We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Happy we stayed here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 E. Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28211 (First Ward)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So Happy we stayed here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

The front desk couldnt have been more accomidating. I had lost my wallet on the plane and they took so much care in getting all my id and credit credits cancelled and replaced. Not only is this a lovely hotel, but I will never forget what a spectacular staff they employ. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    58
    16
    11
    9
See reviews for
46
121
23
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We traveled to Charlotte, NC for a pro football game. It was a very short stay, just two nights. But we didn't want to leave when our stay was over. And had we known how delightful the hotel and stuff were, we would have booked a longer stay. Each staff person we encountered was warm, friendly and helpful. They seemed to somehow anticipate our needs. I would highly recommend this top notch hotel.
We booked the Parlor suite room 1011. The highlights: It's a REAL suite. Not just one big room. Separate living room and bedroom. It even had a half bath. The full bath was so nice, that I wish I could have taken it home with me. The bed was luxurious. The room was spotless. And they have the best in-room coffee that I've ever had.
The only issue with room 1011 would be that if faces the Epic Center and the noise from there is major. If you're a light sleeper, this is NOT the room for you.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room that is not across from the Epic center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

After a long journey coming from Midtown, GA landing at this hotel was the ultimate treat! It's a new Ritz so the room has the newest technology and updated comfortable amenities. There's even a high end espresso maker for use! The room was spectacular! Great roomy bed and the bathroom was remarkable. We felt so relaxed and didn't want to get up and head to the airport leaving behind such a relaxing place. At night we walked across the street to the Epicenter and we popped into many restaurants and bars. The sushi spot is the best. Checking things out was fun! We even made it to a rodeo next door and headed back to our hotel and again the Epicenter.

One thing, if you are looking for a quiet hotel, this hotel is not going to be good for you unless you ask to face the opposite direction. The noise is loud until the bars close. In the morning it was loud as well. This didn't bother us as we were enjoying the fun town.

We would stay here again next time we are in Charlotte!!!

Room Tip: Top floor opposite direction of the Epicenter for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Overall the hotel property and staff were great but it is right across the street from the Epicenter in uptown Charlotte - http://epicentrenc.com/

The Epicenter is super loud on weekend nights until 1 or 2 am. The Ritz puts sound machines in each room.

So you have a choice. Stay awake listening the sound machine or stay awake getting blasted from the epicenter.

I will not stay here again on a weekend

Room Tip: No real good views from this hotel, get room away from trade street for lower noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

The hotel was tremendous! The entire staff, from the bell-hops, to the waiting staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The only downfall for our stay was that our room was facing the street and even from the 7th floor we had street noise and dance music from the clubs across the street.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

The Ritz Carlton Charlotte is a nice city hotel. I no longer consider Ritz Carltons to be on the level of a Peninsula or a Four Seasons and in order to align one's expectations please do not think Ritz Carlton in San Francisco or New York (either of them). This is a new hotel in a nice location that went just far enough to call itself a luxury hotel. This is not a negative, just a description of what the hotel is. If one's expectations are in line the hotel can provide an excellent place to stay while visiting Charlotte.

Rooms: The rooms are spacious and well appointed. They are new, and therefore have all of the current appointments (noise machine, iPod dock, large flat screen, etc.). The first time I stayed here I had a regular King room that was very nice. This time I had a two room Executive Suite that exceeded my expectations. It was a very nice room. There were two small issues: the room had an off-putting but not overwhelming odor and the HVAC would not cool the room to my desired temperature of 68 degrees. Nevertheless, the rooms of this hotel are a strong suit!

Restaurant and Bar(s): The restaurant is an average to above-average steak house and the lobby bar is just what its name implies. . .a bar spread throughout the lobby of the hotel. Neither is memorable but both are adequate. I have now eaten breakfast, lunch and dinner in the restaurant and I do not recommend either of the three. However, there are some good restaurants within a two block walk so this really isn't a major negative. The lobby bar could be anywhere. The one highlight of this segment of the hotel is the new bar in the 15th floor (I think it's called Urban Sip?). I liked the atmosphere and the wait staff was knowledgeable and friendly. This will be a cool spot to hang out once they get the kinks out.

Work-Out Room: The work-out room is on top of the hotel, above and connected to the spa. The space is wonderful and the weights are very nice. However, the cardio equipment did not meet my expectations. The Precor equipment was older than it should have been and there were no new model ellipticals. Most won't care, but as the few who do know, these machines are updated quite frequently with new technology and ALL luxury hotels update their inventory. This is not a significant investment and one place the hotel can improve rather easily.

Location: The location is very good and central. As mentioned earlier there are many bars and restaurants located very close to the hotel. The arena where the pro basketball team plays is next door and the football stadium is a moderate walk. A good location for sure.

Service: The service is above what I expected. It has been each time I've stayed here. A well trained staff with a good attitude. The effort and "genuine caring" is there.

Overall, the rooms and service earn the hotel the 4 rating but comparison against truly elegant city hotels ( Peninsula in Beverly Hills and Chicago, Mandarin in Las Vegas for example) keeps it from a 5 rating. As I stated in my title, it is a nice city hotel.

Room Tip: Executive Suite 1611 is a very nice room with nice city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Well worth the time to have a night here. Went and had a massage and then dinner afterwards. Rooms are huge, Massage was perfect and the atmosphere was absolutely fantastic. You have to stay there at least once if you are in Charlotte.

Room Tip: standard guest room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte

Address: 201 E. Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > First Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#4 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#8 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#9 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#22 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte Hotel Charlotte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.