We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold and Over cooked food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Charlotte Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Charlotte Suites to your Saves list
Renaissance Charlotte Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 Coliseum Centre Dr, Charlotte, NC 28217 (Eagle Lake)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #25 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cold and Over cooked food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

On Dec 21, 2013, Six of us had dinner at the Renanissance Hotel. Steak was order Medium/Raw Served Over cooked.
Two order special Meal was served luke warm.
We sent the special back again not hot. Second time still not warm. Could not eat cold ravaolli with cold sauce.
Disappointed:
We had to ask for these two meals we could not eat to be taken off the bill. Manager nerver came over to apologize.

Today a representative Jan 3,2014 called me regarding this issue. He did apologize, and offer me reward points.

In our opinion we should have been offered more. Our Pre Christmas dinner no dinner for three of us. Nor were we invited to come back and have at least three meals complementary.

I do realize this is an isolated incident not common of Marriott. Wish the manager could have made us feel like a valued customer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte Suites, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Receiving feedback from our guest enables us to accommodate all of our guest a little better upon each visit and I appreciate you taking the time to write a review in regards to your recent stay, and the inconvenience experienced. I will look into this with the appropriate department. I hope that this experience will not deter you from your continued business association with us and the Marriott/Renaissance family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    184
    36
    30
    16
See reviews for
105
87
35
246
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsford, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My wife had searched high and low for a hotel near the Charlotte airport for overnight accommodations for 18 family members including 5 cribs. Only this hotel would guarantee that we would have the cribs. Fantastic! What we didn't think to ask was if their airport shuttle ran 24 hours. We found out (when we arrived at about 8:00 pm, that it didn't. We needed to be back at the airport by 5:15 the next morning. The night manager, Denise, called her drivers and found one who would come in by 4:30 am and make two trips (the van accomodates up to 11 at a time) to the airport so we could all make our connecting flight home. And this was on December 31st-a night most people would expect to be out late, not wanting to come in to work extra early. We are grateful to Denise and all of her staff for their help over and above what would normally be expected.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte Suites, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Guest satisfaction is one of our major goals, and I am happy that our staff was able to make your experience with us enjoyable. I wil lpass your comments along to Denise, and thank you for your patronage with us. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you and your family again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I absolutely love this hotel. Everytime we stay here everyone is always so nice especially Derek and this time was our 1st time meeting Lori at the front desk but I can tell she was trained very well. Everyone is always smiling and very hospitable. Thank you guys for all that you do and for working during the holidays!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte Suites, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Comfort while away from home is key to travelers, and we are happy that you are able to find that at our hotel. I will inform noted staff members of your comments. I am fully aware that you have many choices in hotels, and we are happy you have continued to choose our location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stanley Young, the man who drove the airport shuttle was friendly and punctual! Our stay in Charlotte was unexpected due ti a weather delay that caused us to miss our connecting flight. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay despite our circumstances.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte Suites, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
I am very happy that one of our staff members went above and beyond in providing you with great customer service. Thank you for taking the time to write a review in regards to your stay at the Renaissance Charlotte Suites Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

My Husband and I had an extremely horrible experience with US Airways. We were supposed to be taking our Honeymoon and instead ended up on a hotel voucher at this hotel. We had already had a terrible and emotional 24 hours by the time we arrived at the hotel.

Every employee that assisted us in some way was very friendly; the shuttle driver that brought us to the property, the front desk staff, and the staff at the bar and in the restaurant. We were given food vouchers by the airline which the hotel gladly accepted. We used them at lunch time in the restaurant. The wonderful lady that served us was so positive and nice. She started to lift our spirits. At dinner time, Denise, from the front desk asked about our situation and bought us an appetizer in the restaurant. Furthermore, the staff asked our room number and surprised us with a bottle of Champagne, chocolate covered strawberries and candy in the shape of a heart on our bed. I wish I knew who to specifically thank for this!

Unfortunately, we didn't get to go on our Honeymoon. However, the one night we were forced to stay in Charlotte restored our faith in humanity. The staff at this hotel went above and beyond for us. They made a huge difference for us in a very terrible situation! We cannot thank them enough for their thoughtfulness and generosity!

Sincerely Grateful!
Mr. and Mrs. Chamorro

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte Suites, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
I am happy to hear that your inconvenience was changed from a negative experience to a positive one by several of our staff members. Guest satisfaction is one of our major goals, and I am happy that you experienced this during your recent star\y. I will pass your comments to noted staff members and departments, and welcome the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Ended up staying here for a night prior to going to Carowinds to ride some coasters. The hotel itself is tucked away, you'll need a GPS to find it if you don't know your way around.

Service was great, was able to get my entire party to eat complimentary breakfast at the restaurant buffet without any hassle. Everyone was courteous and friendly, no complaints.

The rooms were nice and nicely sized for a suite. Unfortunately, for my experience, the cleanliness of the room was a little lacking. The far back pillows smelled like wet dog. I don't know if there was an actual pet there or if a previous tenant had some poor smelling hair. Another friend we were traveling with had the same issue in their room. The bed in its entirely could have been better cleaned, we found some crumbs/particulates in our sheets.

We slept fine and were out the next day without any hangups or hassles. I have a high regard for Renaissance properties, so this was probably my worst stay among the Renaissance properties I've been to, but it still ranks as a pretty good or average stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte Suites, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Receiving feedback from our guest enables us to accommodate all of our guest a little better upon each visit and I appreciate you taking the time to write a review in regards to your recent stay, and the inconvenience experienced. I will look into this with the appropriate department . I hope that this experience will not deter you from your continued business association with us and the Marriott/Renaissance family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Illinois
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We were headed south for the winter and made a detour to see the Billy Graham Library and this hotel is 4 minutes away. So it was an easy choice.
It was an excellent choice also. I couldn't believe how nice everyone was to us. They were always asking how we were and if they could do anything for us. That is just a really nice touch for a big hotel.
We made friends with Vee in the Club Lounge and Tram at the front desk and also Bobby the manager. They were just fine people that staff this place. Stay here.

Room Tip: We like a room that has a view or faces south or west to get a sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte Suites, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
I am very happy that some of our staff members went above and beyond in providing you with great customer service. Guest satisfaction is one of our major goals, and we are happy that Vee, Tram and Bobby where able to assist. I will pass your comments to them, and welcome the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Charlotte Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charlotte Suites

Address: 2800 Coliseum Centre Dr, Charlotte, NC 28217
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Eagle Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#21 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#43 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Charlotte Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Renaissance Charlotte Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charlotte Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Charlotte Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.