We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible smell!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Charlotte UNCC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Charlotte UNCC to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Charlotte UNCC
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5111 Equipment Dr, Charlotte, NC 28269   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Horrible smell!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Room ok but had to be switched to another room because of super strong chemical odor! Location a bit sketchy. Prob wouldn't return. Check your room before you stay!! Front desk staff was very helpful though!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    31
    17
    17
    23
See reviews for
21
24
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Location looked a bit scetchy. Front desk emoloyees were very nice and helpful. We booked 2 rooms for the weekend. One was recently renovated while ours was not. The smell in the hallway as we wall to our rooms was terrible but it got way worse when we opened our door. It had a strong chemical odor. Out other room smelled fine. I told the front desk clerk who immediately came to see for himself. He agreed it was bad but had no other room to move us to as they were booked. He did go get us some room spray and promised to move us the next night. Wasn't terrible hotel and the service was great but I'd def want to see my room in advance next time.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed at this Red Roof Inn last April while attending the 4 Wide Nationals at Zmax Dragway; it was a typically good Red Roof experience, so I stayed again this year for the race. This facility is being completely renovated, and the Superior King room that I had was recently renovated. As always, the room was clean, comfortable, and everything in it worked. I paid $40.49 per night which is an unbeatable value! One minor issue was an insufficient number of electrical outlets, so the microwave and coffee maker were not plugged in. If I had wanted to use one or both of them, I would have had to unplug the TV or the refrigerator or both. Since I didn't use the microwave or coffee maker; it didn't inconvenience me at all, but I mentioned it to management for resolution. I highly recommend this Red Roof Inn!

Room Tip: The Superior King rooms are larger, and have a microwave and refrigerator. They are well worth the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Spent one night alone here during the week of April 7, 2013 for orientation with Schneider National. And while the company covered cost of lodging, I found the double room to be relatively clean, but somewhat smelly and dated. Upon room entry, the carpet smelled of urine (which may have in fact been mold) and although functional, the television and appliances were old compared to similar properties of same value and size. Room bedding was nice, but the mattresses lacked sufficient body/sleep support. The bathroom floor, vanity, tub/shower and toilet were remarkably decent, fresh and clean and best of all was the heating and air unit. I'm cold natured and was able to adjust the thermostat for quick comfort.

I would definitely stay here again. Front desk personel were cordial and friendly, the location's not so bad and Red Roof Inn Charlotte UNCC provides good Wi Fi.

Room Tip: Ask to view room prior to key card receipt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had reserved rooms at this hotel a month ago as we were traveling to Charlotte for the dog show. And I must say that our experience with this hotel was superb. We had requested a room at first floor as my wife just came out of a hip injury. They not only gave us room at first floor but they went out of their way every time to help me getting my wife in and out of hotel. The rooms are good and neat. It seems they have recently put new flat screen TVs. Over all a superb hotel with a superb staff

Room Tip: Ask for the king rooms they are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was pretty decent for the money. All rooms had inside corridors They had a big room. Nice and clean and a refrigerator, microwave and flat screen TV. There was even room for a small table and 2 office chairs. The carpeting could use replacing.The bathroom was rather small and it would be an issue for some especially the slow draining shower. Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. BTW they also have your typical continental breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toccoa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

well i found a subway sandwitch bag at head of bed,shower head was broken,went to gym not one thing worked not even the t v.,walk to cooked out restruant for food kept my hand in my pocket with knife in hand,not safe at all.food was great,i walked back so fast my food was stell hot.called for 3am wake up call,on 3am call,when leaving at 330am i saw why i didnt get my wake up call,the man at the frontdesk was asleep in a chair.one more thing i stell have a back ake from the bed,hey they did have flat screan tv

Room Tip: go south on 85 4or 5 miles things are much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Charlotte UNCC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Charlotte UNCC

Address: 5111 Equipment Dr, Charlotte, NC 28269
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Charlotte UNCC 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Roof Inn University of North Carolina Charlotte is ideally located within 5 miles of popular attractions, including The University of North Carolina, Lowes Motor Speedway, Metrolina Expo Trade Center, and Bank of America Stadium.Red Roof Charlotte UNCC is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms, a comfortable easy chair and more. Free continental breakfast offered daily 7am to 10am. Enjoy free popcorn in the evening—it’s a great way to end a hard day of work or play. Guests will also enjoy relaxing in the seasonal outdoor pool and working out in the well equipped fitness room. All rooms offer free WiFi and dataport. Experience our complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee & tea. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Charlotte UNCC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Charlotte Uncc Hotel Charlotte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Charlotte UNCC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.