We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare before my meeting” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Charlotte UNCC

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Charlotte UNCC to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Charlotte UNCC
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5111 Equipment Dr, Charlotte, NC 28269   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 170 hotels in Charlotte
Asheville, NC
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nightmare before my meeting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I usually stay @ Red Roof Inn when I travel. I had a very important medical conference to attend and thought I would stay here....Since there is a word limit I will break this down..
>Toilet was broken. Handle and the inside of the tank was missing.
>Mat on bottom of tub coming up with white string glue consuming the entire bath.
>Handle to sink broke off in hand.
>Blood found on floor next to tub.
Changed rooms...
>water bubble ready to break above the bathtub.
>2 Box TV's that did not work.
> Overwhelming smell of cigarettes in the room.
> Mattress had springs poking thru it.
>Knobs in bathroom were missing.
Received refund and paid only 30$ more for the Hilton suite w/whirlpool. I do not have high expectations...and this was WAAAY below what any hotel should have!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else! Need to be renovated!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    27
    15
    15
    21
See reviews for
20
20
11
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The check in staff was great! He was knowledgeable about the area and next time he saw me asked if the room was ok and if I needed anything extra. The room was nice and it was the perfect location! The price was just right! I would definitely stay at a Red Roof again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We had to get switched from one room to another because the heat & lamp didn't work. The room was very outdated. The new room we were switched to was very updated and more modern in style. All the rooms should be updated, especially if you are paying the same price.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I've been to Charlotte, NC several times and the first time there I stayed at this Red Roof Inn. I was very pleased with the check-in staff. They were extremely helpful with answering all questions. With their policy of pets stay for free; that was a big plus. I booked on-line but thought once I got there I would find out otherwise but was shocked that my dogs did stay free. With other places charging anywhere from $10-$20 a night it has saved me a lot of money. Parking was good. Breakfast is typical with bagel, muffins, waffles, milk, and coffee (cereal I think, I go for the waffles). The morning staff was very nice and does quick check-outs. They were helpful with one stay where I needed to extend my stay; it was done quickly and without any issues. Overall I love staying at this hotel and will be back a couple more times in the next few months. I don't even bother looking for other hotels b/c this one meets all my needs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Never stayed at a Red roof in before but after trying it the first night of our trip and having such a wonderful experience we deceided to try it for our second night. we made prior reservations and when we got to the inn at night we found that they never had our reservations. we were told no problem we fill still honor the price. I have severe back problems but was made to walk upstairs not only once but twice. needless to say it was late and i was very upset. the front desk man at night didnt really handle himself about the situation very well. Then came Miguel. He turned a bad situation into a great experience. gave me an upgraded room because he saw how upset i was. we stayed for three nights. between Miguel taking care of a situation that was becoming a disaster and the front desk day lady who was so warm and sincere i felt like i was very at home. the room was beautiful and the people wonderful. i will always look for red roof in for my first choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed in Red Roof for two nights. The experience was Excellent. I arrived late in night but there was a very friendly gentleman to check me in. He helped me with my luggage and gave an excellent room with a nice TV. The bed was comfortable and I enjoyed my stay a lot. And I also saw housekeeping staff putting in lot of effort to make sure my room was clean and smelled excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated rooms with Flat screen TVs. They are excellent and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed in a room with two double beds last weekend while in town for Repticon (time to buy some new tarantulas). There were three of us in our party and the stay was very pleasant.
The hotel was convenient, very competitively priced, and comfortable. The room was fairly clean, with only a few noticeable hiccups.
I noticed that the floor behind the bathroom door had not been mopped in some time (looks like the floor was always cleaned with the door open), and the bathroom light could not be turned off (we just left the bathroom door slightly open to provide a nightlight for our young one, so it actually worked out fine).
The breakfast was basic, but delicious and filling.
Overall, a good experience that exceeded our expectations for a simple one-night stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Inn Charlotte UNCC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Charlotte UNCC

Address: 5111 Equipment Dr, Charlotte, NC 28269
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 170 hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Charlotte UNCC 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Roof Inn University of North Carolina Charlotte is ideally located within 5 miles of popular attractions, including The University of North Carolina, Lowes Motor Speedway, Metrolina Expo Trade Center, and Bank of America Stadium.Red Roof Charlotte UNCC is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms, a comfortable easy chair and more. Free continental breakfast offered daily 7am to 10am. Enjoy free popcorn in the evening—it’s a great way to end a hard day of work or play. Guests will also enjoy relaxing in the seasonal outdoor pool and working out in the well equipped fitness room. All rooms offer free WiFi and dataport. Experience our complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee & tea. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn and Otel so you can book your Red Roof Inn Charlotte UNCC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Charlotte Uncc Hotel Charlotte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Charlotte UNCC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;