We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In town for businessn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne to your Saves list
Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13139 Ballantyne Corporate Place, Charlotte, NC 28277 (Ballantyne East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #28 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Needham, Massachusetts
1 review
“In town for businessn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Great place, staff friendly, bar fun... sean and steven were great. Found everyone to be very nice and helpful. They had entertainment in the bar that night and he was great. Played music I could relate to and found myself wanting to hear more. The atmosphere was great, some folks lplaying pool, hotel close to my business meeting and did not need to worry about a thing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwhitmarsh01, Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear forever763,
We are happy to learn you didn’t have to worry about a thing during your visit! We are glad you enjoyed the hotel atmosphere, and we are fortunate to have Sean and Steven as team members here at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne. We hope your travels will bring you back to us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    68
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
63
35
25
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holiday, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Very nice... pet friendly, clean, professional staff. Hotel is kind'a Ikea-ish but very practical and with well laid out rooms. Space is used very economically but comfort is not sacrificed! No extra frills that are usually not used. Basics, but frills available if you want. We normally request "no housekeeper services" for a two or thee day stay, here they give a voucher for their snack area "for going green". Nice touch. Supplied pet bed, bowels and snacks.. 4 l4gg4d kids liked that...

Room Tip: Ask for a room in back... away from parking lot.
See more room tips
Green Features: Outstanding green practices....even reserved spaces for hybrid vehicles!
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwhitmarsh01, Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear KerryHoliday,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay. We are so happy to know you and your 4-legged friends enjoyed your time with us! We are glad that you were able to “Make a Green Choice” as well. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Great location not too far off of the main highway, and right across from a town center with a variety of restaurants and shopping. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to ensure comfort. Sean and Mike in the lounge bar were great and provided us a lot of information. This was the perfect stop to break up a long road trip.

Room Tip: If the pet friendly option doesn't suit you, just ask during reservation or when you arrive to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwhitmarsh01, Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear fell0w_traveler17,

Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to know that you were happy with our location and the variety of shops around. We are lucky to have Sean and Mike on our team as they are perfect examples of our high level of guest service. We look forward to having you back to our property soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Matilda, PA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

As noted by other reviewers, the rooms are austere but functional. My room was comfortable, but my sleep was disturbed by an intermittent mechanical humming (not the heating system, which was also not quiet) and people talking and a dog barking. The front-desk staff were very friendly. My checkout email showed an incorrect $1 charge for food/beverage. The staff promised to remove the charge and email me a new receipt. The "corrected" receipt was identical to the original and a follow-up email to the manager was ignored. Eventually fighting the false charge on principle is no longer worth the effort. I have, however, been bombarded by their corporate office to complete a 10-minute survey.

Green Features: Aloft's incentive system for environmental consciousness is a win-win-win. The hotel saves money on laundry, the guest gets chits for food or hotel points, and the environment is less impacted.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwhitmarsh01, Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear WizofID,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is nice to know your room was comfortable however we apologize that your sleep was interrupted. We would love the opportunity to know which room you were in so we can look into the mechanical noise. As we are a pet friendly hotel, we are happy to make a notation on any future reservations to place you on a pet-free floor. Please contact our Assistant General Manager, Chad Olmstead, at colmstead@aloftcharlotteballantyne.com and he will gladly assist with any corrections to your bill. We hope to have a chance to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I'm becoming more and more of a fan of hotels like the Aloft. They focus on providing the necessities in an attractive, functional, yet comfortable way.

Besides the efficiency, we chose the Aloft because they allowed pets and we were in the middle of a road trip down with our dog. Due to weather and traffic, we arrived 3 hours later than expected. We called the hotel and the desk clerk was nice and helpful and let us know they would have a room ready for us.

We ended up arriving at 2am. The service couldn't have been better. They hey handled the check-in efficiently and got me to my room quickly.

Here is where my only complaint lies... we noticed the dog kept sniffing under the bed. We looked under the bed and found a half-eaten sandwich in a plastic container. Normally I would have complained, but we were too tired and the sandwich was in a container versus just tossed under the bed. Still, a let down and dark spot on an otherwise nice stay.

In the end, I'm happy with the stay. The people were great and the service was great. I am disappointed in the room cleanliness and that's what keeps them from the "5 dot" rating they would have otherwise deserved.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwhitmarsh01, Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear eldub1999,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that we were able to accommodate you and your furry friend during your stay and that our staff met your needs. We greatly apologize for the cleanliness of your room as we take this extremely seriously and it does not meet our high cleanliness standards. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Our refresh team is aware and working to ensure this does not happen in the future. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We found this hotel to be noisy with people yelling during the night and dogs barking day and night. Bedding was uncomfortable with a
stiff comforter and overstuffed pillows. Lighting in the room was weird.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwhitmarsh01, Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Studioc,

We appreciate you for taking the time to share your experience. We apologize for the noise you experienced during your stay and thank you for the feedback regarding the bedding. While we are a pet friendly hotel, we will make a notation for your return stay to be placed on a pet free floor. We also have different pillow options so please contact us directly before your next stay so we can change them all to your preference. We hope that you will give Aloft another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

The service I was given! the beautiful rooms! and the help was second to none! Karla Pietras is such an amazing Manager and helped with getting the group discount for our families coming in from WI, FL, & Dominican Republic, for the surprise proposal, the Bridal Shower providing us with the "tactical room" and then for the Wedding a few months later was so amazing!! We cannot thank her and her staff enough for the help and commitment to deliver what they promised!!!! Being with us, helping from day one makes us feel like she is part of the family! Karla we thank you from the bottom of our hearts!

Love Luis & Lindsey Perez!!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwhitmarsh01, General Manager at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Luis P,

Congratulations on your wedding! We are thrilled that we were a part of such a special occasion. Thank you for your feedback and it is great to know that the staff and Karla exceeded your expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne

Address: 13139 Ballantyne Corporate Place, Charlotte, NC 28277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Ballantyne East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#21 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#25 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#38 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate your style at Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne Hotel, set along the grassy greens of The Golf Club at Ballantyne in an upscale lifestyle community, and in the heart of Ballantyne Corporate Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.