We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steakhouse & Wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte
6000 Fairview Road, Charlotte, NC 28210
704-556-1115
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 1,976 Restaurants in Charlotte
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Across from SouthPark Mall
Description: Welcome to Ruth's Chris Steak House. As founder Ruth Fertel used to say, "If you've ever had a filet this good, welcome back." We take steak seriously, but we're also serious about making sure you have a good time. So you won't find the stodgy, uptight attitude you might find at other steak houses. Our SouthPark location, created in the classic Southern style, features a spacious dining room and private dining areas. Surrounded by dark hardwoods and artisan tiling, you'll feel as if you're back in New Orleans. All beef is USDA Prime, prepared in 1800 degree broilers and served on 500 degree plates, and all accoutrements inspired by Ruth's New Orleans heritage. Let us know of any specific requests for an evening with that special someone, and we'll take care of the details. Life's too short to eat anywhere else.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Steakhouse & Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Owner is former CFO of Ruth's Chris, and steak quality is high. Manager David is one of the best wine Sommelier in all of North Carolina. If you appreciate exceptional wine, ask David what he has available. I saw that another rating was not excellent, and recommend that as with any large restaurant, if something isn't to your liking, just ask and it will be perfect. I met the owner because I entertain there so often, and he wants every experience to be great. This restaurant is located close to Del Frisco's, The Palm, and formerly Mortons (which closed). It is a great value and provides incredible steak.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    18
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Just average and not so special anymore”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This was my last time going to Ruth's Chris. The food is just average and there are much better steak houses available now like Del Frisco's or Fleming's to name a few. My Cowboy Ribeye was over cooked and every steak at our table was over cooked with almost no flavor. Very disappointing. The sides were luke warm and rather small compared to other high end places. Our server was great and the staff was spot on, but the food was just blah. When I spend $47 for a steak, I want it to be a "wow" experience - you just don't get that with Ruth's Chris.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, nc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“worth every penny!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

love this restaurant! my husband and I have dinner here a couple of times a year and are never disappointed. wonderful service and wonderful food. we like to sit outside after the sun goes down and we usually have the patio to ourselves. our faves are the crabtini appetizer and the chopped salad. the chopped salad has to be the best salad in town. and of course the steaks are amazing, especially the filet mignon, oscar style! go! you won't be disappointed. fyi, visited the other ruth's chris in town but think this location is so much better!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great steak service a little off!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

The meal and quality of food was as expected and have tried in Nashville, but the service was not as good as nashville, a little condesending in my opinion.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Il
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ruth's in Charlotte Delivers Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

On Friday, February 24, 2012 my wife and I had 8:30 dinner reservations at Ruth's in uptown Charlotte.

The hostess attempted to seat us at the table nearest the kitchen. We deferred to a table away from the traffic and clatter.

We had the a bottle of wine with fixed the menu special with shared appetizer, small steaks, and desserts.

The ambiance was good, the service attentive, the food perfect and up to Ruth's chain high standards.

The only thing that surprised us was that the restaurant was only 60 pct full. Seemed odd for a peak weekend night.

Overall enjoyable experience.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.