We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Husband's favorite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Midwood Smokehouse

Midwood Smokehouse
1401 Central Ave, Ste 101, Charlotte, NC 28205
(704) 295-4227
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 1,976 Restaurants in Charlotte
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
CHARLOTTE
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Husband's favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I'm not a big meat eater so I've defined bbq as "not meat" so that I can eat it whenever I have a chance! Midwood is terrific. We usually get a big combo plate that allows us to share ribs, pulled pork, bbq chicken and sometimes sausage or brisket. My one complaint, and the reason I didn't give this 5 stars is that they used to offer a grilled vegetable plate- pig pieces of grilled peppers, onions and other vegetables. It allowed me to have a meal of fabulous vegetables while using some of the meat my husband ordered as garnish! Still, a good place; the service is good and friendly, the portions are good, the value is good. It's always a winner--we've never had a bad meal here. Oh, they provide a choice (you get them all) of different bbq sauces; I prefer NC vinegar based, some like the sweet Miss. style and then there's mustard style (my least favorite). Something for any bbq preference.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    114
    31
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte,NC
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“tried a cuban at a bbq restaurant...it was good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I broke a rule and ate a Cuban in a place that you would not normally choose to eat one, but it was good. Made with bbq so it made it non-traditional but tasty. Sides were good and would go back to try the bbq.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Probably the best beef brisket that i have ever had. Everything we ordered was obviously freshly made and delicious.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great pulled pork, brisket”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We first discovered Midwood when it was the provider for a catered party. Was so good, used it for a work event. Was a great success. We've then eaten there multiple times. Pulled pork is great, as is the beef brisket (get the mix of fatty and lean). Sauces are superb. The turkey can be a bit dry, and I think others have better ribs. Staff have always been pleasant and positive.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Neighborhood type place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Food is good, average but nothing to "die" for. Tends to be a bit on the pricey side. Great very casual environment, noisy so not a place to have a quiet meal. Near downtown area. Varied menu

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Midwood Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Midwood Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midwood Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.