We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed rating for this hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn North Lake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn North Lake to your Saves list
Sleep Inn North Lake
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6300 Banner Elk Dr, Charlotte, NC 28216   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #48 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Murdock
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Mixed rating for this hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

In looking at other reviews of this hotel, I debated staying here. And my review is a bit mixed as well. Upon arrival, staff was pleasant, and I was checked in and asked for 8:30 wake-up so I could have breakfast at the hotel before going on my way. The room was neat and clean, and nothing fancy, but I slept well, so it was a good bed. There was a small indoor pool, which I took advantage of in the morning. The 'deep' end was 4' and overall, very small pool, but it was heated which felt great. It was most clean in appearance, however, I was surprised to find several dead bugs in it since it was indoors. I never received the wake-up call, so I overslept and did not get breakfast, which caused me to have to buy breakfast that I was not expecting to do. If I had a specific timed meeting that would have been trouble. Staff didn't seem overly bothered by the mistake. Disappointing in that regard. If I was in the area, I would consider staying here again, but I would also consider other options depending on the exact circumstances.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnNorth, General Manager at Sleep Inn North Lake, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Murdoch,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and I am quite impressed with your tripadvisor profile! Your quite a traveler, and I enjoyed reading your other reviews of other hotels and attractions! I appreciate the feedback you left on our hotel. While its not the feedback I hope for, it does give us some valuable insight, so we can improve ourselves.
I have addressed your concerns to the appropriate departments and again, I am sorry for the blunders you had during your stay, and thank you again for staying with us and leaving us feedback on your site.
Sincerely,
Chris Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    51
    23
    21
    8
See reviews for
62
29
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Hotel is totally smoke free, a bonus for us. We stayed here both before and after a trip to Ohio. Rooms were fine both times; beds comfortable, spotlessly clean. I liked that air conditioner fan ran steadily rather than coming on and off which interrups sleep for me. Two reasons motel does not get better rating from me: sliding door between commode and shower is not functional -- if you want/need privacy you won't have it; breakfast the first stay was o.k. not great -- yogurt and fresh fruit saved it for me. eggs were inedible. Second stay breakfast was not good. No fruit, no yogurt until after 7 a.m. we were told. By then we had to be on our way. Maybe they will improve on the breakfast -- check later reviews

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnNorth, General Manager at Sleep Inn North Lake, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
35 reviews!
Excellent traveler I see, and thank you for visiting us 2 times! I both enjoyed reading your review of my hotel, and also was saddened concerning some of our brands flaws you expressed in your review. Sleep Inn concept, is very unique, and like no other brand. We keep our costs, and rates low, to pass on to our travelers like yourself. The sliding bath door is certanly unique, and to some travelers is something that is not one of their favorite of our brand.

I was also saddened to read about your disappointment with our breakfast. I have shown your review to the breakfast staff, and I know we can do better then this. I apologize for not having out a quality breakfast during the time you experienced it

Thanks again for your stay with us
Chris Owen
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great place to stay! I got a really cheap rate through Priceline and you never know what to expect but it exceeded all my expectations! Big rooms, great location and the staff we met were very helpful. We were checking out and Susan at the front desk asked where we were heading to. We told her Atlanta. I mentioned that we haven't reserved a room in Atlanta because we were just winging a weekend trip. She found us a hotel exactly where we wanted to be. The hotel she book for us in Atlanta was amazing and for a great price. Susan was so nice and helpful. Really nice to see there are good people out there still willing to help. Susan went above and beyond and we thank her. Stay here with no regrets!

Room Tip: got a great deal through Priceline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnNorth, General Manager at Sleep Inn North Lake, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Greetings again,

Thank you kindly for your stay with us, and I appreciate the feedback you left concerning your stay with us. We welcome all feedback, both good and bad, and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Susan has been a welcomed addition to our staff in 2012, and we appreciate what she brings to our hotel. She is very hands on, and knows how to go the extra mile for our guests and employees

Thank you again for your kind comments and look forward to seeing you again on your travels here to Charlotte
Sincerely,
Chris Owen
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We came here for a short get away after plans for the beach fell through. (Lake Norman) The hotel itself was very NICE included an indoor pool, especially for the cost!! However, the best thing about our visit was the staff, I will re-post a review with her name but she was super and went out of her way to accommodate myself and my kids. It also has free continental breakfast which saved us some money as well... I travel quite a bit and I will definitely stay here again,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, SC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here on Friday Night, September 14th and its a nice place for price. Staff and manager seem to care about guest. Breakfast area was full with guest and kids, but manager on duty made it a prioirty that guest were taken care of. Room was on second floor back side and quiet and comfortable. AC worked well as it blocked out any noise. ( I noticed some bad reviews but thought I would give it a try) Im a Choice Gold Member and stay at several properties in Charlotte Area for racing events. Its very easy access to and from I-77 and I-85. The only thing I can say is the exbit hall near by has many events and is usually full with these folks. The room and bath were clean and looks like they have upgraded the rooms and bedding somewhat. The price is reasonable for a night or two and does have two fast food restaurants to walk to for late night snack or meal. I will certainly stay here again when I am in the Charlotte Area for races as long as the price is reasonable. Check In and out were speedy. I stopped by the hotel Friday morning before going to the track around noon time and manager said the room was not ready but I explained that i would be going to the race-track and it would be late coming back so she pre-checked me in and gave me the key card so when I returned i would not have to wait or be checked in. Thanks for being kind, and understanding and taking care of folks when they are off to an event in the area. Great Customer Service....

Room Tip: Hotel lot and area is very secured. Nothing out of the ordinary and not in a bad neighborhood. Pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed at the Sleep Inn during the Democratic National Convention. I had no choice in the reservation, but it could certainly have been worse. I was able to check in early and even got a king sized bed. The room was nice, with free WiFi, which was extremely helpful. No bathtub, but a good sized shower stall. Main downfall were the sliding door on the bathroom and the distance from downtown Charlotte. I'm sure under normal circumstances the location would have been fine, but during the convention we had up to an hour wait for a cab in the area. Front desk folks were extremely helpful and accommodating when I had to check out later than expected.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We checked in at 6pm and had excellent customer service from Susan Woodhouse. There's a Waffle House next door and a Jack In The Box in front of it, so dinner and b'fast are covered. No need to worry about the "free" breakfast in the lobby. $10 extra for our little Yorkie-Poo Hanah to stay in our room on the ground floor reserved for canine guests. Would stay again. There's an indoor pool as a bonus for those who bring their suits.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn North Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn North Lake

Address: 6300 Banner Elk Dr, Charlotte, NC 28216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
#41 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#53 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn North Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel modern conveniences like a public computer with Internet access, and access to copy and fax services. All spacious guest rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, curved shower rods, hair dryers, spacious work desks, voice mail, irons, ironing boards and cable television with ESPN, CNN and free HBO. Non-smoking rooms are available. For added convenience, coin-operated laundry facilities are located on the premises. Free parking is available and can accommodate most cars, trucks or buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sleep Inn North Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Charlotte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn North Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.