We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Morehead Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Morehead Inn to your Saves list
The Morehead Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1122 East Morehead Street, Charlotte, NC 28204 (Dilworth)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Johns Island, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I are b&n junkies. Morehead Inn was an A+ experience. Beautiful property. Susan was a doll and very accommodating. The breakfast was yummy, too. Nice buffet with southern basics. Nice sitting area upstairs with 24 hour coffee access. Close to the Ovens Auditorium, which is why we were in town. Easy to find. We stayed in the Mt.Vernon room which was huge. Separate living room and private bath. Very "homey". Price was great, too. No complaints here!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    19
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
9
31
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, LA,
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My wife and I spent three nights at the Morehead Inn last week. The room (The Worthington) was spacious and spotless, the fireplace was warm and the staff went out out of their way to make us comfortable. It didn't matter whether we asked for hot chocolate, wine glasses or a tray for our cheese, the front staff was more than happy to meet our request. Admittedly there were only a few other guests in the Inn, this being the off season, but this is the same service that we received three years ago when the Inn had a higher occupancy.
The delicious breakfast scones, however, are gone, since the recipe holder has been hired away. The rest of the breakfast is still tasty and has enough variety to meet anyone's taste.

I only have two negative comments about our room at the Morehean Inn. The bathroom light was wired into the exhaust fan, a common occurrence in many Inns/Hotels. Consequently, a visit to the bathroom in the middle of the night was a noisy affair. The simple addition of a night light would remove this annoyance. Secondly. our room had a wet bar, but no refrigerator. It would have been nice to have had a place to chill the wine for our friends who visited us in the evening. By the way, the Worthington is a great room for entertaining, since it has a dining room table seating six and a couch and chairs for another six. The 32" flat screen TV is sufficient for all to watch.
We will return to the Morehead Inn and perhaps have enough time to walk around the surrounding beautiful Dilworth/Myers Park area.

Room Tip: Worthington, in the Carriage House, has a huge "sitting" area, but a small bedroom and bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Beautiful Inn in downtown Charlotte. Our room was the solarium. Lots of light during the day and lovely sitting area. Close to the door and the lobby on the first floor. Wonderful Christmas decorations and good breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I don't usually take the time to review a place, good or bad. However, the Morehead Inn was very unsatisfactory. We made a last minute reservation while visiting Charlotte and thought it would be a nice place to stay. How wrong we were! The first room we were taken to was hot and musty smelling it was sickening. When we tried to put the AC on to move the air a bit, we realized the AC was not working. The front desk person said the AC was broken for that room…really, why did she put is in there?!! We were moved to a suite in an adjacent building that at least had AC to hide the musty smell. The room was very small and very dated. The bathroom was tiny and I did not feel like it was very clean. The TV in the bedroom was very small….like a computer screen but no worries….it did not come on anyway. The TV in the spacious sitting room did not work either. No lightbulb in one of the bedside lamps, a plastic cage around the AC controls, dim lighting, etc. The breakfast was marginal at best and not what I have experienced in a decent B & B. I would not recommend this to anybody unless the owners put some real money into it and update it, clean it, and make ir more inviting.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I recently attended a wedding here and also spent the night after the wedding. The reception area for the wedding was so hot that all of the guests were complaining! I can't believe the staff/owners were not already aware how bad the temperature was going to be with little to no air conditioning. My tv in my room had a screen the size of a small computer monitor--17 inches (maybe). The remote didn't work and I had to keep answering my door while trying to get dressed for the wedding so that staff members could try to figure out why the remote would not work---only to find they had the wrong one for my tv. The desk next to my bed had books on it and it appeared that none of the area had been wiped down because it was very dusty.Small favor bags were set up on a table near the front desk for all of the guests to take home after the wedding---a giant roach crawled across the table in front of the guests.$180.00 for a room was absolutely outrageous for the service received. I would never go there again nor would I recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

If you are thinking of having a business event here, think twice. The staff was ill prepared for our group, and argumentative when we asked for minor tweaks in the room setup--to accommodate the number of guests for which we reserved. Thankfully we arrived early before our guests and were able to insist on changes that made the room flow better. During our presentations someone was vacuuming in the room directly above us. The staff was dressed very causally--one even was wearing flip flops--not appropriate for a business event.
The décor is dated and the carpets worn---and there is a noticeable musty smell about the place.
It's a shame this historic place is not better taken care of.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I booked this little B&B last minute just a few minutes from downtown Charlotte. From check in to checking out the service was great, super friendly, and incredibly helpful. My room was clean, spacious, and actually had the charm of a bed and breakfast that comes from a home and not just another multi-story hotel. I will definitely consider staying here again on my next visit to Charolette

Room Tip: If you like sleeping in a little later, I'd try to get a room on the north side to avoid the ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Morehead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morehead Inn

Address: 1122 East Morehead Street, Charlotte, NC 28204
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Dilworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
#31 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#41 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Morehead Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Morehead Inn, located just minutes from Uptown Charlotte in one of the city's most picturesque neighborhoods. An elegant Southern estate endowed with quiet elegance and fine antiques, our spacious and historic Dilworth home features intimate fireplaces, luxurious private guest rooms and a lovely four-bedroom carriage house. Built in 1917 and renovated in 1995, we have earned a first class reputation as one of the finest Inns in the South with numerous awards for renovation, cuisine and service. Our diverse and wide-open spaces provide a gracious setting for every gathering, from business luncheons and executive meetings to special occasion parties and accommodations. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your The Morehead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morehead Hotel Charlotte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Morehead Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.