We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a week end getaway.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge

Save Saved
You added The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10000 Ballantyne Commons Parkway, Charlotte, NC 28277 (Ballantyne East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #3 of 168 hotels in Charlotte
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for a week end getaway.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

As a Christmas present, our daughter gave my husband and me a night's stay, including golf for him and a spa package for me. We had a wonderful time. My husband received great service at the clubhouse and enjoyed the course very much. My time in the spa was a real pleasure. For us, it made for a a perfect getaway, right here in our own city!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Sally T,
Thanks for staying with us at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for sharing your experience. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your visit and value your kind comments regarding our hotel, golf, spa and service. Our team is dedicated to providing our guests with an exceptional stay experience, and we especially want our local guests to feel like they truly got away! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    266
    79
    19
    16
    2
See reviews for
70
135
14
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel is in the outskirts of Charlotte in the Ballantyne area but charges a premium rate compared to most business hotels (think Four Seasons rates). The rooms were fairly well appointed and clean, however the remainder of the hotel was sub-par for a hotel in this price range. Disappointments included: one of the TVs in the suite was broken, charging extra for wi-fi, inattentive and understaffed bell staff, a front desk that was only staffed by one person and caused a line at check-in, a small crowded gym that appeared to also run personal training sessions for non-guests which made me feel uncomfortable using areas of the facility, a low-end bar and bartender, and a poor selection of area restaurants.

Room Tip: My suite was basically two connected rooms with one being a living room area. I wouldn't recomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear cmonster78,

Thank you for staying at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for taking the time to share your feedback. We really value your comments and apologize that your visit fell short of your expectations. We take all feedback very seriously and strive to deliver an upscale experience with warm and attentive service. We have shared your comments with our management team, and we are confident that your feedback will help us in our continuous efforts to improve the guest experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel was fantastic. From little touches in the room, to the service provided, everything exceeded expectations. It's great for a couples retreat, a golf weekend or both. My fiancee and I joined my brother and his wife. The ladies hit the spa while the guys played golf. Our clubs were waiting for us at the clubhouse prior to the round, and were cleaned and brought to our rooms afterwards. Everything was taken care of for us. Would definitely get away there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Daniel B,
Thank you for staying at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge for a weekend getaway and for taking the time to share your experience. We were pleased to read that we exceeded your expectations and value your positive comments regarding our accommodations, amenities and service. Our team is dedicated to providing our guests with a truly effortless and relaxing escape. Thank you for recommending our hotel, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Everything was great from the food to the service and even the toiletries !

We celebrated an anniversary there and it was well worth the price. It's also close to shopping, restaurants and entertainment .

The service was impeccable .

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Mamacitax4,
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your anniversary with us and for sharing your positive comments. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable visit and appreciate your compliments regarding our value, cuisine, service and amenities. At The Ballantyne, we strive to provide our guests with a truly memorable experience. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

You wouldn't guess from the website that this hotel is in the middle of suburban mall heaven. The rooms are very nice, but the doors close very noisily, so you can hear everyone coming and going. Service was very good and despite there being several corporate meetings going on, we were able to get a tee time very easily. The Gallery restaurant was very good, especially the popovers. There's a Starbucks right across the street if you want to save money on breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course, rather than the mall across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear MaggieNeedlefish,

Thank you for staying with us at The Ballantyne and taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your kind words regarding our accommodations, service and cuisine and value your feedback regarding our doors. We take all feedback very seriously and have shared your comments with our management team. Our team is dedicated to providing our guests with exceptional experiences, and your feedback will help us in our continuous efforts to improve our offerings. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston SC
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I was at the Ballantyne for a one day conference. From the first welcome to leaving, service was superior. Very nice room--in which little time was spent! Meals for the conference were delicious and very rapidly served to about 200 for dinner, breakfast and lunch. All buffets. One nice thing about the Ballantyne is an ample parking lot, easily accessible to the front door.

Our set up for the conference was well done with excellent audio/video and comfortable.

Room Tip: I suspect all rooms are very good. Mine was on the second floor over the parking lot, but very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear wandotraveler,

Thank you for staying with us at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for sharing your feedback. We are delighted you had an enjoyable conference visit and value your positive comments regarding our service, accommodations, cuisine, facilities and A/V. Our goal at The Ballantyne is to provide our guests with exceptional stays and memorable meeting experiences. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed at the Lodge for several nights for a corporate training program. It was a wonderful experience in every way. The staff was polite and attentive, the food was great, and the facilities top-notch. Rooms were clean, large and very comfortable, and the bathrooms were oversized with both shower and jacuzzi tub. The Lodge has many great locations for group gathering and socializing at the end of the day, including a wonderful lounge with fireplace, pool tables, and small meeting rooms. I look forward to returning some day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear MorrisChronicler,

Thank you for staying at The Lodge at Ballantyne and for sharing your positive feedback. We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience and value your kind comments regarding our staff, cuisine, facilities and accommodations. At The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge, our goal is to provide distinctive lodging options, from elegant guest rooms at the hotel to an inviting retreat that is reminiscent of a North Carolina mountain lodge at The Lodge. We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge

Also Known As:
The Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
The Ballantyne Hotel
Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantine Resort Charlotte
Ballantyne Hotel
Address: 10000 Ballantyne Commons Parkway, Charlotte, NC 28277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Ballantyne East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#2 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience hospitality at the Mobil Four Star and AAA Four Diamond Ballantyne Resort, in the heart of Charlotte, North Carolina. The Golf Course at Ballantyne offers 18-holes of Championship golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Starwood, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.