We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food, Fantastic Food, Great Selection of Drinks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dandelion Market

Dandelion Market
118 W 5th Street, Charlotte, NC 28202
+1 704-333-7989
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 1,975 Restaurants in Charlotte
Cuisines: American, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Dandelion Market provides Uptown Charlotte with a place for friends and family to gather and enjoy the best in food and drink, served with a smile. We are open 7 days a week from 11:00am to 2:00am, serving lunch, brunch and our signature small plates dinner menu, designed for sharing and exploring. We offer a full bar featuring 24 craft beers on draft and our 25 bottle wine list, each priced at $25.
duke13rules
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome food, Fantastic Food, Great Selection of Drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was our first time trying Dandelion Market and we had a wonderful experience. We had a Living Social deal so we weren't sure what to expect. (I've had bad experiences using these deals at places before,) I shouldn't have worried though. There were plenty of food choices and our waitress helped to walk us through making our selections as well as offering ideas for getting the most out of our deal. The food was amazing! The drink list has several specialty cocktails, as well as a good sized wine and beer list, including several local brews. Overall it was a great experience and I would highly recommend this place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    54
    12
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newton,nc
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed....but recovered”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The venue is awesome. We had a drink at the bar and lookjng back we should have STAYED at the bar and eaten dinner. Our waitress, Annie, could have cared less. She used the words "whatever" atleast 3 times when we were ordering. She was so inattentive.....didn't bring dressing with the salad......didn't offer wine selections with the tapas.....I had to go to the kitchen to get dressing for the salad.......had to walk to bar and get my wine for entree because she was standing around the kitchen area chatting....HOWEVER the atmosphere and the food are still great! I will try it one more time....service was disappointing. e

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast, usa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service, Friendly Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is our second visit in the last year, and both times were great. The tapa style menu is inspired by a variety of cultures, and is all well prepared. The waitresses have been friendly and accommodating to our large groups each time.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was the best meal we had in Charlotte. We loved the menu selection (things for both the picky and those who want to try new things). The red pepper and articoke dip was fantasic.

The only thing we didn't like was the Jameson cupcake. It the cupcake itself was dry and the icing was a little hard.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rudeness was not necessary”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Surprising that from the hostess, to the waiters, to the manager we have never experienced a more unsettling and rude atmosphere. Just asking a question regarding a particular table brought a very rude and sarcastic over reaction from one waiter, our waitress seemed put out to even be there, and after requesting to speak to the manager we came to understand that the attitude seemed to be coming from the top down. Much of dining is a pleasant and relaxed atmosphere, and unfortunately those on duty this particular visit seemed combative at best. We have never done this in 33 years of marriage, but we felt so uncomfortable we left the restaurant before ordering. Our feelings were confirmed when we met some folks walking by on the sidewalk who had the same experience and kindly recommended some other options. If you are looking for a nice meal in a relaxed atmosphere our experience suggests that you try Dresslers or Dolce, - relaxed and professional places with very nice offerings.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dandelion Market also viewed

 

Been to Dandelion Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dandelion Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.