We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Movie crisis at the Hyatt Place” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Charlotte City Park

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Charlotte City Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Charlotte City Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4119 South Stream Boulevard, Charlotte, NC 28217 (Formerly AmeriSuites Charlotte Coliseum) (Eagle Lake)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #34 of 170 hotels in Charlotte
Myrtle Beach
1 review
“Movie crisis at the Hyatt Place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

So me and my husband wanted to get away for the weekend for our anniversary. We thought we would have a blast going to Carowinds and acting like kids again. We wanted to stay at a nice hotel close to the park and so we chose this Hyatt Place. Everything was going great with our first night stay. The hotel is clean and rooms are beautiful. But when it came time to relax at the end of the night and watch a movie......this is where all the problems began. At first we weren't too upset about it and we called the front desk to find out what the deal was. They said that it runs on satellite and is very touchy. It was raining hard that night so we understood and let it go. Then the next night came and again we tried to watch a movie and it still wasn't working!! It had been sunny all day and no showers that night and still the movie option advertised movies but you couldn't actually see any of them. I guess that all the planets in the solar system needed to be lined up with the sun too!! We called the front desk again and this time instead of telling us it was the weather they tell us to give them 20 minutes and they'll call us back. Guess what.....no phone call. We were getting very annoyed. It's our last night in charlotte and we really wanted to be able to watch a good movie without having to leave our room. But oh no too much to ask. We decide to call them up. They have no answers for us other then they put in a work order and a comment about us not being the only ones complaining. REALLY??!!! Well, needless to say we are still waiting for it to be fixed as we speak but I don't think anyone is actually working on it. Now we can't even get HBO!!!! And instead of the awesome range of channels we had before (36 channels to chose from) we only get 33 now. Thanx Hyatt for making our last night here incredibly awesome! Please do you and your loved ones a favor.....go somewhere else where they actually try to fix any problems you may have.

Kristina from Myrtle Beach

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    51
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
38
48
10
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, England
Top Contributor
352 reviews 352 reviews
287 hotel reviews
Reviews in 231 cities Reviews in 231 cities
528 helpful votes 528 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

The rooms are superb - you get a fridge, massive plasma tv, wonderfull bed and soft pillows and great drink sachets.
The pool was empty each time we went and is great for chillin in the hot sun of Charlotte.
Staff were friendlier than a double glazing salesman in a Mall, and there is complimentary breakfast.
Free pc internet access and use of the two pcs in the lobby.
I loved it and would certainly go again.
Right across the car park is a sports bar which does reasonable food too !

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

Overall, the hotel was great. Clean, quiet, friendly staff. The only complaint was that the bathroom was quite small.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
txgirl88
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

I have to say that this was one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in!!! Me and 4 others stayed here from May 16, 2008 to May 26, 2008...10 nights. Being gone from home that long was not all that bad, simply because we came "home" every night to a wonderful, clean, and comfortable hotel. The staff was wonderful!!! They got to know us and they really wanted our stay to be the best...they were so nice and they were that way with EVERYONE! No matter what time of night we got in, whoever was at the front desk talked to us and asked if we needed anything. My trip to Charlotte, NC was the ultmate NASCAR dream...and I made wonderful memories

  • Liked — Felt like home...but with the luxuries I don't have...large tv...big comfy bed.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

We stopped overnight on our way to myrtle beach. It was a very nice hotel. Very modern and clean. Looked exactly like the pictures displayed on their site. Beds were very comfortable with many pillows. Towels were nice and fluffy. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it. It was a little out of the way for us but worth the trip. They have a very nice lobby and breakfast area also. Only downside is the bathroom is very small, other than that our family loved it.

  • Liked — comfy beds
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

I have stayed at several different Hyatts before, but never at a Hyatt Place. The room was clean, spacious and modern, and the staff at the front desk were efficient and helpful with restaurant recommendations. Location is convenient to the airport but in a quiet business park. Dining options within close proximity are limited - there is basically one sports bar within walking distance. Enjoyed the continental breakfast. Overall it was a positive experience and a good value.

  • Liked — Modern room
  • Disliked — Tiny bathroom
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Place Charlotte City Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Charlotte City Park

Address: 4119 South Stream Boulevard, Charlotte, NC 28217 (Formerly AmeriSuites Charlotte Coliseum)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Eagle Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#34 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#51 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Charlotte City Park 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Charlotte/City Park is located in Lake Pointe Business Park in southwest Charlotte, which makes it convenient for travelers visiting the corporate offices of local companies such as Belk, Compass Group USA and Goodrich. This Hyatt Place hotel is just five miles from the Charlotte Douglas International Airport and eight miles from uptown Charlotte. Enjoy a day of upscale shopping at SouthPark Mall or a delicious meal at one of several nearby restaurants, such as The Cheesecake Factory, CowFish Sushi Burger Bar or Ruth’s Chris Steakhouse. Sports enthusiasts compete in soccer, softball and tennis tournaments year round at Renaissance Park and the Jeff Adams Tennis Center which are only one mile from the hotel. As a premier destination city, Charlotte’s got a lot to offer its visitors. The hotel is located close to several Charlotte attractions such as Carowinds Theme Park, Billy Graham Library and the U.S. National Whitewater Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Place Charlotte City Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Charlotte City Park Hotel Charlotte
Hyatt Charlotte
Charlotte Hyatt Place

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Charlotte City Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.