team is committed to providing our guests with truly unforgettable experiences. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Our daughter just got married Saturday at the Ballantyne hotel. It was picture perfect. The Hotel rooms & amenities were important to us because we had family & friends who were traveling from the northeast. The bride & groom loved the ballroom, the grounds & the grand staircase. They felt the hotel was a perfect venue. I can't say enough about the staff, especially our event manager, Allie Hall, who worked nonstop from the day we booked it to the actual day. It was perfect! The ladies spent the day getting hair & makeup etc and the men hit golf balls walked the grounds or swam in the indoor pool. the reception was a great party and the couple ended the day with a rose petal turn down in their suite.

Room Tip: Ask for golf course view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear S S,

Thank you for choosing The Ballantyne to host your daughter’s wedding and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted that you as well as your family and friends had a wonderful experience. At The Ballantyne, we recognize how important every detail is in bringing such a special occasion to life and making the process as effortless and enjoyable as possible. We appreciate your kind words regarding the hotel, amenities, reception and our staff. Thank you again for partnering with us for your daughter’s big day. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge

Address: 10000 Ballantyne Commons Parkway, Charlotte, NC 28277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Ballantyne East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#8 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#15 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience hospitality at the Mobil Four Star and AAA Four Diamond Ballantyne Resort, in the heart of Charlotte, North Carolina. The Golf Course at Ballantyne offers 18-holes of Championship golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Starwood, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantine Resort Charlotte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.