We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For 'grown-ups'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mint Museum Uptown

Mint Museum Uptown
500 South Tryon Street, Charlotte, NC 28202
(704) 337-2000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$55*
and up
Charlotte Segway Tour
Ranked #9 of 58 Attractions in Charlotte
Type: Art Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“For 'grown-ups'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I REALLY enjoyed our visit to the Mint Museum ... but we visited because I wanted to see their limited-time fashion exhibit (Chanel ... it was awesome!). My kids were bored within minutes so our visit was quick. The Uptown Mint Museum is better suited to families and has more of what we like to see (i.e.: modern art exhibits) and less artifacts/history. This location has 3-4 rooms of fashion history, which I enjoyed.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    67
    9
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
409 reviews 409 reviews
166 attraction reviews
Reviews in 174 cities Reviews in 174 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Cool building, neat shows, okay permanent collection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Came to the museum to see the both the Thorton Dial show and Madeline Albright pin collection. Both of those, combined with the architecturally significant building, made the trip worthwhile. We went on a Sunday (half price admission) and they had all kinds of activities for kids and families going on. We got to listen to a live bluegrass band that was really great.

I'd say the permanent collections were alright, but didn't take a long time to go through. Not much in the way of significant contemporary art, especially since we aren't into crafts and design. If you are, you will find this museum much more up your alley.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great spot in Uptown Charlotte”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Recently visited the Picasso exhibit, it was small but well done and the facility is beautiful too. Restaurant is a little pricey, food was very good.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Unfortunately, my wife and I had only a little time to visit the Mint Museum because we tickets for a production at the Knight Theatre right across the street, but I saw enough that I really want to return for a longer visit. We were very pleased that the Madelyn Allbright pin collection was on display the day we were there. This is an extensive and fascinating collection of brooches and unique pins that the former Secretary of State has collected throughout her lifetime. There were also many other permanent and limited engagement displays in the beautifully organized rooms. The Mint is certainly worth a trip to Charlotte if you're anywhere within the general area.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“not what I expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I went to the Mint Museum thinking it was about money but it was an art museum. The Gilhouly chandelier in the lobby was fabulous and so was a lot of the displays and art work and the silver set on the 4th floor - all fabulous. I was disappointed n the Fairy Tale Section - it was maccabre and I didn't like it at all - all in the "dark" vein. But it was an interesting museum with an excellent gift shop.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mint Museum Uptown also viewed

 

Been to Mint Museum Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mint Museum Uptown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.