We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay and leave your car while on trips” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn by Wyndham Charlotte Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn by Wyndham Charlotte Airport to your Saves list
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Charlotte Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3412 Queen City Drive, Charlotte, NC 28208   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #118 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Gold Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great place to stay and leave your car while on trips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This is the 2nd time we have used this hotel while going on trips. The people are very friendly, rooms nice, and the service to and then from airport very prompt and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    66
    69
    70
    100
See reviews for
84
88
61
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Booked through Park, Sleep, and Fly. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the shuttle was very convenient. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. If breakfast could be served earlier (5 instead of 6 AM), it would be even better.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I booked this through a Park, Sleep and Fly deal as we live five hours from Charlotte and had a 7AM flight the next morning. The deal was a room for the night, shuttle service to and from the airport and free parking while we were gone.
The room was quite small but adequate for our one night stay as my primary requirement was cleanliness and a decnt bed. The staff was helpful in answering our questions re: the shuttle and parking, and provided us with a wake-up call. We did not try the breakfast as we needed to leave for the airport prior to 6AM.
Proximity to the airport is great and the shuttle service worked out well. It is a small van and was crowded that morning, but it is only a ten minute ride and the driver even loaded and unloaded our luggage for us. We were instructed to call for the shuttle on our return and given a number and info on where it would pick us up. I called and the shuttle arrived after about twenty minutes which seemed reasonable; again, the driver loaded and unloaded our luggage.
There is no area set aside for parking, anywhere in the lot is fine, but you have to fill out a form listing your car make, license plate etc. We parked our car under a light in front of the office and it was fine on our return...we were away ten days.
I would not recommend this for an extended stay, but it is not intended for that, it is an airport location. For one night prior to a flight, it was a great deal....a room, shuttle and parking for ten days for around $50!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We reserved a room with this hotel since it had a sofabed, free continental breakfast and airport shuttle. It was atrocious on every level. When we arrived at the airport we tried phoning our hotel to make shuttle arrangements. The phone number was busy for 45 minutes, so we ended up hailing a cab. When we arrived at the hotel, the receptionist made no apologies for their phones "not working." We requested a 5 am wake-up call; but guess what? The phones were still not working, so no wake up call for us or any of the other early rising guests. A number of us were quite upset that they made no effort to awaken us with a knock, and reception made no apologies for what could have been a missed flight due to oversleeping.

The sofabed was just a small window spot that was barely large enough for a toddler. The continental breakfast wasn't served till 7 AM on weekends, and we had to catch the 6 AM shuttle. We arrived 15 minutes early as the shuttle was already on premises, however the driver did not show up until 20 minutes after the scheduled time. "Droopy," the driver was rude and unfriendly, and ordered us to load our own baggage. Then he drove as slowly as he possibly could, although we were already behind schedule.

It's amazing how dreadful this hotel was, when even a little courtesy could have made a significant improvement. Obviously this hotel and it's staff could care less about customer satisfaction. This chain is owned by Wyndham, so you would never expect it to be so awful! It was clean and the location was convenient, so it could have been a pleasant stay had the staff put in the slightest effort. I wouldn't stay here again if it were free!

Room Tip: Don't Stay Here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.E. USA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

This motel is located very close to I85 so it is convenient, but you hear the traffic through the night.

The desk clerk did not greet us other than asking our name, she did not make eye contact at any time and mumbled, she did not represent the business well.

The room is quite small and laid out poorly with the TV on top of a built in cabinet and off to the side making it too high and hard to view.

The bed was lumpy and sloped to the middle my wife and I could not keep a space between ourselves, the comforter was frayed with the insides hanging out. ( A terrible night's sleep )

The cleanliness of the room was suspect since the toilet had not even been flushed and still had urine in it from the previous occupant. My daughter's supposedly ( NO Smoking ) room smelled like an ash tray.

The only ice machine had no ice.

The complimentary breakfast only hot item choice was a waffle, the other choices were cereals or breads with no fruits or yogurt.

No Swimming Pool !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Having to spend 3 noghts for a convention downtown, we decided to stay outside the centre. This hotel not only had a good price, but clean rooms and friendly service.
being from Europe, I had some Amazon goods delivered to the reception and they were taken care of by the friendly Nita Shah.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Don't stay here! I don't scare easily but this hotel was really scary. The smell of the room was moldy, the lights were very dim and the toilet was not fastened to the floor. I slept with my clothes and shoes on in fear of bug. Keep the light on thinking it would keep the roaches away. Placed a towel on top of the pillow to keep bugs away. Woke up with a rash on my cheek from the sand paper towel.
Don't waste your time or money. I would have been better off sleeping at the airport.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtelairport, Front Office Manager at Microtel Inn by Wyndham Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your review
Im sorry to hear your stay was so scary, and I wish we would have been told about this, because we would have been more than happy to make your stay feel more comfortable and safer. We get inspected by our exterminator on a regular basis so we can assure there are no bug issues but sometimes we may not know about a particular room, so that is why we pride ourselves on feedback and we hope you consider staying with us on your next visit.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn by Wyndham Charlotte Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn by Wyndham Charlotte Airport

Address: 3412 Queen City Drive, Charlotte, NC 28208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn by Wyndham Charlotte Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Microtel Inn by Wyndham Charlotte Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn Charlotte Airport Hotel Charlotte
Microtel Hotel Charlotte Airport
Microtel Charlotte
Charlotte Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn by Wyndham Charlotte Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.