We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay far away from this place!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn North Lake

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn North Lake to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn North Lake
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6300 Banner Elk Dr, Charlotte, NC 28216   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #41 of 170 hotels in Charlotte
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stay far away from this place!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

I too stayed here for the indoor pool but upon seeing how dirty it looked, I was afraid to get in it. The sheets on the be we're torn. I didn't notice until late at night when I turned the TV off that the shower leaked and dripped all night. Had it not been so late after a very long day, I would have asked to be moved. The next morning I also noticed the sink was dirty and the trash cans in the rooms had not been emptied. When I spoke with someone at the front desk they said ut wasn't their fault, they have a 3rd party cleaning crew. Stating I clearly wasn't satisfied, the gentleman told me he would talk to his manager and get me 50% off. He called back to say the manager had decided to give me $10 off. I have stayed at choice hotels for years and this is only the second bad experience I have had. They really should take the satisfaction guaranteed sign down. I will be calling choice hotels tomorrow morning. This place is awful and the service and concern from management is worse! Don't waste your money!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnNorth, General Manager at Sleep Inn North Lake, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Greetings,

I would like to thank you, on 2 accounts. I appreciate your stay with us, and thank you for leaving feedback on this great travel site

I am very sorry we let you down, and I am sorry my employee did not stress the importance of how concerned you were with your stay with us. We are in the middle of an extensive renovations, and right now, you probably experienced things in ways you shouldnt have

We are proud to say we have put new hdtvs in all rooms, we are in process of re-doing our indoor pool (while the pool stays open) Putting a new HVAC system in pool area, rolling out a new Hot Breakfast Buffet bar, total lobby refresh, new staff, and according to your observations, we have some improvments that need to be done immediately.

I thank you again for your input in this matter, and thank you for your stay with us
Sincerely,
Chris Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    40
    20
    15
    8
See reviews for
54
23
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Very convenient to the highway. The pool floor was dirty and that was a disappointment. But the overall stay was good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnNorth, General Manager at Sleep Inn North Lake, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for your stay with us,. and thank you for leaving feeback on this great travel site. We think we have it all here at Sleep Inn Northlake! With rooms generally 30-50 less then most of competition in the area, and with a great service minded staff, you cant go wrong.

I also saw the review of our pool. We are saddened to see you did not enjoy our pool. We are in the process of re-painting the pool, and adding great improvements this summer to our pool. While it gave a "dirty" feel and look, and I do agree with you on that assessment, it is actually stained markings which gives it a "dirty" appearance

Thank you again for your feedback
Chris Owen
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgh pa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

checked in clerk helped find coupon in book saved 20 dollars. woke up with migraine asked to pay for extra 4 hours stay .said we could stay no charge .checked out at1 pm manager chris was super. b bobby selder pgh pa

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnNorth, General Manager at Sleep Inn North Lake, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Greetings again!

I was happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and I thank you for leavking kind comments on this site.
I truly felt sorry for your wife, and I know its not fun traveling in a car, when your up against a migraine headache.

I think our location offers both great service, and clean comfortable rooms at a very reasonable price
Thanks again for your stay with us,
Chris Owen
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

the front desk staff needed a lesson in customer service! the beds were very small and uncomfortable..the sheets do not fit on the bed..the bathrooms needed cleaning..we stayed because of the indoor pool..it was skanky! trash floating in pool..pool area not cleaned! when I told the lady about the pool she denied it, she said the pool was clean. our door keys would not work and the lady at the front desk was annoyed because they were not working. Needed a carpet cleaning bad! We left a coat in the room, the lady at the hotel called and i was trying to give her my fedex account number to ship the coat back to me..she told me that they did not do that, I would have to come back and pick coat up...what a trip! If you were from out of town like us, than you were out of luck! Thank God my brother lived in charlotte and went and got the coat...why did she call if she wasnt going to assist in sending the coat back and not even at her expense...just 5 minutes to ship the coat back! The lady at the front desk told me that she will never, ever call anyone again if they left their belongs! She than added that we should have been lucky that we got a good rate because that room would of cost us at least $200 per night...what a joke! I have come to a realization that it would be better to pay more and stay at a hotel that had a good reputation.Will never stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: check the ratings and the reviews before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnNorth, General Manager at Sleep Inn North Lake, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Greetings Ms. Vivian,

I would like to thank you on 2 accounts. I thank you for your recent stay with us in February, and thank you for taking the time to share your comments on this site.

I was saddened to read your experience you had at this hotel, and only wish we had talked concerning your coat. I think you might of misunderstood my associate, but when anyone leaves something behind, once we have verified we do have it, we then take it to a 3rd party shipping company and they make the arrangements with consumer to have it returned in a timely fashion. If you have FedEx #, its very simple. I truly think it was a matter of misunderstanding, but I again thank you for sharing your experiences
Sincerely,
Christopher Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here many times as I accommodates me and my truck. I normally park, walk in PAY CASH For room (me and dog) then I'm off to eat. I have done this I don't know how many times. And here comes the changes. Before I could even get out of my truck this time a woman was standing there to run me off if I was not getting a room. So I went inside to get room and this time I needed a credit card or no room then was told after that I needed another 15 dollars for my dog. When I questioned her she said she had to call manager. She got on phone and walked away out of sight. When she came back she said the manager told her to charge me more for the room but she said if I just pay like she said she would not. So much for my perfect hotel in the right spot. I feel like I just got scammed and I'm not ok with that. I will start looking for another place in this area and as soon as I find one I will start staying there instead. That is UNLESS THEY DECIDE TO START BEING FRIENDLY AGAIN.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We arrived with a reduction coupon, the person at the reception told us this was ok. When she asked us to signed the registration form the amount was not the one indicated on our coupon, She told us she has to call her manager but we had to sign to agree the fare which was wrong, we did not sign it. She insist to tell us that at the check out the coupon amount would be honored and guess what...it was not.
It was a different person, we asked to see the registration form and the reduce coupon was stapled to it but she did not honored it, she told us we had to call the manager to solve the problem.

Do not go to this hotel, they are not honest and it is not clean.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sleep Inn North Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn North Lake

Address: 6300 Banner Elk Dr, Charlotte, NC 28216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
#31 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#33 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#36 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn North Lake 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel modern conveniences like a public computer with Internet access, and access to copy and fax services. All spacious guest rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, curved shower rods, hair dryers, spacious work desks, voice mail, irons, ironing boards and cable television with ESPN, CNN and free HBO. Non-smoking rooms are available. For added convenience, coin-operated laundry facilities are located on the premises. Free parking is available and can accommodate most cars, trucks or buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sleep Inn North Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Charlotte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn North Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.