We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brief stay at Ballantyne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge to your Saves list
The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10000 Ballantyne Commons Parkway, Charlotte, NC 28277 (Ballantyne East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brief stay at Ballantyne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Excellent service, nice room, very good food in restaurant. This was a short-notice trip, going to Charlotte for a funeral, 'though I'd stayed at the Ballantyne several times previously, when visiting the brother, whos

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear David W,
Thank you for being a loyal guest of The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for sharing your positive comments. We apologize for the circumstances of your visit but appreciate your kind words regarding our service, accommodations and restaurant cuisine. At The Ballantyne, our goal is to provide our guests with exceptional stay experiences. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    110
    29
    20
    2
See reviews for
98
175
19
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here as downtown was overbooked. The hotel was a very pleasant surprise. It is very well done in a genteel style. It overlooks what appears to be a beautiful golf course but we didn't stay long enough to play. The bathrooms are very well appointed and the rooms are large and spacious. Staff was very helpful. This hotel is pretty far out and fairly far away from the airport, not sure how long it would take in a high traffic period. the gym was nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course, not the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Flyway2much,
Thank you for staying with us at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for sharing your feedback. We are delighted you had an enjoyable visit and value your compliments regarding our hotel, décor, golf course, accommodations, staff and fitness facilities. Our team at The Ballantyne is committed to providing our guests with wonderful service and memorable experiences. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had our daughter's wedding at the Ballantyne the week of March 13-16, and could not have had a more wonderful experience! The pre-planning began last spring and every instance was executed to perfection. Our wedding planner, Alli Hall, was simply the best in every way. She guided us through each step and made us feel so special with each detail she suggested. She was also our "day of" corrdinator and the day was everything we wanted and much more! The wedding events were all held at the resort and our family and guests were "blown away" by the ease, style, and service provided by the hotel and staff. Our accomdations were wonderful and the food was excellent. My daughter and I also enjoyed a Spa treatment and it was devine! We highly recommend the Ballantyne Resort for any occasion and especially for something as special as a wedding...simply the BEST!!!!

Room Tip: We loved the rooms overlooking the golf course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Tracy W,

Thank you for choosing The Ballantyne to your daughter’s wedding and for taking the time to share your positive feedback. We are delighted that the entire event planning process was enjoyable and appreciate your compliments regarding our associate Alli, event experiences, accommodations, cuisine and spa treatments. Our goal at The Ballantyne is to provide our event planning guests with effortless and pleasant event coordination and to executive truly magical events while offering exceptional service. Thank you for recommending our hotel, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had our daughter’s wedding on a Saturday in late February, and all I can say is… Wow.! Our guests (and my husband and I) were so impressed. The staff did an amazing job…..from beginning to end…from the initial planning stage, to the actual execution of the wedding, to taking care of our guests who stayed at the hotel. Ballantyne made this as close to worry free, and pain free as a wedding could possibly be. The Ballantyne staff absolutely blew past our hopes and expectations for the wedding. I have to call out the job Alli Hall did. She orchestrated everything with a mix of sensitivity , care, and attention to detail…and then coupled it with military precision.
Several of my daughter's friends who were there will be planning weddings of their own soon, and were taking notes on “how it is done”.
Thanks again to you and your staff for making this a day to remember…for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Linda S,

Thank you for choosing The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge for your daughter’s wedding celebration and for sharing your positive feedback. We are delighted that you and your guests had a wonderful experience and appreciate your compliments regarding all aspects of the wedding planning process and your praise for Alli Hall. At The Ballantyne, we are dedicated to creating an effortless and enjoyable wedding planning partnership with our guests, as well as providing great service on a daily basis. We are so happy your experience lived up to your expectations for such a special day. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Overall we were quite happy with our recent stay at The Ballantyne. My wife and I stayed for a long weekend in February after I had been working in South Carolina for a week.

