We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brio Tuscan Grille

Brio Tuscan Grille
4720 Piedmont Row Dr, Ste 150, Charlotte, NC 28210-2605 (Barclay Downs)
704-571-4214
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #159 of 1,940 restaurants in Charlotte
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Barclay Downs
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Always excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I've eaten here many times for business meals but never thought to review it!

When I eat here, it's always at lunch time, so I can't give my opinion of dinner service. However, I have nothing but praise for the lunch service. Brio's is always full to the brim, and with good reason; the food here is excellent! Many people say that it's over priced, but I really don't share this view. Yes, you can get an expensive meal, but there are lots of choices for under $15, and the lunch meals are HUGE! They also have lunch specials for under $9.
My favorites are the salad options, but they're not boring run of the mill salads. They are packed with fresh mixed lettuce, with a variety of cheese, fruits, nuts, and meats. There are also some salad pasta options. Dressing are the best I've ever tasted.
Business guests I've taken there always comment on how good Brio's is, and very often ask to return (even though Southpark area is full of restaurants). The décor is spectacular; classy, but not snobby.

There is a great choice of food to choose from, and sourdough and flatbread (really good) are delivered to the table while you wait. Salads, pasta's, fish, meat, vegetarian. All excellent, I would recommend Brio's to anyone, I've honestly never heard a bad word from people (I know) who've eaten here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    32
    34
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great food and wine! Nice atmosphere and nice bar with music. Always a favorite place to visit when I am in Charlotte for business. Good location near the South Park Mall.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lackadaisical waiter and food poisoning! Don't think I'll be back.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We had eaten at this restaurant in Ohio and it was nice. Unfortunately, the one in Charlotte was horrible. The waiter had an attitude of absolute indifference and the food, which I ate very little of, sent me to the hospital with food poisoning. We ordered a drink and the glasses were about 3/4 full which always irks me. When a drink costs $8.50 you should at least get a full glass. The restaurant has a nice ambiance but that's it. We'll never return to this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great service and great food everytime we go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My wife and I have gone to this restaurant many times. Whether it's for lunch or dinner, the service is excellent and the food is tasty. There is also a wide variety of choices on the menu. The deserts are fantastic so try and leave some room for them!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Food, So-So Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We went on a Monday night, so there was plenty of room. Started our visit at the bar where we enjoyed the white peach sangria, a special at $5. These were so good! Our husbands had martinis, and we laughed at the bill, their drinks were twice the price of ours. The outdoor patio was really pretty, too cool at our visit but it would be great in warmer weather. The hostess seated us promptly at a nice, large booth. The atmosphere in Brio is really warm and relaxing, so we settled in for a leasurely meal with good friends. Good thing we were leasurely because the service was slow. Our waiter was trying, but his inexperience was obvious. Several times we had to ask more than once for more bread, more water and so on. However, almost everything we ate was a WOW. Highlights were the Shrimp and Eggplant appetizer, so interesting; a blackend sea bass special served over lightly sauteed spinach and roasted potatoes; artichoke crusted beef medallions (way better than it sounds) in some sort of rich sauce that was amazing; and the Gorgonzola Crusted Bistecca. The Bistecca is normally an 8 oz portion which they cheerfully changed to a 5 oz medallion. It's pretty unusual these days to go to a restaurant (especially a chain) and find this kind of imaginative and fantastic food. We will definately return! With a better trained wait staff, Brio could be a 5 star experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brio Tuscan Grille also viewed

 

Been to Brio Tuscan Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brio Tuscan Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.