We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Levine Museum of the New South

Levine Museum of the New South
200 E Seventh St, Charlotte, NC 28202 (First Ward)
704 333 1887
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 196 things to do in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors are awed by the interactive, multi-sensory exhibits at this museum dedicated to exploring the Southern United States during the post-Civil War period.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

The trip here was great!! It was wonderful watching all the young children's minds light up from learning about their history.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    73
    14
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Excellent Exposition of the Old South”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is an award winning museum -deservedly. The multi-media exhibits are engaging and informative. I left with great empathy for those who lived through the last century. And great admiration for those black Americans who challenged the status quo, to their detriment. Takes courage to buck the system.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“A nice museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

to learn about the history of Charlotte. No entry charge on Sundays !!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Very interesting. Interesting to see how far we have come in such a short time.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worth some time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We went on a Sunday so parking was free and admission was free. We only spent about 90 minutes so we only saw the Cottonfields to Skyscrapers and the intro film...both were very good. It was well worth the time to stop by. We did notice that many of the downtown restaurants were closed on Sundays...but we found a gem in Harvest Moon! It serves locally sourced food and was delicious!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Levine Museum of the New South also viewed

 

Been to Levine Museum of the New South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Levine Museum of the New South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.