We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Meal at the EPICENTER” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BlackFinn American Saloon

BlackFinn American Saloon
210 East Trade Street, Charlotte, NC
(704) 971-4440
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 1,975 Restaurants in Charlotte
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Suffield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Good Meal at the EPICENTER”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Me and two colleagues were on a business trip to Charlotte and decided we wanted to go downtown to eat. We found Blackfinn on the internet and decided to try it since it was right down town. All three of us enjoyed our meal. The hostess who greeted us at the door was great she was very pleasant and funny. Our waiter was also very nice a friendly. Overall the food was good and service was very nice. I would go back if in town again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    69
    31
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mt Gilead NC
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Meal & Great Service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is great place to go after a show at the Blumenthal. Very short walk and the menu is plentiful. The atmosphere was great around the bar and lots of big screens if you are following sports. The waitress was very attentive and did a great job answering the few questions we had. The food came out very quickly, presentation and portions were plentiful and most important it all tasted great. Prices were in line for surrounding places we have eaten in. It was very clean & comfortable. We will return after another Saturday matinee show at the Blumenthal, the true gem in downtown Charlotte. Lion King was extraordinary!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wylie, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Priced well above the quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Restaurant was clean but might have been because it was empty. Service was slow as waitresses congregated at bar incessantly. Had the iron skillet Mac n cheese with pulled pork. The Mac n cheese was crusty (and not in a good way but more like a 'been sitting out all day' way). Blackfinn tea was watered down and for $8 a huge disappointment. The "balboa" prime rib sandwich was delish and probably the only thing that saved this review from getting a "2"!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilburn, Georgia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Tasty place at the Epicenter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The dinner was good and service was good. The host went out of his way to get us seated quickly. I had the broccoli and tortellini, which was tasty, but not unusual.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callahan, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice downtown dinner fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Dinner with friends. Wait staff was incredibly attentive, knowledgeable about menu items and very pleasant. Shrimp and grits were creamy and delicious. I loved the unique preparation of the grits.

Wonderful gathering place for food and friendship renewal!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BlackFinn American Saloon also viewed

 

Been to BlackFinn American Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BlackFinn American Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.