We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wooden Vine Wine Bar & Bistro

The Wooden Vine Wine Bar & Bistro
231 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202
+1 704-376-8463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #155 of 2,007 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: American, Bistro, Wine Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Wooden Vine Wine Bar & Bistro is a unique combination of a wine bar with an award winning wine list and a bistro feauring a seasonal Modern American locally fresh cuisine. It has a rustic cozy atmosphere which is perfect for a special date night, an outing with friends, special events, wine tastings, wine dinners,etc. It has live entertainment on the weekends. Known as Uptown Charlotte's wine and gastronimic sanctuary.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved this wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

My husband and I went to Charlotte for our 1 your anniversary and stopped in here to have wine and an appetizer. The service, wine, and appetizer were great! We absolutely loved this place!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    20
    3
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Tapas Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We came to this tapas and wine bar after having visited there on the Tour de Food Uptown. We shared rabbit pot pie that was succulent and flavorful. There was a sweetness to the dish that was intriguing. The vegetables retained some texture and added a pleasing crunch. Our next dish was lamb bahn mi sliders. These were outstanding on crisp toasted bread, soft on the inside. Flavorful toppings made it very tasty. The crab cakes allowed the crab to be the star, but added enough garnish to make it unique. Finally we shared the red neck wedding cake which was outstanding. The spicy nuts made the dish very interesting instead of just a good chocolate care with cheerwine(!) icing. They are not afraid to go bold in this restaurant and it succeeds. I hope they get more business so that they stay around!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Gem in Uptown Charlotte”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Cozy atmosphere, awesome menu and the staff is extremely knowledgeable about wine. Great place for the wine enthusiast.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Would not honor a coupon from restaurant.com”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The restaurant was cute but they prepared some good food but also some poorly cooked food. The duck wings were impossible to eat and the chef admitted it was not cooked right. To make matters worse they refused to take a coupon from restaurant.com. They were very rude about it and blamed the owner for the decision (who was not even there). I would recommend that all members of tripadvisor to stay far away from this place. Charlotte has must better places than this.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UptownChef, General Manager at The Wooden Vine Wine Bar & Bistro, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
I would first like to apologize for the way that was handled. We have had a unfortunate problem with restaurant.com and their coupon. We would like to make this up to you. Please come by and have a meal on us. We will also reimburse you for the coupon you purchased. You can email me if you have any questions or concerns at Nicolas@thewoodenvine.com I hope you will give us the chance to make this up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing, Scrumptious Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

I ended up at this location by mistake but boy oh boy I was pleasantly surprised. The food was great!!! First I have to tell you the short ribs were the best I ever had. The scallops were great also. There was a dimly lit ambiance which made the environment and wine that much smoother. The service was just ok though. I will be there the next time I am in Charlotte, fo sho!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wooden Vine Wine Bar & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Wooden Vine Wine Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wooden Vine Wine Bar & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.