We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge to your Saves list
The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10000 Ballantyne Commons Parkway, Charlotte, NC 28277 (Ballantyne East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel was fantastic. From little touches in the room, to the service provided, everything exceeded expectations. It's great for a couples retreat, a golf weekend or both. My fiancee and I joined my brother and his wife. The ladies hit the spa while the guys played golf. Our clubs were waiting for us at the clubhouse prior to the round, and were cleaned and brought to our rooms afterwards. Everything was taken care of for us. Would definitely get away there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Daniel B,
Thank you for staying at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge for a weekend getaway and for taking the time to share your experience. We were pleased to read that we exceeded your expectations and value your positive comments regarding our accommodations, amenities and service. Our team is dedicated to providing our guests with a truly effortless and relaxing escape. Thank you for recommending our hotel, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    117
    34
    20
    3
See reviews for
113
189
20
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Everything was great from the food to the service and even the toiletries !

We celebrated an anniversary there and it was well worth the price. It's also close to shopping, restaurants and entertainment .

The service was impeccable .

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Mamacitax4,
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your anniversary with us and for sharing your positive comments. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable visit and appreciate your compliments regarding our value, cuisine, service and amenities. At The Ballantyne, we strive to provide our guests with a truly memorable experience. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

You wouldn't guess from the website that this hotel is in the middle of suburban mall heaven. The rooms are very nice, but the doors close very noisily, so you can hear everyone coming and going. Service was very good and despite there being several corporate meetings going on, we were able to get a tee time very easily. The Gallery restaurant was very good, especially the popovers. There's a Starbucks right across the street if you want to save money on breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course, rather than the mall across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear MaggieNeedlefish,

Thank you for staying with us at The Ballantyne and taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your kind words regarding our accommodations, service and cuisine and value your feedback regarding our doors. We take all feedback very seriously and have shared your comments with our management team. Our team is dedicated to providing our guests with exceptional experiences, and your feedback will help us in our continuous efforts to improve our offerings. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston SC
Level Contributor
204 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I was at the Ballantyne for a one day conference. From the first welcome to leaving, service was superior. Very nice room--in which little time was spent! Meals for the conference were delicious and very rapidly served to about 200 for dinner, breakfast and lunch. All buffets. One nice thing about the Ballantyne is an ample parking lot, easily accessible to the front door.

Our set up for the conference was well done with excellent audio/video and comfortable.

Room Tip: I suspect all rooms are very good. Mine was on the second floor over the parking lot, but very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear wandotraveler,

Thank you for staying with us at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for sharing your feedback. We are delighted you had an enjoyable conference visit and value your positive comments regarding our service, accommodations, cuisine, facilities and A/V. Our goal at The Ballantyne is to provide our guests with exceptional stays and memorable meeting experiences. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed at the Lodge for several nights for a corporate training program. It was a wonderful experience in every way. The staff was polite and attentive, the food was great, and the facilities top-notch. Rooms were clean, large and very comfortable, and the bathrooms were oversized with both shower and jacuzzi tub. The Lodge has many great locations for group gathering and socializing at the end of the day, including a wonderful lounge with fireplace, pool tables, and small meeting rooms. I look forward to returning some day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear MorrisChronicler,

Thank you for staying at The Lodge at Ballantyne and for sharing your positive feedback. We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience and value your kind comments regarding our staff, cuisine, facilities and accommodations. At The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge, our goal is to provide distinctive lodging options, from elegant guest rooms at the hotel to an inviting retreat that is reminiscent of a North Carolina mountain lodge at The Lodge. We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

The Ballantyne Hotel was a great weekend in Charlotte without being in the center of town. Only 22 minutes from the airport, the resort still gave the impression of seclusion if you wanted it, but has such a nice selection of commercial centers nearby on the exit that you could also find a lot to do! The grounds there are beautiful and well kept, the restaurant and bar areas were absolutely wonderful with a great ambiance that did not scream that you're in a hotel, our room had a beautiful view overlooking the golf course, great shower and tub in the bathrooms, and the fitness and pools areas were excellent! Highly recommended...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear BronwynKelson,

Thank you for staying with us at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for sharing your experience. We were pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and appreciate your positive comments regarding our location, hotel grounds, restaurant and bar, accommodations and wellness facilities. Our staff is dedicated to delivering exceptional experiences to our guests. Thank you for recommending our hotel, and we hope to welcome you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Our one night stay was wonderful. The hotel is beautiful, convient to multiple restaurants and shopping, and the staff is very accommodating. We went to the spa where the staff and facilities were outstanding. The indoor pool and hot tub area was very relaxing and has a beautiful view of the golf course. Overall, it was a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBallantyne, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear dkba,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your positive feedback. We value your kind words regarding our hotel, location, staff, spa and wellness facilities, and we’re so glad you had an enjoyable stay. Our team is committed to providing our guests with a truly memorable experience. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#23 of 171 in Charlotte
4.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barclay Downs
Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#30 of 171 in Charlotte
4.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#62 of 171 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 stars 1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge

Address: 10000 Ballantyne Commons Parkway, Charlotte, NC 28277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Ballantyne East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#13 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballantyne, a member of Starwood Hotels & Resorts' The Luxury Collection, welcomes guests with exceptional service, complemented by a timeless elegance. Enjoy resort-style amenities including spa, golf, exquisite dining and leisure offerings. The Ballantyne features a beautiful hotel, cottage and lodge with sophisticated event venues in a vibrant setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Starwood, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantine Resort Charlotte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.