We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Firebirds Wood Fired Grill

Firebirds Wood Fired Grill
3920 Sharon Road, Morrison Shops, Charlotte, NC 28211
+1 704-366-3655
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 1,976 Restaurants in Charlotte
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Firebirds is a collection of polished casual restaurants offering a refined atmosphere, top-notch service and upscale dining at a modest price. We are known for our authentic, wood-fired entrees infused with bold flavors, fresh herbs & spices. Our restaurants feature a selection of aged steaks hand-cut in the restaurant, fresh seafood, chicken & ribs seared over local hickory, oak or pecan wood.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I love this restaurant, have been eating there since it opened 12 years ago. Exceptional food, great atmosphere! Get there early as this place gets crowded and it stays crowded until closing because it is such a great place. Nice bar and outstanding appetizers!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    61
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
mahwah nj
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

they never dissapoint !!!!!!!!!!!!! Order pretty much anything...the salmon and ribs are great...always a good time and money well spent...others would say pricey, I say, there is nothing else around to compare !

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic steak and shrimp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I started with a BLT salad which was unique and fantastic. My main course was prime rib with shrimp on the side ... also fantastic.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“I don't get it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Though I live in NJ, I visit my family often in Charlotte. One of their favorite restaurants is Firebirds Wood Fired Grill. I cannot understand why. It is always very crowded and noisy, the staff is easily confused by orders, and the prices are quite high. Fortunately my daughter is aware of the little-known fact that you can call ahead even when they are longer taking reservations. The last time we visited, we called ahead an hour before we wanted to enter and were placed on the wait list. By the time we arrived, we were taken immediately though many others had been waiting at the restaurant before us. If I had been one of those loyal patrons, I would have been very upset to see my party just walk right in.

It was so noisy in the restaurant that we had to yell our orders. My daughter asked if it would be possible to have a half wine/half club soda. The waitress said she was sure it would be. Me daughter received a whole glass of wine and a club soda. She was charged $12 or the total for each. I also found the children's menu to be high priced for anything but the ribs which seemed tender and worth the price.

Though two of my party asked for medium-well done steak, it arrived rare, very rare and had to be sent back. The cost of these meals would not have been considered too high except that all salads or veggies are a la carte. I think the quality of food is not even as high as some northern diners. Perhaps my expectations are just too high; however, I will decline another invitation to visit this restaurant in the future.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great place for a chain - nice environment and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

While I'm not crazy about chain restaurants, this one performs very well. The food is well-prepared and fresh. The service is generally good, although somewhat chain-like (friendly but not so professional service).

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firebirds Wood Fired Grill also viewed

 

Been to Firebirds Wood Fired Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firebirds Wood Fired Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.