We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte Northlake

Save Saved
You added Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte Northlake to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte Northlake
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6920 Northlake Mall Dr, Charlotte, NC 28216   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 170 hotels in Charlotte
Oshawa, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great Hotel and great Customer service. Room was spotless and bed was very comfortable after a 16 hour drive. Will stay there again and recommend to my friends. The lobby is beautiful, the staff never forgot to smile and speak.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    84
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
164
106
18
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed at the Drury for three nights in early January. The reviews from TripAdvisor were right on! The front desk staff were always attentive to my needs and requests and they were always willing to do anything to make my trip a pleasant one. I was there on a leisure trip and the staff continuously tried to find the best restaurants in the area to visit and they always asked about my meals when I returned to the hotel. The staff made this trip an even better experience!!

The hotel is located in a wonderful area. RIght next to a great mall and some great places to eat. But, why go out to eat? The breakfast buffet and the dinner buffet were outstanding! It is the best deal in town! When I say, breakfast and dinner buffet, that is exactly what that was. Great varieties in the morning and evening. There really is no need to eat out if you do not want to. The food alone is well worth the stay.

As for the room? Wonderful. I did have a larger room up on the 6th floor, and the living area and the bedroom areas were extremely clean and housekeeping did a wonderful job each day. The private bathroom had plenty of counter space and the towels were nice and thick. The only recommendation that I would have is that the hotel chain invest in some better shower gel and shampoo for the re-fill dispensers in the shower. The dispensers are a great idea, but the shower gel and shampoo never lathered up, which leads the residents to use a lot more shower gel / shampoo just to get some lather going. Minor detail, but it may save some money in the long run.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting in the area.
Thank you for a wonderful experience. See you next time!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

From the moment we stepped inside until the moment we left this hotel was perfect. I'm a very hard to please person when it comes to hotels. I am a clean freak. This Drury Inn was a clean freak's paradise. The lobby is beautiful, the staff never forgot to smile and speak. The lady at the front desk got us registered in less than 5 minutes and even remembered our names every time we came through the lobby. The room we had was a two room king suite with beautiful decor and up to date furnishings and flat screen tvs in both rooms. The bedding was very nice and the mattress was so comfy! The bathroom was sparkling clean with the best lighting I have ever seen in a hotel. Housekeeping did a very good job of cleaning. I couldn't find one speck of dust. They have a business center, laundry facitlities, pool and exercise room although we didn't use them a lot of people were. They have a great breakfast buffet with a good assortment of food.... oatmeal, make-your-own waffles, eggs, great hashbrowns, non-typical hotel gravy, biscuits, assortment of donuts, muffins, cereals, yogurt, breads and fruits, and a 5:30 kickback with drinks and appetizers that is more like dinner. There is also a great assortment of restaurants within walking distance and it's across the parking lot from Northlake Mall. There is just nothing missing from this hotel. I will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH CAROLINA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This stay was great! Not only do you have a wonderful hotel to enjoy, you have plenty of shopping and eating within walking distance. The hotel staff is VERY friendly and I was quite pleased with everyone's attitude. My room was clean and I was impressed with the overall appearance of the hotel. If I had to mention one small snafu it would only be that I had to clean off the glass table next to the bed. However, no big deal everything else was quite nice. The afternoon kickback with FREE food and drinks was a big plus. My family was in town for a basketball game and I know we saved about $50.00 since we were able to eat FREE hotdogs and nachos before the game. This was my 2nd visit and this stay was much better than the 1st. Although, my 1st visit was a little swayed due to a larger crowd of people in town for a family reunion during summer vacation. My displeasure on that visit was primarily due to the aggrevation with the guests not the hotel. Therefore, my husband and I decided to visit again and we were both happy that we did!! Thanks to the Drury Inn staff for their hospitality we will back again.

Room Tip: My room was a double queen which did not have a refrigerator or microwave so please inquire prior to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had stayed at other Drury Inns, but not this one. Located right off I77, literally. We prebooked. The service personnel at both the front desk and elsewhere were simply fantastic. Not only very service-oriented, but generally friendly and upbeat. Room was clean, comfortable, and had all the conveniences we expected and needed. Pillows and bed were very comfortable. The evening "Kickback" (5:30-7pm) was very good (nachos, baked potatoes, hot dogs, chile, salad, plus all forms of liquid refreshement) and allowed up to skip dinner. Breakfast was equally enjoyable. The check-in and check-out process were extremely simple and fast. We have become fans, and return users, of the Drury experience.

Room Tip: Try to arrive before the "Kickback" at 5:30pm. Parking is in front of building but there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Well, finally somebody got it right! Not just OK, or Good, but Right on Right!
Fabulous service, with simply no extras. "No we don't need a credit card as there are no extras." No internet cost, no local call charges, no long distance charges, or just no period.. how lovely is that?
Then, the inclusions. Like afternoon cocktails and hors d'oeuvres that are really dinner. Who eats out after Drury hors d'oeuvres?.... answer: nobody. Drinks, yes hard liquor and wines are included and they do not stint on portions. How nice not to have the tee-totaling, plus unctuous Marriots talking down to you and including a ridiculous Book of Mormon in every room.
Breakfast is plentiful and superb. Staff are like attending a twenty-fifth anniversary party.
Rooms are ample, clean and have been carefully thought out in terms of details like ironing boards and much more. How many inns have a washer dryer facility. This one does.
Don't know who Mr Drury is but please, please Mr Drury, do not go public and ruin it all.

Very happy Canadians visiting Charlotte, North Carolina.

Room Tip: There is no bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We took a day trip to Charlotte as weather changed plans to travel North. Fellow co-workers who traveled to Texas would rave about Drury Inn. After reading the great reviews and because it was pet friendly, I booked a room. From the time we checked in to the time we left, the experience was very pleasant. Lobby sitting area - comfy & inviting. Clean room! I really liked the marble in the bathroom. Bed was nice-I slept well, which is rare. My dog was welcome - no extra fee. Other hotels just don't get it - being able to bring your best fur friend with you is the best perk! Everyone on staff was so friendly and accommodating. Soda machine was well carbonated-so refreshing. The kick back was very nice - you could eat as appetizers before going out to dinner or make it a meal. The night we stayed, they served chicken tenderloins, hot dogs, nachos, baked potato with all the fixins, fresh veggies with dip, salad, chips, pretzels, chili, mac and cheese - and I'm sure I've left some things out. We only drank one drink and gave the rest of our allotted six drinks to the delighted folks at the next table. We were going to one of our favorite local restaurants for dinner (Portofino's) but we were just too full after the kick back. Location was the best - all you could want while on travel was nearby. And yes - free Wi-Fi and a kiosk of computers for your use. All this and it's no more expensive than other hotels! I hope they come to Virginia and points North! If I HAD to nitpick on something, it would have been nice to have a little something sweet at the kick back (and it could have been there but maybe I missed it). But I would take no sweets any day if everything else stayed the same at Drury. The hot breakfast was just the thing to get your morning off to a good start. Belgian waffles to biscuits & gravy, cereal to sausage - it was all there. Short trip success - I'll always check for this hotel first when I travel and especially when I travel with my beloved dog.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte Northlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte Northlake

Address: 6920 Northlake Mall Dr, Charlotte, NC 28216
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#8 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#13 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte Northlake 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Queen City, home to the Charlotte Motor Speedway, family fun at the Carowinds and the U.S. National Whitewater Center. Located adjacent to Northlake Mall, the Drury Inn & Suites is the place to stay during your visit. Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte Northlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites Charlotte Northlake
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte Northlake Hotel Charlotte
Drury Inn Charlotte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte Northlake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.