We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun location to camp with family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carowinds Camp Wilderness Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carowinds Camp Wilderness Resort
Save
You added Carowinds Camp Wilderness Resort to your Saves list
14523 Carowinds Blvd., P. O. Box 410289, Charlotte, NC 28241   |  
Hotel amenities
Charleston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun location to camp with family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This campsite located at Carrowinds amusement park in the Charlotte Area is well worth a trip. The people at the front desk were very cheerful, the lodge is a great gathering place with lots of games to play, and it has a gorgeous fireplace. The grounds are beautiful with lots of trees. The pool is nice and clean and the lifeguards are constantly keeping up with swimmers. The shuttle drivers to and from the park were courteous and accommodating to our schedules. It is the best location to watch the nightly fireworks from the amusement park. The only negative is the showers, which are very outdated and need some renovations and need to be cleaned more often than they were. Be sure to wear water shoes when getting showers.

Room Tip: We slept in our tent. The campsites are large enough for pop ups and a couple of vehicles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    29
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
58
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sumter, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Upon arrival on a Monday, we were greeted by the friendly staff and discovered that the campground was nearly empty and remained that way until we left on Wednesday. The facilities were clean and the camp sites were well kept. No one was enjoying the pool and we had it to ourselves. It had a life guard on duty which made it nice. The camp sites are paved and shady with beautiful trees. We took advantage of the tram service to visit the park and it arrived on time every hour to shuttle guests to and from the park. We will definitely stay there again even in the winter months when the park is closed because it was nice, quiet, and convenient to the interstate!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Great place for families to stay at Carowinds. Staff is very helpful and assisted us in reserving a cabana at the water park. Shuttle is convenient. Beds are small and not very comfortable. Kitchen is sparse - would advise grilling out if you don't go out for meals. Nice campground - shady with mature trees.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardy, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Nice campground, easy pull-through sites, very convenient to park and interstate. Will definitely stay again! Staff were very friendly and helpful even running the shuttle extra trips when needed. Pool area was nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This was our first time camping here, but won't be our last. We have a travel trailer and loved the site we were on. Nice level, paved sites with shade. I wish they provided fire rings, instead of charging an absurd rate of $15 per night. What is camping without a camp fire? But overall, good experience.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This campground is very nice and clean. The availability of the free shuttle service to the gate was very convenient. The staff is very courteous and helpful. Camp Wilderness was secluded. We could hardly tell that we were near a large city

Room Tip: There is no fill station for propane, so be sure your tanks are topped off --however, that did not h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The majority of camper sites are flat. It seems the place is generally pretty quiet. We had a few rowdy people, but that doesn't appear to be the the norm. Everything worked great and it's right next to Carowinds. The staff were friendly and helpful. We'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carowinds Camp Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carowinds Camp Wilderness Resort

Address: 14523 Carowinds Blvd., P. O. Box 410289, Charlotte, NC 28241
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Charlotte
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Carowinds Camp Wilderness Hotel Charlotte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carowinds Camp Wilderness Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.