We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick, comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Charlotte Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added HYATT house Charlotte Airport to your Saves list
HYATT house Charlotte Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4920 South Tryon Street, Charlotte, NC 28217 (Formerly Summerfield Suites Hotel by Wyndham)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #43 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maryland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Quick, comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here one night due to flight cancellation at Charlotte airport. Was here for the same reason when it was a Hyatt place a few years ago. The price seemed kind of high, but everything else was booked due to numerous weather delays that evening. The hotel has a free airport shuttle, but I didn't call the hotel until 12:20, and the shuttle stops running at 12:00...the taxi ride was $17.00--Think he took me the long way.
Regardless of that, the front desk staff were polite and efficient. Got in my room pretty quickly, found it to be fashinable and comfortable. There's a mini kitchen and a large sectional sofa in the living area if you have time to relax. I had a very restful sleep after a long day (night) of travelling. I heard zero noise.
The best part about the hotel is the breakfast--lots of choices: fruit, pastries, juices, many hot items, and good coffee. The shuttle driver made a special trip for me to get back to the airport on the half-hour--they usually run only on the hour. That made up for the issue the night before.
I think I like this design better than the Hyatt Place concept--less trendy, more comfy. I would stay here again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, General Manager at HYATT house Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your comprehensive review of our property, it was certainly a pleasure to read all your positive comments on our amenities. You covered all aspects of your stay however I was particularly appreciative about your comments regarding our Shuttle Driver in the morning, I am pleased they were able to accommodate you.
Thank you for choosing the Hyatt House Charlotte Airport and we hope you can stay with us again next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    56
    17
    10
    10
See reviews for
47
34
13
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Covington, GA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The review seem to be across the board, so they are obviously based on the individual's personal experience at the hotel. Overall, my experience wasn't that bad. The hotel is located about 3.5 miles south of downtown Charlotte, and just minutes from the airport. Booked and stayed here for 3 days of business meetings. It was rainy, windy, cloudy, damp, foggy and cold the entire time I was in Charlotte, so it made the surrounding area look less than appealing, but it's probably much better during the Spring and Summer. Check-in was quick. The lobby looked updated and modern. The room was a 1-Br suite. I spent just as much time in the living area watching tv in the evenings with my meals. Pretty comfortable. Had a mini-kitchen, king-sized bed, 2 flat screen tvs (larger in living area) and a bathroom with access from both the living area and bedroom. The bed was comfortable enough. Since it was cool most of the time, turned up the heat in the evenings. The heating system was pretty noisy when it cycled on. Bathroom was kinda small, but clean and sufficed. The hotel offered a full hot breakfast each morning (which was pretty good) and a manager's reception during certain weekdays (did not try that). Room service was on par; it was nice to return to a clean room in the evening after being in meetings all day downtown. The staff I encountered must have been made aware of any negative comments, because they were quite courteous to me during my stay. Overall it was a fairly good stay and would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, General Manager at HYATT house Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review of our property. I enjoyed reading your comments as it's always nice to hear compliments on cleanliness and customer service, as we truly take pride in what we all do here.

