We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bait & Switch!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre to your Saves list
Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 East Trade Street, Charlotte, NC 28202 (Second Ward)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #90 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bait & Switch!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have stayed at the ALOFT before and had a pleasant experience. I was more than excited to see it available at a good rate for a date we were visiting next month. Went through the online booking process and when I arrived at the end it said the reservation system was being updated and it could not take my reservation to call or try again. When I re-entered the dates of stay - the price jumped by $90 higher!!! I called and spoke to a representative who told me that there were only 2 rooms available for that date and I needed 2 rooms so the price jumped. WHAT?! She put me on hold to check to see if there were any other discounts she could give me and ended up disconnecting me after being on hold for 3 minutes. I called back and spoke with Tonya - who was also of no help and while she understood that I was upset - there was nothing she could do. BAIT and SWITCH!!! BOO ALOFT CHARLOTTE UPTOWN!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyVDK, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hi Tiffani0409,

Thank you for sharing this feedback with us. We're sorry to hear about the pricing issue you experienced when making your reservation. We do extend certain rates in limited quantities, and depending on the timing of when someone is booking, there's a slight chance someone else may beat them to the last rooms available at that price. While this is a rare occurrence, it sounds like that may have been what happened in your case and would like to apologize as we understand that this would have been very frustrating to you.

Please know it was not our intention to be misleading, and again we apologize for the issue and frustration it caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    148
    104
    57
    41
See reviews for
45
125
37
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had A great stat at Aloft at the Epicentre with our great 15TH Floor view of the city and the EPICENTRE. The staff were NICE and the plkace was very cool. i would recomend this for ANY COUPLES OR SINGLE PEOPLE THAT PLAN ON PARTYING AND CRASHING. WE had a BlasT.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyVDK, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hi Dollboy,

Thanks for choosing Aloft on your recent trip to Charlotte. We're happy you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff welcoming and location convenient. Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
okc
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Staff is incompetent. Messed up reservations from the beginning! Disappointing hotel, and starwoods points program is a joke. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else! You will be sorry you stayed here!

Room Tip: Don't stay at any starwoods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyVDK, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hello rvollmann,

We're sorry to hear about the issues you experienced during your recent stay including the trouble with your reservation and our preferred guest program.

As a Starwood property we value our guests and reward their loyalty through our Starwood Preferred Guest program. Service is a priority for us, so once again we are sorry you were dissatisfied with your stay and our loyalty program.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrismartin76
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had a very comfortable stay here. As others mentioned, the only drawback is that the elevators can be a bit slow. Moreover there are two elevators. One gets you from the street level to the hotel lobby, and the next gets you from the lobby to your room. However, this is a minor nuisance.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

If i was by myself the room should have been ok, but i was with my husband.
I reserved a King room. Thru Expedia.
When we got to the Hotel, the front desk confirmed my reservation, so what a surprise we got, no king bed. 2 queen beds, and a handicapped room.
My husband very disappointed with the room, wanted to change rooms but the guy in the front desk wasn't very helpful at all, he said that pretty much first come served. So what is the point of making a room selection reservation?
Ah we didn't arrive late just around 6 pm. So this kid said ah the check in is at 3pm. My point on this is they didnt care abouth the customer.
Besides that they wanted to charge me $25.00 instead of $20.00 for valet parking.
And on my reservation said $20.00 and also on the phone message.
If they have show me more interest on us, i would have paid the $25. But not i complaint on that.
So dont ever expect to get your room of choice in this Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I visited Charlotte for a wedding over the weekend. The location was great, with the hotel sitting literally by everything in the Epicenter. Bars and restaurants galore. Even a movie theatre and bowling alley! Not much shopping though. Walking, you can pretty get to any restaurant downtown or museum in a matter of minutes. You can not beat the location.

The hotel lobby sits on the 5th floor which is weird to take an elevator from the street and then another elevator to your room. Oh well they can't help that. Other complaint if any would be the valet are pretty useless. They are affiliated with the Epicenter so I felt they could care less about hotel guests. I understand the Aloft brand normally doesn't have valet but maybe they should recommend a better parking option than these valets.

Last but not least, I wanted to speak on my favorite experience I got from Aloft Epicenter. That is the fabulous desk agent Yvonne! She was great. From the check in experience, she welcomed me instantly and she never missed a chance to welcome me back during my stay. She was able to get me into a room early and give me 2 beds since I had friends with me for the wedding. I knew she didn't have to, but she made me feel like family. Yvonne also knew alot about the area and fun things to do and gave me passes for me and my friends for some of the bars.

Aloft is a limited service brand with no bellman, concierge, room service, etc. So I think it speaks volumes when a staff member goes far above and beyond. I cant say thank you enough to Yvonne who made my stay truly memorable!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyVDK, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hi 214bz,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share this detailed feedback with us, and our future guests. We're glad you enjoyed our stay and our convenient EpiCentre location.

We're so happy to hear that Yvonne exceeded your expectations and made your stay so memorable! We'll be sure to congratulate her on a job well done - thanks for letting us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Made reservation to stay at Aloft Uptown. Worked late and arrived at hotel and was told we oversold the property and do not have a room for you. Why do you overbook a hotel? Poor business practice. You have my profile, do you think to call/email me before I arrive at hotel? Maybe direct me to another hotel you have chosen to save time.

Room Tip: Call to make sure you have a room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyVDK, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hi N M,

We are very sorry about the situation you experienced and imagine how frustrating this must have been. Overbooking is not our standard practice and we will look into this further to insure this is avoided in the future. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience this caused you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre

Address: 210 East Trade Street, Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate your style in North Carolina's financial center at Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre. Close to shopping, dining, sports and the Nascar Hall of Fame ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Charlotte Uptown At The Epicentre Hotel Charlotte
Aloft The Epicentre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Charlotte Uptown at the EpiCentre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.