We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vietnam Grill

Vietnam Grill
5615 South Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28217-4129
(704) 525-2408
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 1,849 Restaurants in Charlotte
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Took my wife for a nice lunch. Something different so I chose this place as a surprise for her. The place was busy, and the scent inside as we opened the door and entered just made our mouths water. The scent of southeast Asian cuisine right here in Charlotte.

The kind, smiley young waitress informed us of the house special which we both chose: the Bun Dac Biet (char-grilled chicken, shrimps, meatballs and spring roll over vermicelli noodles over a bed of shredded lettuce, grated carrots, cilantro and cucumbers). A nice sweet nuoc mam sauce on the side and VOILA. We also ordered the Cha Gio (crispy spring roll) for appetizer with a side of nuoc mam sweet sauce. And the price is priced right.

If you desire to have a non-Southern cuisine while you're in Charlotte visiting or if you live here, definitely go to this gem on South Boulevard. It's located at a very busy thoroughfare.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    16
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Both my daughter and I are chefs and we must say that you have enjoyed everything we have tried. The food is very fresh and tasty. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

It is difficult to describe...it was so good. The place is small...but spotless. The food was absolutely FANTASTIC! When ordering the owner came out, explained everything and made some suggestions...and he was absolutely correct. It was outstanding. We had the Pho, the rice, and the noodles...and then got the fried rice to go...yes...it was that good. All for a great price. Anytime we come back to the area we will definitely be eating here.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“BYOB and enjoy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Our meal at Vietnam Grill was very good. The house special broken rice was plenty of food, and delicious. The fried spring rolls were tasty. They don't serve alcohol but there is a Food Lion a couple hundred yards down South Blvd. where you can pick some up, and the folks at the restaurant were very accommodating about giving us tools to open them. This was a nice find when we had a flight canceled at CLT and were placed at a nearby hotel.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Some Surprises”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Perhaps my West Coast bias towards Vietnamese food, but while this was an ok dinner choice I didn't feel the 'raves' of many reviewers. Atmosphere is fair but not exactly warm. Food--I had an appetizer and an entree--were good, but nothing out of the ordinary. BYOB? Guess that is the SE, but it still seems odd in this day and age. Probably better as a quick lunch stop than a dinner: not a business dinner option in my mind.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vietnam Grill also viewed

 
Charlotte, NC
 

Been to Vietnam Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vietnam Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.