We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't get a room street side. ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Charlotte Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Charlotte Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Charlotte Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 South McDowell Street, Charlotte, NC 28204 (Formerly Adams Mark Hotel) (Second Ward)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #109 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
2 reviews
“Don't get a room street side. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is very pretty and modern. I messed up my reservations and the staff was great in fixing it even though they were nearly booked. The rooms are very nice, but small. The bathroom reminded me of a cruise ship bathroom. The smallest toilet I've ever seen. I'm not a big guy, but I could hardly fit what I needed to in it. The shower was half glass wall which isn't so practical in use since you couldn't operate the water temp outside of the tub. The walls are VERY thin so you hear hallway noises and most of the street noises. Every vehicle that went in reverse with a beeping noise was very obvious. The bar/restaurant were nice and food was good. Just stay away from rooms next to the main road.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    27
    44
    25
    29
See reviews for
18
20
1
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel staff were super friendly and accommodating. The room was very clean and spacious. The bartender Taylor and manager Elise were very helpful and went above and beyond to make our stay pleasant. I vacation at least 4 times per year and I can't wait to come back with my entire family!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshArmstrong, Manager at Sheraton Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. We truly appreciate your comments and will share them with our staff. We look forward to connecting with you again on your next visit at the Sheraton Charlotte Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff not very helpful. No towel racks in rooms, bar tenders absolutely ignore you! I can't get any info on restaurants near by and the hotel's facilities were inadequate to accommodate out conference numbers of people. Food prices very high but food was good when we could get in.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshArmstrong, Manager at Sheraton Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to complete this review. We appreciate your comments although are disheartened by the issues you experienced during your stay. As a recommendation, we have an entire area of the lobby dedicated to local restaurants and menus, and hope you can utilize it the next time your travels bring you back to Charlotte and you consider us for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent the weekend for Mad Monster Party. It was a great venue compared to the cramped nature of the party last year.

We had a super comfortable bed for sleeping, so if that's all you need, go for it. The bathroom is kind of small and I don't quite understand the half-glassed shower (brrrrrr). The restaurant's service is abominable, go next door to Evoke in Le Meridien -- so much better and only a few $ more. We tried to give them the benefit of assuming they were overwhelmed from the MMP. However, when we went to breakfast there were only three other people in there and we all got terrible service. So there's that.

In short, if you just want to sleep there, go for it.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshArmstrong, Manager at Sheraton Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your room and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced in the restaurant during the Mad Monster event. We are fortunate to have several dining options on property to accommodate such a large crowd. We look forward to hosting you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was so happy that Mad Monster Party was returning to this facility and that the Sheraton had taken over the Blake. The Blake was in rough shape and Sheraton is making progress but there's still quite a bit needed to make this a comfortable hotel.

First, *please* make the front row of parking spaces available for guests that are self parking to use while checking in. It was extremely uncomfortable to be practically car jacked by valet wanting $20/day to park.

Second, please update the menu for restaurant that is online. I was excited prior to the trip when I saw a few items on there, only to find out that the menu is possibly a year old and those items are no longer offered. The new menu leaves a lot to be desired with very few items under $10. On top of that, the facility and staff are clearly not able to handle a large convention crowd.

Third, going hand in hand with above. When hosting large conventions (1000+ people) PLEASE consider having grab & go food stations with pre-made sandwiches, burgers & whatnot at affordable prices. This will take some of the stress off the restaurant and provide attendees with much needed food options to keep the revenue within the hotel instead of us all ordering delivery. If this is not feasible, please consider allowing outside food vendors to come in and fill that need (1st year we had Bojangles & Fuddruckers carts).

The convention space at this hotel is absolutely AMAZING, and one of the best that I've set up in during the decade + that I've been doing events. I look forward to returning next year, and hope to see that the Sheraton continues with it's improvements.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshArmstrong, Manager at Sheraton Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet the expectations we set for our hotel and staff. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future. We look forward to hosting you again next year and showing you the true Sheraton Charlotte Hotel experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Contacted security when a child got seperated & lost in the crowd. Quickly and efficiently they were located (with our thanks). Waiting for the dates of next years convention to be announced so we can book early & stay onsite--no hesitation!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshArmstrong, Manager at Sheraton Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind comments! We are delighted to know you consider us as a dependable place to stay! We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our first room was under an ant invasion, that seemed to originate from within the mini fridge. Otherwise, our stay was unscathed. The food/bar options are ridiculously high. I am talking $15.00 for an egg....an egg. I understand the menu may appeal to a certain clientèle but when your room prices rival other hotels (in terms of affordability), your menu should as well.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshArmstrong, Manager at Sheraton Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We appreciate hearing from our guests as to their experience at our facility. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and hope you will us an opportunity to be of service the next time your travels bring you to Charlotte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Charlotte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Charlotte Hotel

Address: 555 South McDowell Street, Charlotte, NC 28204 (Formerly Adams Mark Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Charlotte Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Charlotte Hotel is ideally located in uptown, near many dining, shopping, and entertainment options. Many attractions are within walking distance, such as the Charlotte Convention Center, Blumenthal Performing Arts Center, the Panthers’ Bank of America Stadium, and the Bobcats’ Time Warner Arena. Charlotte Douglas International Airport (CLT) can be reached in 15 minutes by car.Retreat to one of our 304 newly renovated guest rooms and suites, filled with everything you need for a comfortable home away from home. Stay connected with wireless High Speed Internet Access, and enjoy a blissful night’s rest in The Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed.At the Link at Sheraton(SM) experienced with Microsoft® in our lobby, surf the web on our terminals or bring your laptop for complimentary wireless High Speed Internet Access. Stay in shape at our Sheraton Fitness center, and relax in the outdoor pool, indoor pool, or hot tub.Start your day with a warm, hearty breakfast in our all-day dining restaurant. After a full day with family, friends, or colleagues, gather over a meal and refreshing drinks at Float, our poolside restaurant and bar.Whether you’re planning a convention, meeting, or social event, our team of professionals will be happy to help you tailor the perfect gathering. Our 35 function spaces, including five impressive ballrooms, offer state-of-the-art audiovisual technology and wireless High Speed Internet Access, making the Sheraton Charlotte Hotel the perfect place to bring everyone together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Sheraton Charlotte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Charlotte Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.