We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luke Warm” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Midwood Smokehouse

Midwood Smokehouse
1401 Central Ave, Ste 101, Charlotte, NC 28205
(704) 295-4227
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 2,008 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Luke Warm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The BBQ is really good here, but it'd be better if everything was actually served hot. Not too sure why, but everything on our plates was luke warm, some items were actually cold.

The winner is the fatty brisket and the pulled pork bbq. Skip the sausage and the mac n cheese. The ribs were pretty good too, but like I said, go with the fatty brisket and pulled pork bbq.

Also make sure the food comes out hot! Don't let them place the food under a heating lamp.

Lastly, we did have an awesome waitress who was super friendly!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    132
    38
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lived up to the rave reviews!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were visiting Charlotte for a quick trip and wanted to experience some NC BBQ, so took to Trip Advisor to locate a gem... We found it in Midwood smokehouse! The entire family voted the ribs as their favorite meat, but we enjoyed it all! The appetizers of bacon wrapped jalapeños went over well as did the brisket chili! The sides were delicious and varied- we all ordered different ones to sample! We had seen pictures of the pecan cobbler and wanted it badly... So we enjoyed it immensely! That is a must if you go! The service was fantastic and drink options plentiful... We had a local draft which added to the evening. The only drawback was the limited kids menu. It was pretty standard fare, and my son wanted ribs, which wasn't an option! So, We just ordered them off the adult menu and had plenty for all to nibble off of throughout the meal! We were glad we tried this place...you will be as well! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yum!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Really delicious. Great BBQ,, the bacon wrapped jalapeños are amazing ant the baked beans are the best anywhere. Save some room for that wonderful Southern vegetable-banana pudding! Good variety of beers on tap.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emporia,kansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good barbeque in charlotte”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

was in charlotte to visit my son. Went to Midwood one night had pulled pork and fries. Pork sandwich was very good and they had a variety of sauces. French fries were great and a very large portion in a basket like most places serve burger and fries. But they filled the basket with fries.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yummy BBQ, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Got stranded in Charlotte for the night and had to try some BBQ, made the cab ride out to experience it. There is a wide selection of local beers, guest beers, and bottled beers. The food was delicious and the atmosphere laid back. Worth the journey!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Midwood Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Midwood Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midwood Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.