Before our arrival we received an email asking if they could do anything for us. I did let them know that although the reservation was in my name my wife would be checking in, so thankfully that helped smooth over the check-in process.

Everyone at the property was extremely friendly and helpful. From the Valet service to the Concierge to the wait staff.

We were upgraded to one of their "Suites". I use the quotes only as it is still very clearly 2 separate rooms, just that a bed has been removed from one of the rooms. It has 2 entrances and just has the connector door propped open. The extra space was nice, but we found we didn't really use it as it wasn't as functional as having a more open concept suite. Rather than having 2 full bathrooms they would be better to have a powder room and 1 larger bathroom. The main bathroom was nicer than the other, but there was no real counter space. There were 2 separate Balconies, again they don't connect since it is just 1 per room.
The bed in the room is also quite firm, it isn't our preference, but if you like a firm mattress then you will like it here.
The view from our room was lovely, it looked over the pond and golf course. The room and hotel as a whole in fact were very quiet and relaxing.

The spa at The Ballantyne was nice. My wife and I got a couples massage and it was very relaxing, they even gave here a rose at the end. They had a Dry and a Wet Sauna which was pleasant after a soothing massage. The only thing that would be nice to know ahead of time is that they do add a 20% Service Charge on everything at the Spa (same goes for the restaurant where we had breakfast).

This hotel does a lot of the little things right. As Starwood Platinum members we were treated exceptionally well. A handwritten note in the room on the first day with a couple Praline cookies, chocolates on our pillows, free bottles of water, hot cider in the lobby, etc.
As our Platinum Check-in amenity we chose the free breakfast. This worked out quite well for us as we were given $20 each per day at the Restaurant. The French Toast there is out of this world, we ended up having it each day!

Ultimately, if we were staying in the Charlotte area again we would definitely consider staying at the Ballantyne.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Jalenkos,

Thank you for staying with us at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased you had an enjoyable visit and appreciate your kind words regarding our hotel, staff, spa, amenities and cuisine. Our team is committed to providing our guests with wonderful, memorable experiences. Thanks again for your feedback, which will help us in our continuous efforts to elevate the guest experience. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We arrived and our room was not ready, but the hotel staff comped drinks and appetizers until it was. That was our first impression. We were treated wonderfully. The Galley restaurant's food and staff were exceptional. We were not rushed and our food preparation and flavor were wonderful. The facilities at the Spa, where my wife and I had massages, were clean, well kept and had many amenities. We stayed overnight, but left feeling more relaxed than a full weekend stay at other places. If you live near Charlotte, treat yourself to a nice stay-cation.

Room Tip: Go for the view of the golf course with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Joe K,

Thank you for staying with us at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased you had an enjoyable visit and value your positive comments regarding our staff, restaurant experience, spa and overall stay. At The Ballantyne, our team is dedicated to providing our guests with a truly relaxing and memorable stay experience. Thank you for recommending our hotel as a stay-cation option, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Ballantyne Hotel staff were easy to work with and coordinated with us from beginning to end. Their communication skills and expertise in event planning were outstanding. The hotel went overboard to accommodate our guests. They even lowered the height of a bed for an elderly relative who had difficulty getting in and out of bed easily.
The hotel setting and amenities more than surpassed our expectations for the entire weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the golf course were like being at a desination location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Heidi K,

Thank you for choosing The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge for your wedding celebration and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted you had an easy and enjoyable wedding planning experience and value your positive comments regarding our team’s communication skills and experience as well as our service and amenities. At The Ballantyne, we are dedicated to providing our guests with memorable experiences, and we are so happy we exceeded your expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge

Address: 10000 Ballantyne Commons Parkway, Charlotte, NC 28277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Ballantyne East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#7 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#16 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience hospitality at the Mobil Four Star and AAA Four Diamond Ballantyne Resort, in the heart of Charlotte, North Carolina. The Golf Course at Ballantyne offers 18-holes of Championship golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantine Resort Charlotte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.