We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart hotel, smart service, everything smart” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Charlotte Center City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added HYATT house Charlotte Center City to your Saves list
HYATT house Charlotte Center City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   435 E Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Charlotte Center City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #9 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Smart hotel, smart service, everything smart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

I liked everything about this hotel. The staff were friendly and well-presented and professional.
I didn't eat at the restaurant, but I ate a nice breakfast to start each day in the restaurant area. I truly appreciated the Hi-speed wif-fi in my room, and the nice pool area.
Nice rooms, and I also loved the dishwasher, cook top and full-sized refridgerator.
Everything about this hotel made my business stay easy and efficient.
Definitely stay there again, and recommend it for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    133
    27
    8
    2
See reviews for
90
139
26
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We were in town just one night to bring my son to school and chose the Hotel Sierra based on some previous reviews. Outstanding! The hotel is beautiful and located in a great part of town within walking distance to all major restraunts, etc. The only disappointing thing was that we could only stay one night. Also, just be prepared that if you do not want to valet your car there is a parking lot across the street. It is one of those lots that you pay at the kiosk and get a ticket for a certain amount of hours (I think 6). This is okay unless you are parking at 8 at night and need to go back over at 2:00am to pay again - no thanks! Great complimentry breakfast in the morning...we will definately be headed back when in town again. Also, it is pretty much connected to the Charlotte Bobcats arena so if they are in town it is would be worth walking over for a game!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We booked 2 adjoining rooms for a special 15th birthday expedition for my daughter and 3 friends.
The hotel is in a terrifically convenient location, the staff was friendly and helpful at every step, the rooms were very well thought-out, appointed and very clean. The beds were comfortable, the kitchenette in the king room had everything you could need and it was a perfect location for exploring downtown Charlotte on foot. The included breakfast had fresh and hot scrambled eggs, bacon , stone ground grits, french toast, fruit, breads and pastries, juices, Starbucks coffee AND made-to-order omelets!
The restaurant is also open for lunch, dinner and the bar is open later and has end-to-end big screen tv's. The menu is limited but good and quite affordable for a hotel restaurant.
The exercise room is a bit cramped and the pool on the 7th floor roof deck is very small with a view of the side of the arena. The poolside furniture was VERY nice and comfortable...no vinyl and aluminum chairs and chaise lounges, her. It would be a nice place to curl up with a book.
Last but not least, the rate was about 60% of what I have paid for other hotels in downtown Charlotte and none was this nice a place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pikeville, Kentucky
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

From the moment I handed the concierge the key to my car until the next morning when i checked out i was amazed!!! The location is perfect if your going to a concert at the Time Warner Arena or want to be within walking distance of several restaurants. The service was excellent. Everything from the front desk area to the h bar to the bedroom was exactly as the pictures showed! The beds were super comfortable. I will stay again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, FL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We recently stayed at Hotel Sierra due to the reviews here on TripAdvisor. It seems it has mostly good reviews and that factored into our decision. Unfortunately, we did not have the same experience as others.

We were debating on trying the $5 parking lot across the street from Hotel Sierra but opted not to as it looked kind of shady at the time. (Afterwards, we thought it actually is a good option as it stays lit up at night from the hotel and nearness to the streetlights, so if you want to avoid the $22 valet fee, this could possibly work.)

Upon arrival, we were promptly checked in. The front desk staff was professional but not exuding friendliness... we got the impression that they were trained to be professional but not with much personality beyond professionalism. When we arrived to the room, we found the decor and ammenities attractive. There was a full size refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, sink, stove and all the kitchen essentials. Overall, the room was not much bigger than a normal hotel room, yet this kitchen area was done well - attractive and efficient. The bathroom area was similar in that it had a lot of functionality packed into a tight space. What was dissapointing was the view. I had called a few days before our arrival explaining we were celebrating an anniversary and requested a room with a good view - our view was of a sketchy, fenced-in parking lot of a strip club!

When we went to bed, we found that we absolutely could not get comfortable. It was a very soft bed and I would think only be comfortable to those who sleep on their back. It was as if the sides of the bed were higher than the middle of the bed so we kept being pulled to the center. My husband gave up and tried the pullout couch, but... it's a pullout couch - never found one to be comfortable. In the end, he slept on the couch, while I tried the middle of the bed. We got very little sleep, to the point that we decided we had to leave a night early and find a different hotel for our stay. Hotel Sierra refunded our unused night.

We did have a chance to have breakfast before leaving and it was decent for being included in the price - a small upgrade to your basic continental as it had eggs, bacon and homefries, as well as made to order omelets. Overall, however, the point of a hotel is to be able to rest away from home. Since we could not do that and it literally left us exhausted the next day, we would not recommend Hotel Sierra.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed here as part of an anniversary getaway. It was a clean and modern hotel with an urban vibe and hip decor. The valet was out first impression, and there were plenty of staff to keep things moving at a swift pace during a very busy check-in time. Parking does cost $22 - a bit pricey even for the city. The room rates are reasonable for the location and amenities, so perhaps it evens out. There is a free, hot breakfast included in the rate that easily balances out the parking. The breakfast was good - not great, but decent. The coffee was hot and plentiful, the line was long (again, free food should make for a more patient guest), and the food continuously replenished. The bed was SUPER comfortable, the room spotless with a new construction smell, and well-equipped with iPod deck, great flat screen TV, and free, easy to access wifi. Joshua at teh check-in desk was awesome! He was friendly, efficient, and greeted everyone with a warm smile and the utmost courtesy. It was refreshing to see someone providing genuinely sincere customer service. The 24/7 pantry was cool instead of a mini bar. The bar scene was a little too young for our tastes, but once in our room, it was quiet and relaxing. I would definitely stay here again, especially if I were going to an event at Time Warner next door. Great location, nice service, and good atmosphere. The breakfast could be improved and the bar scene could detract from the experience if looking to have a romantic drink in your hotel. Although we didn't order from the room service menu, we were impressed by the low prices.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Hotel Sierra in Charlotte was nothing short of incredible. New, clean, modern decor, great food, convenient location, and reasonably priced. Easy walk to Epicenter and downtown spots.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house Charlotte Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Charlotte Center City

Address: 435 E Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Charlotte Center City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Charlotte Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt house Charlotte Center City blends urban chic with the convenience of guest-empowered travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 163 smartly designed guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations and waffle terry bathrobes while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Starbucks brewed coffee and WI-FI throughout. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or Rooftop Terrace with lounge pool, alluring fireplace and cozy seating. Conveniently located adjacent to Time Warner Cable Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your HYATT house Charlotte Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Charlotte Center City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.