We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay on NYE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge

Save Saved
You added The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10000 Ballantyne Commons Parkway, Charlotte, NC 28277 (Ballantyne East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rochester, Mi
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great Stay on NYE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed here on New Years Eve on our way home from vacation in Florida. To be honest was a little nervous being that it was NYE and they had a party for all the hotel guests (free) in the grand foyer. We arrived at 4pm and were upgraded to a suite which was an awesome surprise (especially since I had booked used reward points). Very spacious and lovely with a view of the lodge and golf course. Since I was not sure what time we were going to arrive I didn't make any dinner plans but we were able to eat in one of the bar areas with the same menu that was in the dining room. It was a much smaller menu due to being NYE but there were any choices suitable for all tastes. The food was very good and the service was excellent. We did go down to the NYE party which was fun in a laid back way. There were several children there (I'd say over 10) so my 16 yr old didn't feel so out of place hanging with us old folks. No one was loud or inappropriate and there was plenty of staff just in case. Great DJ playing music (my 16 yr old approved the music choices) and a free champagne toast at midnight. All in all a great night. Had the breakfast buffet the next morning which was the standard fare but was very appreciative when my server was able to get me eggs over hard instead of the scrambled on the buffet. The staff was very nice, friendly and helpful. The only complaint I have (which several people mentioned) is the charge for internet (my pet peeve). But I'd still stay here again if we are ever in Charlotte again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear elphie1162,

Thank you for staying at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for taking the time to share your feedback. We were happy that we were able to accommodate you with suite upgrade and appreciate your kind words regarding our food, service and New Year’s Eve party. It was our goal to offer something festive yet attractive to our guests. We apologize that you were disappointed with the internet charge; we have passed your comment on to management for consideration. Thanks again for your positive review, and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    96
    23
    17
    2
See reviews for
81
153
17
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Potomac, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

This is one of the very few times that I was not in my home for Christmas. My husband and I went to Charlotte to spend Christmas with our son and his family. The Hotel was beautifully decorated and everyone was so friendly. We hope to visit the Ballantyne Hotel again soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear whimsical1,
Thank you for staying at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge during Christmas and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed our holiday decor and warm service.
We hope you had a wonderful visit with your family, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We were looking for a driving distance family winter break for our family of 4 (Dad, Mom, 3 and 5-year old girls) and decided to try the the Ballantyne.

We live in central VA with a limited number of options - we've gone to the Hyatt Chesapeake Bay (very good, but limited off-resort options), the Greenbrier (ditto and very expensive) and the Sheraton Virginia Beach (property only ok, nothing to do in winter).

Overall, I'd say we had a very good stay. I used points to book a Parlor Suite - the one-class-upgrade booking @ 11,500 points for what amounted to 2 very nice full rooms, the second with a pull-out couch that was perfect for the girls.

The killer feature for us at any property like this is the indoor pool, which was small but very nice and hardly busy while we were there. There are also indoor lap pools (the motorized kind) and a whirlpool, as well as a very nice fitness center.

I would describe the setting as suburban - Ballantyne is a planned community in Southern Charlotte, so it's not really a resort the way the Greenbrier is, but for us that's a plus. We were able to drive easily to the Charlotte Children's Museum, the Children's Theater, as well as having literally dozens of eating choices within easy reach of the hotel.

We ate one night at the Gallery, the onsite restaurant. While everything was very good, nothing was really great (except the service). That was a little disappointing for a restaurant with many good write-ups and prices to match. Did room service for breakfast both days (the girls love it) - it was quick and not outrageously priced. I should also mention the quick and complementary valet parking, which was also fast and attentive.

For a quick family getaway, especially in winter where swimming is a big plus, I'd certainly go again.

Room Tip: Parlor suites are great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Dear AlxStevens0,

Thank for choosing The Ballantyne for your family winter getaway and for taking the time to share your experience. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your compliments regarding our parlor suite, indoor pool and fitness facilities, in-room dining, service and free valet parking. We apologize that our cuisine at Gallery did not meet your expectations. We strive to really wow are guests with our offerings, but we appreciate all the feedback we can get so that we can continue to refine our menu. Thank so much for recommending us as a convenient travel destination for families. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011 via mobile

Our company hosted our annual executive meetings here. We are a small group, but you would of never of guessed it. From the bid process, through our meetings to our checkout the hotel blew away their other "diamond" competitors in the area. While not the cheapest choice, we are very, very glad we choose this world class location!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteTravel, Public Relations Manager at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Dear Pizan55,

Thank you for hosting your meetings with The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted that your entire experience was seamless - from the bid process through checkout. Our team works hard to provide the best service every step of the way, especially when it comes to creating a memorable meeting experience. We’re so happy that you were pleased with your choice, and we hope to partner with you on future events.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

With spouse, I decided to do a great escape from regular type hotel to THEE HOTEL. Our platinum card status got us upgraded to a suite at no additional charge. Staff, service, dining, in-room all excellent.
Spa and Golf resort tops it off.

Room Tip: 5th floor overlokking the golf course - 18th green
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Dear XCite Advertising,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for sharing your experience. We are so happy you and your husband enjoyed a wonderful getaway in our parlor suite. Thank you for your compliments regarding our staff, service, dining, accommodations and amenities. We are dedicated to offering an exceptional stay experience to each and every one of our guests. We hope to welcome you back to The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Stayed 3 wonderful nights at this luxury hotel. First class restaurant, rooms are top notch. Excellent service. Awesome gym, pool, and golf course.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Dear rdklomp,

Thanks so much for staying at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for sharing your positive feedback. We are appreciative of your compliments regarding our accommodations, dining at Gallery Restaurant, service and additional amenities. We strive to provide a truly exceptional stay experience for all of our guests. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Falls, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I didn't stay at the hotel, but I did experience great customer service. I'm a meeting planner and had an event there where the hotel hosted a lunch for other meeting planners. While you can expect a hotel to showcase itself to an audience like this, you don't always know about the customer service that goes on behind the scenes.

From planning, to execution to follow-up the hotel staff was top notch (5 star)! I would recommend that others book their events at this property if they are looking to impress their audience. The food was stellar too.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
Dear amtalbot,

Thank you for hosting your event at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for taking the time to share your recent positive experience. We’re delighted that you were pleased with the entire event process, and we really appreciate your comments regarding our great customer service and cuisine. Our team works diligently to provide an effortless event planning experience, and we hope that we have another opportunity to work with you. Thanks again for sharing your feedback!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge

Address: 10000 Ballantyne Commons Parkway, Charlotte, NC 28277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Ballantyne East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#8 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#14 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience hospitality at the Mobil Four Star and AAA Four Diamond Ballantyne Resort, in the heart of Charlotte, North Carolina. The Golf Course at Ballantyne offers 18-holes of Championship golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantine Resort Charlotte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.