We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ordinary venue, spectacular food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vietnam Grill

Vietnam Grill
5615 South Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28217-4129
(704) 525-2408
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 1,848 Restaurants in Charlotte
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Ordinary venue, spectacular food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very authentic vietnamese cuisine in a very ordinary space. do not be put off by the location or building this place is a gem in the rough. We dined here for lunch last Sunday and really enjoyed the quality of the food. If I lived close I would eat here often. Over the top service as the owner/chef came out to make sure we were satisfied and the table staff was very attentive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    16
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Delicious in a Simple Setup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

With a full menu I recommend chicken and shrimp&pork Vietnamese-style summer rolls. The dining room is open and surrounded by outer walled windows opening to a strip mall parking lot while sitting in simple tables and chairs.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, South Carolina
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We visited Vietnam Grill after reading the good reviews. 3 of us went for a late lunch on Saturday. The restaurant was fairly crowded. We experienced friendly and prompt service. The menu had quite a few choices, and not being well versed in Vietnamese cuisine made our selections more of a guess. We were all more than satisfied with our meals. The food was fresh and tasty. Don't be turned away by the outside appearance and location of the building. We will return soon to guess at some other menu choices.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yummy and the restaurant smells just as good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My family was dining across the street last week and while I have passed byVG before, I don't remember passing by later in the evening with all the lights on. I read other reviews on this site and had to try it. Service was very fast and efficient. My daughter was a little concerned but she ordered the Pho and was so happy after that. Spouse got the chicken curry and I had fried noodles with tofu. All was very hot so the hardest part was waiting for our food to cool long enough to eat it. We will be back soon to try other dishes. Yummy.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The atmosphere is light and clean. The food was excellent, and i will go back very soon.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I would tell my friends, go eat here and and go for lunch or dinner. I really was surprised considering it looked very much like a diner. Once inside, it was warm and seemed nicer than my initial reaction of, oh no, it looks like a noodle place. We had amazing soup, squid and the ingrediants were of high quality. Fresh basil and sprouts. Real lemongrass. Nice touch.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vietnam Grill also viewed

 
Charlotte, NC
 

Been to Vietnam Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vietnam Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.