We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gold Standard in Charlotte” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 E. Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28211 (First Ward)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
GreenLeadersSilver level
foobarthepancanman
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The Gold Standard in Charlotte”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Ritz Carlton Charlotte does not disappoint -- even though our business was outside downtown Charlotte, we chose to stay on the Ritz Carlton due to its proximity to the Epicenter and many of the high end bars and restaurants in town. From check in to check out, the Ritz Carlton lived up to its reputation and made our stay most enjoyable.

Room Tip: We were told to select a room on the side opposite the Epicenter for a quiet stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    58
    16
    11
    9
See reviews for
46
121
23
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I have stayed in many Ritz-Carltons and this one was alright. New, with modern decoration we were very comfortable. Unfortunately the sofa bed was incredibly uncomfortable and I ened up sleeping on the floor instead. The amenities were wonderful as usual, there was even a television in the mirror. Our TV was broken when we first got to the room but it was quickly repaired. We ate in the hotel restaurant, BLT and it was delicious. We ate breakfast at the coffee shop, and it was disappointing. It was also strange to go up to the 3rd level and be with business men next to Citi bank. The view was not nice from our suite.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Simply stated, this is one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in. My wife and I went for an overnight visit. From start to finish, this hotel knows how to make you feel special. Sparkling wine upon arrival, manager's reception on the 15th floor, beautiful rooms and bathroom, great indoor pool and hottub and even some cookies in our car when we left. Wow! Just Wow! Will definitely go back, and strongly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

The best business hotel I have stayed in whilst in the US.

Stunning decor, enormous rooms with TVs in the bathroom mirrors. Really comfy beds, with blankets between the mattress and sheets for that princess-and-the-pea experience.

Attentive and chatty staff, nice bar and lobby. The breakfasts could be better- the healthy option is sweet and not all that healthy.

No better location for the major banks, and the social hub, the epicentre.

Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This was my first stay at a Ritz property. My husband is a Platinum rewards member, so we were immediately upgraded to a gorgeous corner executive suite, complete with a fresh fruit plate and cold water. The rooms were very clean, furnishings were nice (although showed very slight wear), and service was hands down amazing. There was some slight noise outside the room, but it is expected in the middle of a city. Everyone was extremely nice and accommodating. Valet was kind enough to drive us to dinner in their courtesy car. Location is ideal to explore the city and perfect place to stay after a show in Time Warner Cable Arena. The bar, Urban Sip, had gorgeous views of the city at night and was perfect for a night cap. Hope to return very soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room on a high floor if you are concerned about road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Have stayed here twice in 2012, don't remember the exact dates. Both time, I was very pleased with the service and rooms. It's a Ritz so you know you will get the quality that comes with the name. Was not cheap, but you don't come to the Ritz expecting cheap.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very nice accommodations, convenient downtown location. My only gripe was that the night before a very important day of work, I could not fall asleep due to the pounding music at the club across the street. At 1am, I called the front desk and asked if I could switch rooms. In 15 minutes, they moved me into a 1 bedroom suite on the quiet side of the building (ask to stay in a room with even numbers if you are a light sleeper). Also had a fantastic massage at the spa after a long day of work and travel with only 15 minutes notice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte

Address: 201 E. Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > First Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#4 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#8 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#9 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#22 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte Hotel Charlotte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.