We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location; really noisy on a Sat night” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre to your Saves list
Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 East Trade Street, Charlotte, NC 28202 (Second Ward)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #91 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Good location; really noisy on a Sat night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I'd stayed here during the week and like the central location, modern and compact but comfortable rooms. However, recently stayed here on a Sat night and there were at least two very loud parties going on untl past 4am. Don't know how you can get that many people in the rooms as they are pretty small! As we were leaving the next morning, the guy in the elevator asked us if it had been really noisy as he hadn't slept a wink and was on a different floor than us. Won't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear MaryMt4106,
Thank you for taking time to offer a candid recap of your stay with us. Let me begin by telling you how much I appreciate your comments regarding the hotel itself. Our hotel and EpiCentre location combine to offer a really unique experience. As for the noise and disturbances you experienced during your weekend stay I humbly apologize for the lack of sleep this caused you. Our hotel team works diligently to prevent in-room gatherings, to the extent of striving to enforce a relative “quiet time” after 10pm. Occasionally though folks will migrate back to a room with too many occupants. In these cases we respond as quickly as we can to ensure peace and quiet. I’m sorry that such an incident was the cause of your concerns. I will work with our team to tighten this process where we can. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    152
    107
    57
    43
See reviews for
47
130
39
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
549 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

this place is an average hotel with its typical trendy atmosphere. nice place please do not get me wrong. it good and would recommend the stay here. nothing extremly fancy. i have had many other friends also come here, and all have said the same.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We spent 1 night here, as all the other hotels near the Bank of America stadium were booked. Location is great, which has pros and cons. The elevators are always busy and quite slow. As other reviewers have said, they share the lobby elevator with other businesses, and it is not air-conditioned. Check in was a bit of a mess, but I think travelocity screwed that up (only half our name ended up on the reservation, and it took a while to sort it out). The room was different than traditional hotel rooms, but it served its purpose. Bed was comfortable, and the shower had hot water and good pressure. A wide variety of restaurants, bars, clubs, and other venues was located right outside, so no driving or taxi required. However, this meant a noisy night. Luckily for us, we were so exhausted after the soccer match, we fell asleep quickly once we retired to the room. Later check out(12:00) was nice. We would stay here again if we were looking to save.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I found this hotel last minute as we were staying in Charlotte for a one day trip. It was rated as a 3 star hotel and the amenities didn’t say anything on Hotwire. I was VERY reluctant to book as I normally only go for 4 star or more, but after considering I didn’t need much for 1 night, I booked it. The Aloft it very college feely. It looks like a large dorm room with some extras: large mounted screen TV, small refrigerator, desk, lounge coffee maker, etc. The hotel lobby is in the Epicenter which is uptown/downtown Charlotte. It is connected to many restaurants, lounges, clubs, bowling alley, movie theater, etc. We stayed on a Sunday so there wasn’t much to do except have dinner and visit Strike City. Also, the building has access to other buildings that offer more food choices. There is Wi-Fi, a gym, restaurants, although Hotwire didn’t show that when booking. The lobby is really cute. It has a pool table and a bar which makes great for socializing and hanging out. The view we had was cool. It was a view of the stadium and of the lower street. The room was a decent size for two people and clean. Not more than that. The room amenities were just enough and modern. The bed was comfortable. Overall it was a good stay and I would recommend the hotel to others especially if you want to save and you are 32 and younger.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I stayed at the aloft in July of 2014. The Staff was absolutely wonderful! They bent over backwards to help me in any way that they could. I was a single traveler on a business trip, they were helpful with attractions, what to do to kill time, they moved me to another room when my air conditioning wasn't quite working 100%. The staff that really stuck out were Yvonne, Brian and Charles. Thank-you so much for everything!

Room Tip: If you are bothered by noise, request a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level Contributor
191 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This just isn't a great hotel. It's really just a pain.
Hard to find. Hot, slow elevator to lobby is shared with the office building. What a mess. Then another elevator to your room.
Rooms are worn. My AC didn't work. The staff was lost. 3 calls until anyone showed up....it never worked.
Fitness center was filthy.
I like the Aloft brand. I'm a Starwood Platinum. I just don't like this location.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear JCFFB,
Thank you for your review and loyalty to SPG. We are very sorry you were disappointed with your recent stay with us and apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with the elevators, service, and air conditioning in your guest room. Rest assured, these have been addressed with our staff and properly handled. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I stayed at the Aloft for business but it would have been a great place to stay to explore Charlotte. The hotel is located right in the city center and has lots of great shopping and food options nearby. The staff was very friendly and there is a self-service cafe for quick food. The rooms are modern/trendy and clean. You can park (for a fee) in the Epicenter garage and take an elevator directly to the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Hilton Charlotte Center City
#53 of 171 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 stars 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#60 of 171 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 stars 1,270 reviews
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#55 of 171 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 stars 986 reviews
Third Ward
Courtyard by Marriott Charlotte City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre

Address: 210 East Trade Street, Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate your style in North Carolina's financial center at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre. Close to shopping, dining, sports and the Nascar Hall of Fame ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Starwood, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Charlotte Uptown At The Epicentre Hotel Charlotte
Aloft The Epicentre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.