Thank you again for choosing the Hyatt House Charlotte Airport and I hope you can stay with us again in the Spring or Summer to enjoy our beautiful surroundings in full bloom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Rooms big and comfortable, price reasonable, accommodations were provided for the baby, shuttle came back and forth 3 times to the airport as we needed it. Food was good in the lobby restaurant, fair selection of beers, good breakfasts, something that actually is being cooked by somebody, and the staff... Hey work so hard to make your stay good. This is not a 5 star hotel, but definitely is outstanding in its category. Do not understand the issue with the distance to the airport. All hotels are between 3 and 6 miles to the airport, there are no hotels next to it. Driving, took me 5 mins, the shuttle took 10. Being dropped at the airport happens sharp on schedule, being picked up can be a little bit of a problem at sometimes in the day.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, General Manager at HYATT house Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for your excellent review of the Hyatt House Charlotte Airport! We are all very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please let us know if you will be back in Charlotte, we would be happy to host you! Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night because we had a layover between two flights when going from USA to Barbados. What a mistake! We have two small children and we thought staying somewhere close to the airport overnight would be a good idea so we could eat and sleep between our flights. First of all, this hotel is nowhere nere to the airport, it took about 20 minutes with the shuttle. Late at night with small and tired kids this is way too long and I don't understand how an airport hotel can be located 20 minutes from the airport with a car (and please note this was late at night, have no idea how long it would have taken in rush hour traffic...). Also we had to wait forever at the airport for the shuttle, it was ridiculous how long it took before they came. Next time I will be looking much more careful into the distance between the airport and the airport hotel instead of assuming the it is located near to the airport... Next thing we discovered was that there acually was no food at the hotel, you had to go out to nearby restaurants and order if you wanted something to eat! Go figure when you have two small kids and it is 10 pm... They had a small refrigerator behind the reception with some stuff in it but absolutely nothing that kids would eat (just chips, cookies and other adult junk food). The people in the reception were friendly, that was the absolutely only positive thing with this place! Avoid!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, General Manager at HYATT house Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with distance our hotel is from the airport. We partner with several local restaurants who deliver and I am sorry if you were not made aware of these options. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Arriving at Charlotte airport for a layover night in this hotel, we found our tour operator had booked the wrong night for us. The night staff arranged another room, gave us free drinks and snacks for the 45 minutes we were on their reception phone to Canada, trying to sort things out, and called to check that the room was OK once we made it upstairs. The King suite was clean, comfortable, and stocked with thoughtful toiletries including toothpaste.Breakfast was a good buffet, and the airport transfer friendly and efficient.Top marks for patient, welcoming and helpful staff. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, General Manager at HYATT house Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Jill815, Thanks for staying with us at The Hyatt House Charlotte Airport and for sharing your experience. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your visit and appreciate your kind comments regarding our sevice and amenities. Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Deposit, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

I think that Hyatt House is a new division for Hyatt, rebranding their Summerfield Suites. The way they advertise, one would think that these are new hotels. This one is definitely not new. I understand that there is a renovation coming next spring. This hotel needs a major one. The staff was very good at meeting our requests. We will be back, but not until the renovations are complete.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, General Manager at HYATT house Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. We do have a full renovation coming in 2013 which will include the guest rooms as well as the guest house. I am glad our associates took great care of you and i will share your comments with them. We will look forward to seeing you again after the renovation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, New Jersey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel alltogether. Nice place less than 4 miles from airport and free breakfast. The location is good too with restaurants and gas stations near by. The hotel is clean and staff are very nice. Definetly a good choice i made staying here. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina S, General Manager at HYATT house Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for the great review. I am glad our location was convenient for you. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Charlotte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house Charlotte Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Charlotte Airport

Address: 4920 South Tryon Street, Charlotte, NC 28217 (Formerly Summerfield Suites Hotel by Wyndham)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#40 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Charlotte Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a visitor-friendly city center known as Uptown and numerous corporate headquarters, North Carolina's largest city is quickly becoming a top destination for both business and leisure travelers. With several large universities, thrilling theme parks, opportunities for outdoor recreation and shopping parks, Charlotte is an exciting destination. Relax and enjoy our outdoor pool, open seasonally and weather permitting. Our newly renovated, upscale, extended stay hotel in Charlotte is conveniently situated for vacation, corporate and government travelers. HYATT house(R) Charlotte Airport hotel is newly renovated and conveniently located in the center of a Fortune 500 corridor, just six miles from downtown and the Charlotte Convention Center. Our friendly Charlotte Airport hotel offers travelers access to popular tourist destinations including Carowinds Amusement Park, Lynx- Charlotte's Light Rail, Billy Graham Library, Discovery Place, Spirit Square Center for the Arts, Bank of America Stadium and Charlotte Motor Speedway. For the business traveler, we're centrally located to the corporate offices for Wells Fargo/Wachovia, Bank of America, AT&T and US Airways. Ideally located for all types of travelers, our hotel in Charlotte is a top choice for your next trip to North Carolina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your HYATT house Charlotte Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Charlotte Airport Hotel Charlotte
Hyatt Charlotte Airport
Summerfield Suites Charlotte
Charlotte Hyatt
Charlotte Summerfield Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Charlotte Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.