We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to take the kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Place

Discovery Place
301 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202 (Fourth Ward)
704-372-6261
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 58 Attractions in Charlotte
Type: Children's Museums, Science Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Step inside an amazing world of science and spend a day at Discovery Place, one of Charlotte’s most popular attractions. Featuring hands-on fun for everyone, guests can walk the rainforest, enjoy jaw-dropping experiments or wonder at the underwater world in the new aquarium. Become immersed in larger-than-life IMAX adventures or the eye-popping 3D Theatre where science and nature spring to life. Plus, experience daily programming that stimulates the senses and imagination. It’s scientifically proven fun!
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to take the kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Took the grand young'uns for a visit and think I had at much fun as they did. It was a blast. All the science stuff were pretty interesting. The kids wanted to watch some movie and I got to rest while they watched. The rainforest was super. The birds were just a few feet away from us.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    181
    41
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davidson, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent - entertainment and education”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

we liked it so much we bought the membership, we plan to go back once a month, there is so much do see and do; visit the favourites like the small but well kept aquarium each time and then explore something else in more detail. The boys are also enjoying the live shows ... the last one exploring liquid gases!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Took my daughter there during our trip. It was a great time and she really enjoyed herself. The price was decent and it is right on the main drag.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I wish we had this growing up!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our entire family loved this place (including parents, grandparents, preschooler and preteen)! So educational; without seeming like it. So many different areas to explore- plan to spend several hours. Hands on experiences thru out the building. Seperate section for very little ones (adorable on its own). Incredibly good and healthy food choices in the cafeteria. All of the staff very knowledgeable and helpful. I truly wish we lived closer- we would visit every month if we could!!!!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Heaven for a 10 year old”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife took our 10 year old grandson here while I took our daughter to a Panthers game. He had a blast and can't wait to return. I wish we had something like this in Atlanta. There were exhibits geared towards all ages of children, preschoolers thru high school. My wife even saw some teenage couples there on dates! How cool is that! The staff were very friendly and you can't beat the location!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discovery Place also viewed

 

Been to Discovery Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.