We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Greenleafe Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Greenleafe Inn to your Saves list
Greenleafe Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5820 Monroe Road, Charlotte, NC 28212   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Evans, Georgia
1 review
“A Little Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I'm a regular guest at the Greeneleaf because of its convenient location. I hate to say it is going downhill. There were no towels in the room when I arrived, I let the desk clerk know, he said he would send housekeeping to bring some. When I came back to my room there were no towels and the office was closed. I had to leave before the office opened so I was inconvenienced by this issue. This place needs a supervisor to get the place maintained and cleaned and security man to keep the undesirable, loud smokers away. It could be a great little motel with some attention to detail but now it is run down and not pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_GreenLeafe, Manager at Greenleafe Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We know we have negative and positive reviews on TripAdvisor. We know some reviews are completely false as TripAdvisor does not validate identities and does not care if a review is a total lie. We do understand the consequences negative reviews can have on your business but the truth is everyday we are sold out or 80% booked.We have repeated guests coming to us and are satisfied customers.We are concerned when there are negative reviews but all is not true.We try to improve our services but for some they are not enough.We regret we are not able to satisfy 100% of our guests.Its never enough hence we will put in more efforts to have more satisfied customers.To the satisfied customers we convey our thanks and to others we assure we will go on improving..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    8
    4
    17
See reviews for
3
7
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Checked into this hotel one evening. Got top secret hotel from hotwire. The front desk young lady was uninviting. Almost impolite, as her responses were short and snappy. She seemed to respond as if she was too busy for the guest. The front desk area was cluttered with storage rooms showing random junk in the back. The first room was dirty. So, I kindly asked for a new room. The new room did not have heat, there was dust everywhere, internet wasn't working. Then I pulled back the sheets only to see stains. At that point I called hotwire for a refund and left. I went to motel 6 paid less, but much better service.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_GreenLeafe, Manager at Greenleafe Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
What ever is written is not true at all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in room 203 and it's infested with bed bugs and ants. Because, they don't clean the rooms. The only thing they are concerned about is the rent. STAY FAR AWAY FROM THE GREENLEAFE. It's dirty, nasty and infested with ants and bed bug. Check the mattress, before laying on it. Drug addicts and prostitution is in heavy rotation. STAY AWAY!!!! b

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_GreenLeafe, Manager at Greenleafe Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
The person brings in ticks along with the pet and blames the hotel.Surprisingly he stayed here for atleast 45 days.Why did he stay, if the hotel was bad?He could have checked out the next day but stayed on and on.When you discover he is creating filth in his his room, and ask to check out ,then they write these reviews.
Anyone from the roadside can write on Trip advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed on business for 1 night and did not sleep a wink!. Room was dirty, horribly stained drapes, broken electrical recepticals, stained walls, carpet not vacuumed. Very noisy! When I asked for an extra towel, shampoo and hairdryer~~ I was told 'we do not provide". There was no hot water!! I had to take a cold shower ---how inviting! And was also told the internet was not working! So, needless to say, this was the most horrible experience I have ever had with a hotel. When I called to speak to the manager the next day who I could hardly understand, he was very rude and hung up the phone. Never, ever again!!! Traveler's beware! It was not worth the $50/ night. And I have stayed at $50/night hotels that have been pretty decent.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I checked into this hotel December 18 and checked out within 30 min! When I arrived I was greeted by a friendly lady named Chass who had my reservation ready and the whole check in process took less than 5 min. She had a warm friendly personality and put us right at ease. We got our room key and when we walked in the room wasn't too bad, Room 226. Nothing spectacular but wasn't horrid either. But when we pulled down the blanket on the bed there was not one but SEVERAL long black hairs in the sheets! My boyfriend was ready to leave then but I went back to the office and Chass promptly gave me another room key. The security guard CJ was also in the office and apologized for the sheets. I moved to rm 228 and immediately checked the bed. Not only were there hairs also in this bed but we wont mention what the stains looked like! It was NASTY!! I took pictures in which I plan to send to the local heath department after the holidays. Disgusted my boyfriend went to the car while I went back to the office. There was also another guest complaining about what she thought was "jelly" on the sheets (not so sure thats what it was to be honest) Chass repeatedly apologized for the problems. The 2 staff members we met were extremely friendly but I feel sorry for them having to work in such a place that they have to hear customer complaints all day.

Room Tip: Its not a bad price but if you plan to stay here, Chass and CJ will make you feel welcomed, just ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
336 reviews 336 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I made a reservation at the Greenleafe over the internet. There was no place to indicate when we would arrive. My brother arrived the previous day for 2 nights. We met him for dinner and then proceeded to the in on a Tuesday evening, arriving there at 10 pm. The office was locked up, but a stencilled note on the windor said to call the security officer at xxx-xxx-xxxx. Thank goodness we had a cell phone. Someone answeded on the 1st ring.When I introduced myself as having a reservation he said to look under the mat to find my key. Sure enought, that's where it was.

The room was very clean. It included coffeemaker (but no coffier of cups), refrigerator and microwave. The bed was regular size with 2 pillows. And there was wifi.

We had a good night's sleep. When we were ready to check out the next morning, the office had an OPEN neon sign flashing, but the door was locked. The office is located in one of the motel rooms. The window has a slot labeled "key return". So we dropped the key into the slot and left.

Never saw anyone associated with the inn.

It's older, nothing remarkable. But it was clean, quiet and plenty of parking.

Room Tip: We were in room 220. The doors do not seal well, in fact you have to pull them hard to engage the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_GreenLeafe, Manager at Greenleafe Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us.You checkedin and had a good night sleep and checked out in the morning without any problems.Everything worked for you but we feel sorry you could not find cups for having coffee.Hope you would come again and stay with us.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

My room was nice,very clean and just what I needed.The room rates are good. Great location... Near downtown Charlotte and the bus line runs right outside the hotel. Free wifi connection. I will stay here again for sure. No complaints.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_GreenLeafe, Manager at Greenleafe Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We thank you for your time in posting a review.Please come and stay with us when you visit Charlotte next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greenleafe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenleafe Inn

Address: 5820 Monroe Road, Charlotte, NC 28212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Greenleafe Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GreenLeafe Inn is open now after extensive renovations and under a new management.This would be a great place to stay for a brief or extended stay.The property is being managed by a husband and wife team and opened on 16th Dec:2011 to public.All King and Queen Size rooms have been newly decorated with very comfortable furniture and linens. All rooms are equipped with TV, Frig, micro ovens, coffee makers and hair dryers. The Greenleafe is located just four and half miles from uptown and the largest Malls.The best of restaurants and pop mom eating places are close by.We look forward to see and make your stay comfortable.Thank you, Management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Greenleafe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenleafe Hotel Charlotte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenleafe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.