We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holy cow! (Good gluten free options)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chima Brazilian Steakhouse

Chima Brazilian Steakhouse
139 S Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202
704-601-4141
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chima Brazilian Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 1,976 Restaurants in Charlotte
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: On the Light Rail, get off on 3rd and Convention Center, then Chima is 2 blocks away.
Description: Located in beautiful Center City Charlotte on 4th and Tryon, just a few blocks from Belk Theater, Over street Mall and the Bobcats Arena.Chima offers authentic Brazilian cuisine and chic dining experience. Enjoy cocktails and the best view of Uptown Charlotte in our elegant upstairs lounge.
Wingate, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Holy cow! (Good gluten free options)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

My husband says, "One of the best dining experiences of his life!" The whole process is a bit overwhelming at first if this is your first experience, but the food was so good! It's nice to actually try small samples of everything before you decide what you like best. Personally, I loved the swordfish. Our friend was very pleased with the gluten free options, and the service was top notch! We were NEVER without a refill on our drinks. We plan to visit again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    63
    31
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Business Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had reservations for 23 people, had no problems getting a large table for a Thursday night. Service was great. They do only have one credit card reader, so we were told in advanced to expect a wait for checks, or we could bring cash which would make things go a little smoother. We had no issues with our bills. Food was outstanding. They have a list of Gluten Free items which was very helpful for me as I had to eat off this list. Very good meal, would recommend, and would go back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Brazilian in the US”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Skip Morton's or Del Frisco's and book dinner at Chima. We were a group of 4 and loved the place. Great Waitstaff, Great Service, Best Salad Bar ever, and the Meats and Seafoods were amazing! Great wine list as well. Pricey, but what isn't for a great experience! Would return again when back in Charlotte area!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best filet mignon - EVER!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I've had a lot of filet mignon in my life, being the steak lover I am...but I can honestly say the best I've ever had was at Chima! Service was A-MAZ-ING! A little pricey at about 130.00 for just the two of us...but I'd pay it again to have that steak!! :)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Rude Staff, Great Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Waitress was incredibly rude! She brought out check and threw it down while walking by, didn't even stop walking, didn't say thank you, and didn't even acknowledge the fact that she had given us our check. Most waitresses usually say something along the lines of "thanks for coming in" or something, but she just threw the check on our table and kept walking. RUDE!

Food was good though! Mashed potatoes and soup were incredible! I liked the salad bar! Make sure to come on an empty stomach :)

If our waitress hadn't been awful this review probably would have gotten 5 stars, but she very poorly represented the place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chima Brazilian Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Chima Brazilian Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chima Brazilian Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.